Have a Nice Life Deathconsciousness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FowlKrietzsche
June 10th 2024


1145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for taking the time to write out such a thoughtful response! Sounds a lot like we just value different things in our music (I find the wallowing, atonal muck of Giles Corey v compelling and a big part of that is how the warmth of the acoustic guitar grounds and contrasts against the harsher singing and ambient ideas), but I always enjoy hearing other opinions. Part of my enjoyment of GC might just be that I discovered them and enjoyed their music before ever learning that Dan was also in Have a Nice Life

Nikkolae
June 10th 2024


6703 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wait a minute



actual musical discussion? on my sputnikmusic.com? wth?

Hawks
June 10th 2024


89494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

U love to see it.

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

We’re relatively new users so I’m sure we’ll learn to come to threads to just say it slaps soon enough. But yeah, that’s cool man. I think the songwriting is pretty cool on Giles Corey but there’s kinda a hard stop for me on the style. I actually kinda messed up my day listening to it cause of the folksiness of spectral bride and the ear worm of im going to do it being the worst thing possible to have stuck in your head lol

FowlKrietzsche
June 11th 2024


1145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting, so all folk is just a no-go for you then? What do you feel is different about simply a clean electric guitar? I guess cringing at the sound of an instrument outright happens to me too (ska trumpet), but idk there's a lottt of acoustic guitar in music.



Recently been into country (Dolly Parton 😍 and some songs from others), and tbh a good earworm is what makes a folk song for me. I find how the ambience swells into clear hooks greatly effective as a darker take on the genre, but I suppose liking folk first is prerequisite. If the ambience swelled into The Aquabats I'd 1 it and move on with my life.

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It’s not a no go, I just haven’t had good experiences with it. When it goes from colloquial insightfulness to eyes closed, pontificating is where it loses me. Also I think folk often uses the cultural part of it as a crutch to forgo quality. Johnny cash is an obvious example of acoustic led music that’s great. Same with most country as it’s ofc appropriate in that genre although there’s obviously a lot of bad country out there. Oasis too and I’m sure a lot of stuff that doesn’t come to mind rn

Demon of the Fall
June 11th 2024


34284 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

apologies for interjecting, but are you saying Oasis are an example of acoustic done well or badly?

your answer will wholly affect my estimation of anything you ever say again (not that you care, just a fair warning)

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Done well and I can already feel the flak hitting my head

FowlKrietzsche
June 11th 2024


1145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gonna actually let Oasis slide because I'm more interested by what you mean by 'appropriate'? And how is an acoustic guitar innappropriate for GC's sound? imo GC pull their identity as much from slowcore as folk or ambient, would something like Lowercase by Bluetile Lounge be more or less appropriate in your opinion?



I'd say there are traditional guitar styles in all guitar music genres, and some are easily transferred genre to genre while others are best strictly limited, but likewise I would never say one technique doesn't deserve to be experimented with or applied in different contexts. I think the much more pernicious problem is when experimentation subsumes bad ideas into broad expectations of new genres. Like its not that rap and rock are incompatible, its that nu-metal emphasized the gaudiest and gauchest elements of 90s rap and rock, you know?

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I only meant appropriate in respect to country music (as in it’s literally what the genre is built from). I find the lo-fi acoustic guitar on gc to add to the harshness of the sound which is already waylaid by the vocals and production. It also gives it way too artsy of a sound for my taste but that’s totally subjective

Yeah totally on the nu metal front. Straightforward lyrics and lack of dynamics were the wrong things to cherry pick lol I would never say genre crossing is a bad thing as long as it doesn’t feel contrived

FowlKrietzsche
June 11th 2024


1145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you, that really clarified your point for me. So strange how two people can listen to the same thing and hear the same elements and react completely differently, but that's why I love talking music!

Nikkolae
June 11th 2024


6703 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

man, puting folk and country on the same boat is such a wild take, like yeah it was built up on it but i cant imagine country being as versatile as folk, I aint a big fan of folk myself but when it can be used anywhere from Bon Iver to Panopticon you gotta admit that there is at least something to it that country or pop country cant do.



as for GC being artsy, yeah Dan has been pretty vocal about GC being a platform for experimentation where as HANL is more of the full fledged band.



Lastly I feel that its also important to give the booklet on the S/T a read as it gives a pretty cool story and adds a bit more gravitas to the music itself, at least it does in my opinion.

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No one here put folk and country on the same boat. Think you’re projecting bud. There are tons of things folk can do that country can’t and vise versa. I haven’t even read the deathconsciousness book so I’m certainly not going to read the gc one. I actually hope to never listen to that record again because it consistently puts me in a bad mind state akin to listening to indie

Nikkolae
June 11th 2024


6703 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it was more of a general take out of the conversation ya'll were having, u aint gotta take shit too personal bud.

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol good use of the condescending “bud” but I don’t appreciate the period

porcupinetheater
June 11th 2024


11042 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I actually hope to never listen to that record again because it consistently puts me in a bad mind state akin to listening to indie

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You copy paste that because of how relatable or stupid it sounds?

porcupinetheater
June 11th 2024


11042 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’ll give ya 3 guesses

anode
June 11th 2024


2209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Funny stupid relatable



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy