Sonic Youth EVOL
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MillionDead
September 11th 2020


3842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, I might 5 Goo soon. It's banger after banger after banger. Also, I idk how I made such a bad typo in my last post.



And I think SY have some solid creepy songs. A lot of their no wave output with Bad Moon and Confusion, particularly Death Valley '69 and their I Wanna Be Your Dog cover. Different strokes I guess lol.

ArsMoriendi
September 11th 2020


35149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Making the Nature Scene is pretty creepy yeah

Digging: Glenn Branca - The Ascension

IsildursBane44
September 11th 2020


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man, do it! I 5've Goo today!

Digging: Pavement - Slanted and Enchanted

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2020


40857 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

5'ing Goo is a kool move but not if it leaves this 2.0 lower smh. The Cure, Waits and Cave are noble and great and respectably creepy, but none of them can steam up windows like this or Bad Moon

Digging: Trophy Scars - Astral Pariah

IsildursBane44
September 11th 2020


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll give this another spin today. I don't know. Maybe I just wasn't having a great day yesterday, and it wasn't clicking. I'm willing to give it a chance though.

IsildursBane44
September 11th 2020


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

(The 3 was just a place holder for now by the way. haha)

IsildursBane44
September 12th 2020


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bumped this to a four guys! You were right guys. Way better after a few listens. "Expressway" is so cathartic after all the tension leading up to it.



Also, does anyone know why "Bubblegum" was tacked on to the end of the album. Not a bad song, but it doesn't fit at the end.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2020


40857 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes yes yes yes missed this, but you done good ! Was debating whether or not it's still a 5, but relistening rn and it's still got it. Might maybe bump Sister soon

Bubblegum is just a dumb bonus track ig, never thought too hard about it but it's an easy skip

jsaf7
November 26th 2020


406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Leagues better than Bad Moon Rising...

IsildursBane44
November 26th 2020


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean don't think you'll find many who disagree with that take. haha

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2020


40857 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bad Moon is awesome and kicks their golden run off wtf

GhandhiLion
November 26th 2020


13328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bad moon is their best album wtf

Digging: Leila Adu - Dig a Hole

Colton
November 28th 2020


12186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

really expected this to have more energy

Colton
November 28th 2020


12186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

maybe the word "Sonic" threw me off

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2020


21532 Comments


"shadow of a doubt" hng

Demon of the Fall
December 2nd 2020


20534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Colton: if you want energy try Sister, or Daydream, or Goo. All have plenty. It isn’t wall-to-wall energy, but it’s definitely more prominent. This is a bit of an oddball in that regard.

Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

Cormano
December 2nd 2020


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"really expected this to have more energy"



lol

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2020


40857 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no energy very experimental

ShadowRemains
December 9th 2020


26636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmfao jesus

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2020


15236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

on rotation,,,

Digging: Kubichek! - Not Enough Night



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy