Sonic Youth EVOL
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2014


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's flat

Digging: The Flashbulb - Kirlian Selections

DoctorDoom
December 28th 2014


2987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My brothers girlfriend bought me this on vinyl for Xmas, listening to it this weekend has been a reminder as to why it's one of my favorite Sonic Youth albums.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2014


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sounds like you and your brother are lucky guys! The vibe on this is incredible

DoctorDoom
December 28th 2014


2987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, she rules. I absolutely agree, such a cool record. Right up there with Sister for me.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm getting closer to bumping either this or Sister or both.

laughingman22
February 14th 2015


2830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this one more than sister, the vibes are just too good

Parallels
February 15th 2015


9153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kiss me



kiss me in the shadow of a doubt

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

IT'S JUST A DREAM



IT'S JUST A DREAM I HAD

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Either this or Sister is going to be bumped to a 5 someday soon

DoctorDoom
April 7th 2015


2987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sister is a five for me, this is close behind. Easily my two favorites from them

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If it weren't for the second half of Tuff Gnarl and Hot Wire My Heart, Sister would probably be my GOAT. Some goes for this with Green Light and Death to Our Friends (which have grown on my quite a bit anyway).

Gard3n
May 9th 2015


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't get into this in some sections but for whatever reason I keep coming back to it

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Which bits do you dig/not like?

chinesewhispers
May 9th 2015


4767 Comments


Funny how I don't like this quite as much as their next few records, but the more experimental, fucked up tracks here are the ones I'm really into

Gard3n
May 9th 2015


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I totally hate "Death of our Friends", "Green Light" starts well and just stays at a good start and nothing else, same with "Marilyn Moore" among other sections in otherwise good songs. "In the Kingdom 19" is a total rip-off of TVU and badly at that. The only songs I really like are "Star Power", "Shadow of Doubt" and to a minor extent "Tom Violence".

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Those first two are understandable and took me a very long time to get into, but Marilyn Moore is v. underrated imo - that creepy vibe is mersmerising and goes so well with Secret Girls. In the Kingdom does borrow from TVU for the narrative (we're thinking The Gift and Lady Godiva, right?), but I think SY give it a dynamic sense of intensity that most of TVU's work desperately lacked. Those last three and Expressway are my faves though haha, so you're doing something right!

Gard3n
May 9th 2015


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, they're actual songs and the most accesible, also they're at the beginning of the album which helps a lot. Sure they knew how to arrange the tracklist, after "Star Power" it goes totally nuts.

BMDrummer
August 10th 2015


14699 Comments


just noise

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This needs all the love, one of the best albums of the 80s

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2015


38955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would love to see a Lee Ranaldo film for sure, dude's a legend. Then again, Marilyn Moore and Secret Girls both have great cinematic vibes to them.

Lee miiiiight just be my favourite member; the sheer volume of awesome Thurston songs leaves him at a disadvantage but In The Kingdom #19, Mote, Rain King (three of the coolest songs ever), Paper Cut Exit and Karen Koltrane present a pretty strong case.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy