Swallow the Sun Ghosts Of Loss
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PushTheTempo
November 17th 2007


37 Comments


this is a great review, but for me none of their earlier albums compare to Hope.

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha, you and your subtle hints. Do you have the album? Is there a possibility of you sending it to me? The torrent is unreliable because there is only one seeder.
Yeah, I have it and I'll send it to you since it is out of print anyway... my contact e-mail is in my bio area of my profile... let me know how you want me to get it to you.This Message Edited On 11.17.07

rasputin
November 18th 2007


14968 Comments


it's ok, the torrent for it worked. It's just finishing off now, I'll have a listen and tell you what I think =D

Willie
Moderator
November 18th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome, looking forward to it. I'm just curious what a fresh listener would think of it, because I've had it for years so maybe I'm biased about it now (that's one of the reasons I thought it would be cool for you to review it instead of me, cause you're coming at it fresh and can compare it to the new stuff out there or something).

rasputin
November 19th 2007


14968 Comments


I've been through once, and I'm thoroughly impressed. It definitely has an awesome feel to it. Mirror of Sorrow was exhilarating. I definitely want to review this now.This Message Edited On 11.19.07

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been through once, and I'm thoroughly impressed. It definitely has an awesome feel to it. Mirror of Sorrow was exhilarating. I definitely want to review this now.
I look forward to reading it, and suggest that "Through the Darkest Hour" and "Alone" are also really good albums by them as well. Glad you liked it.

rasputin
November 19th 2007


14968 Comments


Thanks for recommending it I'll try and get around to writing it soon.

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In news more relevant to this review, I got the CD based on your review and some of the comments and it is really good.

rasputin
November 20th 2007


14968 Comments


excellent. I've been digging further into Doom metal lately. It's lead me to some interesting stuff. There's another band called Worship, very extreme doom metal from Germany. I'm reviewing them at the same time as the Solitude Aeturnus album, because it gives me a diverse scope on the whole genre of doom (both albums are so different, yet from the same genre).

Willie
Moderator
November 20th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That Solitude Aeturnus CD is one of my favorite Doom albums, along with "Turn Loose the Swans" by My Dying Bride and "Serenades" by Anathema. Have you checked out either of those two albums?

rasputin
November 20th 2007


14968 Comments


Turn Loose the Swans is one of my favourite CDs too, I've even reviewed it (although it was one of my earlier reviews, and probably my worst review). I haven't listened to any Anathema before.

Willie
Moderator
November 20th 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll have to check out that review of yours then... as for Anathema, their first four releases are much different then the Floyd/Radiohead inspired stuff they do now.

Burn2Burn
May 26th 2008


2374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very, very, very good cd. Giant, Forgive Her, and The Ship make this album so good. This Message Edited On 05.25.08

fireaboveicebelow
July 16th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never get sick of Gloom Beauty And Despair

Crysis
Emeritus
July 17th 2009


17477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

+1 fire, love that song.

Apollo
October 15th 2009


10681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just downloaded thier discography, I'm stoked to listen to it tonight. Btw I would say that Daylight Dies is fairly technical Doom Metal

fireaboveicebelow
October 15th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they aren't I promise

Countorous
October 15th 2009


169 Comments


technical doom metal? umm

poopty
October 15th 2009


319 Comments


rofl

rasputin
October 16th 2009


14968 Comments


it's like if necrophagist played doom



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy