Agalloch Ashes Against the Grain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2020


27119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Marrow >> Mantle yes yes, that production is perf and one of the only interesting decisions this band ever made probably

Digging: Boris - Urban Dance

helperoni
August 1st 2020


348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Marrow is dope, probably my favourite. Black Lake Nidstang is unreal.

Digging: Love Is Colder Than Death - Teignmouth

Demon of the Fall
August 1st 2020


16546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice to see more people appreciating Marrow these days, it still stands as my fave Agalloch. This is a close 2nd.

Digging: Imperial Triumphant - Alphaville

Hawks
August 1st 2020


73846 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They all slay ahrd agreed.

Digging: Havukruunu - Uinuos Symein Sota

Eakflanderyof
August 1st 2020


2829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Marrow has some of their best stuff but then some stuff that bores me to tears

benkim
August 1st 2020


3948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Marrow was a bit overhated for some reason. Nowhere near best Agalloch but I have enjoyed every spin but then again I love everything by this band.

Digging: Anathema - Weather Systems

Eakflanderyof
August 2nd 2020


2829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As corny as that vocal part in black lake nidstang is, its still my favorite part of the song

wildinferno2010
August 2nd 2020


771 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Marrow is a cool album, I should listen to it more. Only Agalloch I ever didn't like much was Serpent, but I haven't listened to that in years so it might be time to re-evaluate

OmairSh
August 2nd 2020


16652 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I never jammed Marrow properly, but enjoyed a couple of songs from what I remember. Production is muddy tbh, unlike the production here

Digging: Antimatter - Black Market Enlightenment

helperoni
August 2nd 2020


348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“ As corny as that vocal part in black lake nidstang is, its still my favorite part of the song ”

ha, i love it. its corny but if i can sit through “I saw the night fall!...” it isn’t much of a problem

wildinferno2010
August 2nd 2020


771 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The muddy production works for it, though. Fits the earthier kinda vibe they're going for



Also, I feel like there are loads of things about agalloch that are a bit corny, but it's always charming

Eakflanderyof
August 2nd 2020


2829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"ha, i love it. its corny but if i can sit through “I saw the night fall!...” it isn’t much of a problem"



Lol yeah that is probably the corniest moment in their discog

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2020


27119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Their discog is full of corny moments lol [123]

Space Jester
August 2nd 2020


8828 Comments


Not any more corny than black metal on the whole tbh

That’s not a sight against the genre btw

Deathconscious
August 2nd 2020


25055 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only corn that goes a little too far for even me is "i saw the nightfall" and the lyrics of Desolation Song (but i love it anyways).

Digging: Thaetas - Shrines to Absurdity



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy