Have a Nice Life Deathconsciousness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
June 8th 2024


36101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck it, we ball

Artuma
June 8th 2024


32779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"i still havent heard the "new" one lol"



you should, it's way better than it gets credit for

anode
June 8th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What’s the “new” one?

Artuma
June 8th 2024


32779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm guessing he's referring to sea of worry

JayEnder
June 8th 2024


20450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sea of Worry definitely has its moments. Dracula Bells and Science Beat are both great.

tectactoe
June 10th 2024


7571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sea of Worry > Unnatural World

is my absolute favorite hill upon which to regularly die

theBoneyKing
June 10th 2024


24569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Dracula’s Balls is one of their best songs. TUW def > SoW though.

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I think a 3.3 average for sea of worry is a bit out of order but what they did to trespassers w was a bit uncalled for “look what they did to my boy!” Also there was clearly a bit of a writing block for these guys if they included remakes of b side tracks on a 7 track album 10 years later and that’s certainly reflected in the music. Sometimes I think Dan never was the revolutionary artist that we see on deathconsciousness and somehow everything came together in a moment of cosmic clarity with Tim on this record and it couldn’t have happened any other way and the rest of their music and his live performances are a reflection of that

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2024


2313 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sea of Worry is good, just sounds like they were scrambling for ideas. Trespassers W and Destinos were also neutered a bit

FowlKrietzsche
June 10th 2024


1435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk Giles Corey s/t is fantastic too

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think Giles Corey is pretty bad personally

Cryptkeeper
June 10th 2024


2151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Got this recommended to me a real long time ago and bounced off pretty hard, spun this again recently and I have no clue what was wrong with me maybe I just had to spin a ton of other shoegaze before I got it. Gonna have to listen to this again before I end up on a rating but it has to be a 4.5 at least

FowlKrietzsche
June 10th 2024


1435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting, why? I definitely think some of the songs run too long, but so does a fair bit of this and I love the oppressive mood of that record

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I’ll have to relisten gimme a minute

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So first thing is the vocals. While I get singing off key is kinda part of his schtick, I don’t know if it’s his voice or the production that changed but it comes off as quite grating on giles Corey and contributs to the harshness of the sound. The vocal melodies are quite repetitive and didactic while the complexity of the vocal melodies and tenor on deathconsciousness are largely what contributes to the mystique. I do see merit in the musicality, but I find the music to be wallowing as opposed to lamenting as it is on deathconsciousness which is in all fairness a preference thing. I guess I’m wrong in saying it’s “bad”, just not my thing

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2024


2313 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Giles Corey is all over the place in terms of quality. I think there's a good amount that stands well alongside HANL, but I do kind of agree that there are some warts there that could be alleviated with some tweaks

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also the acoustic guitar led thing is fucking lame imo but I know, there’s a folk tag on Giles Corey so I guess it comes with the territory. Not saying acoustic guitar led stuff doesn’t have its place, that would be stupid. But for this style of music, cmon

Odal
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2024


2313 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's where I'll disagree. The acoustic angle was sorta the genesis for the project. I think the darkly depressing thing works really well with the stripped back instrumentation. The project is at its best then imo

anode
June 10th 2024


2348 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah thats definitely just my prejudice against folk music talking haha certain types of music actually make me angry idk whats wrong with me. like im actually in a bad mood now that i listened to spectral bride

Cryptkeeper
June 10th 2024


2151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Fowl



Like anode says the vocals were kinda hard to get into, I was bumping a lot of metal at the time and the shoegaze-adjacent bands I listened to at the time was pretty harsh stuff like Deafheaven, Alcest and Heretoir, and this didn't have the edge I was looking for, and didn't hook me with the guitarwork on first listen either.

And I also listened to like 2 tracks by themselves out of context so I went in with a biased perspective when I put it on for the first time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy