Can Tago Mago
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
February 13th 2019


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'Actually, from the top of my head, music for aiports is the most direct album that trys to create a different listening experience.'

And he succeeded in sending me to sleep, a job well done. It was completely unintentional as it was the middle of the day and I should've been working, but the experience was certainly a different one, especially when my boss started shouting at me.

Digging: Rorschach - Protestant

Trifolium
February 13th 2019


10247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Of course that is true GhandhiLion, we should have defined the concepts before discussing!

I specifically don't like that high-brow low-brow criticism though, that's what I tried to convey. I thought J()Alexander veered in that direction a little too much.

Zig
February 13th 2019


1859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Stuff with purely entertainment value may be fun, but it's made only for consumption.



But first gonna read Pierre Bourdieu's "Distinction".

GhandhiLion
February 13th 2019


5936 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Most music trys to be entertainment. Most artists who are not obsessed with deconstruction want their art to be consumed.

Digging: mewithoutYou - Catch For Us the Foxes

Trifolium
February 13th 2019


10247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

I would even go as far as saying ''most art'', not merely music.

J() Alexander
February 14th 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"And liking japanese things does not make you above entertainment."

If you said that because of my dig, my dig is just entertainment.

"Wtf am i reading, you sound like someone who adores something like Futurism rather than Bach"

?

MrSirLordGentleman
February 14th 2019


12744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I think what MrSirLordGentleman meant is that music going for purely entertainment value (not being artsy at all) is not necessarily a bad thing, it can be very perfect too. "



indeed



"Stuff with purely entertainment value may be fun, but it's made only for consumption."



Not necessarily. In addition to what has already been said about almost all music being made for consumption, you can also create an album made to entertain people just like you can make albums to produce other emotions like sadness or to make you think. Art produces an emotion and being entertained is one even if it isn't as "intellectual" looking as others.



That's like saying a comedy play can't be a classic like a tragedy and you'd probably be killed in ancient Greece for that.



Sure, in movies for example you may have stuff like the Avengers movies which are only made to entertain and feel like an empty shell of monotony, but there are also movies made for entertainment which are classics

J() Alexander
February 23rd 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh Yeah



Peking O. is best track btw.

ArsMoriendi
February 23rd 2019


27290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nope, 3rd

Digging: J Dilla - Donuts

J() Alexander
February 23rd 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can we at least agree that the second half is better than the first?

ArsMoriendi
February 23rd 2019


27290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No lol



Halleluwah is legit in my top 10 fave songs ever

J() Alexander
February 23rd 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fine, fine...

Trifolium
February 23rd 2019


10247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still in need of a proper deep listening session. Need a physical release for that though, and I can't find the time to buy one.

Super interesting story for you guys. Love you all. Bye.

Zig
February 23rd 2019


1859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Not necessarily. In addition to what has already been said about almost all music being made for consumption, you can also create an album made to entertain people just like you can make albums to produce other emotions like sadness or to make you think. Art produces an emotion and being entertained is one even if it isn't as "intellectual" looking as others.



That's like saying a comedy play can't be a classic like a tragedy and you'd probably be killed in ancient Greece for that.



Sure, in movies for example you may have stuff like the Avengers movies which are only made to entertain and feel like an empty shell of monotony, but there are also movies made for entertainment which are classics"



I agree with on the first part. Art is both an intellectual and emotial expression.

Now, on the second part, both comedy or tragedy had (at that time) a porpuse of making people think either through laugh or tears. Nowadays, with Avengers or toilet comedy kind of shit, it's only made to have a "good time". Comedy classics like Marx Brothers or Monty Python, which are very artistic to me, were made to make people think and, more than laughter, had high artistic qualities.

J() Alexander
February 23rd 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"That's like saying a comedy play can't be a classic like a tragedy and you'd probably be killed in ancient Greece for that."

Based ancient Greeks.

MrHarrison
March 11th 2019


433 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God, I've been listening to this virtually every day for the past fortnight. One of the few albums and bands that just keep getting better the more you listen to them.

Digging: Frank Zappa - Wazoo

ArsMoriendi
March 11th 2019


27290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, it holds up

MrHarrison
March 11th 2019


433 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Understatement of the decade

GhandhiLion
March 23rd 2019


5936 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Can we at least agree that the second half is better than the first?"

Other than Bring Me Coffee or Tea, for sure.



Well at Least Aumgn and Peking O are top 3 tracks. I would imagine the sides would be pretty close in terms of my avg rating actually.

J() Alexander
March 23rd 2019


7913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wait, so does that mean we agree on the top 3 of this? Cool.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy