The Mars Volta The Bedlam in Goliath
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crawl
April 21st 2020


2864 Comments


I think Agadez is one of the highlights here, so incredibly energetic. Askepios though, I agree is the low point here, just sounding a bit aimless.

JuanLuisGG14
May 18th 2020


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.8 for this album is a bit too much

I enjoy Wax/ Goliath and the kickass Ouroboros, but from Tourniquet Man to Askepios it is pretty bad

chchelse
June 24th 2020


141 Comments


Goliath is a monster!

Satellite
June 24th 2020


26527 Comments


goliath and wax simulacra are 2 of their best songs. this album just has a ton of fat on it even by tmv standards.

MotokoKusanagi
July 23rd 2020


4290 Comments


opening track is soo good

Demon of the Fall
July 23rd 2020


22585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Please tell me that’s not a thing, lol.

Digging: Aequorea - Dim

GreyShadow
March 2nd 2021


5552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'M STARTING TO FEEL A MISCARRIAGE COMING ON

Digging: Owel - The Salt Water Well

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2021


15295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album is complete sensory overload

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


46083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

excited that this is getting a vinyl remaster because the original fucking hurts to listen to lol. big cocaine being done when they mastered this

Digging: Broken Social Scene - Old Dead Young (B-Sides & Rarities)

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


44355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

paha for real. serious sandpaper hrs

Digging: Jang Pil Soon - Soony 6

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


46083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

bold move to begin this album with the most insufferable 30sec in their discography. they must have been confident

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


44355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i cannot remember a single note of this, and count myself lucky for it, but i believe you. what are the other contenders?

Veldin
March 10th 2021


4653 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

HAVE YOU SEEN THE LIVING TIRED OF THEIR OWN SHELLS? I fucking love that opening haha. Are all the releases in the boxset getting remastered? Wonder if it will get released to streaming services O_O

Veldin
March 10th 2021


4653 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"but from Tourniquet Man to Askepios it is pretty bad". Mate, "Cavalettas" is top-tier and "Agadez" is my jam. However, I do believe "Tourniquet Man" is one of their worst songs.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


17342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"goliath" plagiarising king crimson’s “21st century schizoid man” still hurts me to this day

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


46083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

@Johnny their Pink Floyd cover from this period is legit one of the worst I've ever heard. tbh I feel kinda bad nominating it cos they're clearly fucking around and goofing and it somehow got released on the Aus edition of this



aside from that uhhh yeah Tourniquet Man ain't it, and that flamenco song from Amputech lol

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


46083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

and yeah all fresh remasters according to the interview I read. Omar did it all from the original masters cos Universal's bad vinyl remasters annoyed him that much



which also makes me think they won't ever get on screaming services lol but who knows

Demon of the Fall
March 10th 2021


22585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Flamenco Amputee is good, Tourniquet Man ‘the prequel’ isn’t.

Also the production here is indeed complete ass. Lowering my rating.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


5602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why won't they release a new album?? I was so hyped when they started posting, I hope the vinyl collection is a some sort of "hey, we're back" thing

Digging: Papir - 7

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2021


17342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

here's hoping this boxset will put a fire up their ass to make more music again. never wanted an atd-i reunion, they were a product of their time, but a volta reunion would always be welcome in my eyes. so long as juan is back as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy