Thought Industry Mods Carve the Pig
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
February 5th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was just reading a bit of the lyrics along with the songs and I must say that they write some of the most weird and messed up **** ever!
I told you that you'd want to read them. It makes the music that much more fucked up. The first album is the same way.



Also, in addition to "Genius Hired Guns", the Free Music feature also has a band on there called "I Am Spoonbender" which is the drummer's new band. It's almost all electronic with live and electric drums and bass played by Neurosis' bass player.This Message Edited On 02.05.09

Digging: Ray Alder - What The Water Wants

Merkaba33
February 6th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright willie, so i gave this a spin right when i downloaded it and i wasn't impressed. but now i'm startin to dig it. proggy albums always take a while to sink in with me so i'lll get back to you once i've felt i've had enough time with it.

Willie
Moderator
February 6th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you don't like it than you definitely need more time ;) No really, this isn't an easy album to get into. I've been surprised that so many have taken to it so quickly.

Merkaba33
February 6th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah these type of albums just have a lot goin. it kinda all goes over your head at first. i'll just keep givin it time.

jingledeath
February 6th 2009


7101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Songs For Insects was hard to get into, this just clicked instantly.

Merkaba33
February 6th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well im gonna have to wait on that one then.

Merkaba33
February 11th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright willie, so i think i've listened to this a fair amount. i like it but not as much as most on this site. the musicianship is tight and i enjoy the back and forth nature of the guitars (such as gelatin which is awesome). but sometimes the guitars don't feel full enough. i don't know probably a production thing. and to build up a bulldozer is just too over the top for me. may bump this up to a 4 but probably no higher than that.

Willie
Moderator
February 11th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool. No one expects you or anyone else to like it a certain "sputnik-approved" amount ;) The production was done by Ken Marshall who generally does industrial albums such as Skinny Puppy. That's why they kind of have a non-metal sound to their album.

Yeah, To Build a Better Bulldozer is an awesome instrumental. Like Primus meets Cynic. I could see how it could be too over the top.

Merkaba33
February 11th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok that explains the somewhat dryer metal sound, which i do enjoy in music like skinny puppy but with a full band like this certain moments felt somewhat vacant.

Willie
Moderator
February 11th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I think that's what they were going for. That's why their debut was produced by Dave "Rave" Ogilvie (also of Skinny Puppy fame). They didn't want a typical metal sound and they definitely achieved that on both albums.

Merkaba33
February 11th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's true. and they were obviously big patton fans

Willie
Moderator
February 11th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually, one of the vocalist's earliest influences was John Arch from the early Fates Warning albums. That influence is completely hidden by this album, but on the demos and even quick parts of Songs for Insects it's more apparent.

Merkaba33
February 11th 2009


703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well as you know I've yet to check out Fates Warning yet. But I'll compare the two when I get around to it.

JokesorInsults
February 11th 2009


244 Comments


well I can't decide on a rating yet, I'm stuck between giving it a 3 or a 4, it all really depends on how it strikes me, because it is definitely brilliant but at the same time there's this sense that it's too focused on progification for it to have some substance to it, you know what I'm saying?

And then of course I listen to it again and I'm like oh wow this shit is fucking balls to the wall with its awesomeness.

it's just the time of day i guessThis Message Edited On 02.11.09

Willie
Moderator
February 11th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, I look forward to your final opinion. This "progification" is different to me because they seem to go against all things

normally attributed to prog.

e23slack
April 26th 2009


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review of an album I've loved for 15 years now. I actually went to see these guys twice. Both times they were incredible. Blew Skinny Puppy and Godflesh off the stage. Dustin Donaldson is an amazing percussionist. Check out I am Spoonbender for more fun!!!!!!!!!!!!

SoundsTurnAround
June 17th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this record.

Willie
Moderator
June 17th 2009


17717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review of an album I've loved for 15 years now. I actually went to see these guys twice. Both times they were incredible. Blew Skinny Puppy and Godflesh off the stage. Dustin Donaldson is an amazing percussionist. Check out I am Spoonbender for more fun!!!!!!!!!!!!
These guys seem like they would have been awesome live. Sadly, I've only experienced it through shitty Youtube videos. He is an amazing percussionist and believe me, I've pushed Spoonbender on anyone that will listen ;)

convergejd
June 20th 2009


33 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was just going through my old CDs and found this one. I grew up listening to this thing.



This is one of the most ridiculous, insane, nonsensical albums I've ever heard, and it's an absolute masterpiece.

Wizard
June 20th 2009


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy Songs For Insects a wee bit more than this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy