Massive Attack Mezzanine
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@spaceman



there is a degree of sentimentality and nostalgia to it but



aside from that personal connection its the perfect balance of all the elements that I love this album and this era of trip-hop the most for



dreamy female vocals, spacey lyrics, deep pulsating baselines, fat downtempo hip hop percussion, drug addled textures, dark brooding atmosphere, epic dj scrubbing finesse, and unique sampling.



its the perfect trip-hop track

Digging: Evan Geesman - Newagesewage

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also one more time for the people at the back



FUCK MANFRED MANN

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

blinded by the lite

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also i still get surprised at the Cure sample on Man Next Door which is ridic

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the drips are like the best part of the song haha

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

someone was bringing up kid a earlier, which led me to listen to that for the first time in ages



here you are about to make me do the same for this one. vaguely interested in the deluxe edition coming, but I already have the EU reissue from a few years ago which sounds fab to begin with

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

im nervous about the remaster like how could you possibly make this album sound more perfect than it already is

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

why would you even want to try fucking with it

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

man at this point, i'd prefer a new album but beggars can't be choosers, and so on

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that was supposed to happen

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so i recall, but then again, so was:



a new television album (2013)

a mbv eps vinyl box (2012/13)

aforementioned massive attack lp

new mbv album (2017/18...2019?)



it's part of the business, but patience is usually rewarded quite handsomely these days

TheSpaceMan
January 12th 2019


12139 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

black milk really is a perfect trip hop song, a good balance of being minimal but still very enveloping. i thought the new mezz stuff was an unreleased dub mix not a remaster?

TheSpaceMan
January 12th 2019


12139 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and some banksy dna perfume or something

Trifolium
January 12th 2019


7932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeesssss. Black Milk has forever been my fave off of this too. Dark but sooo chilled out.

"how could you possibly make this album sound more perfect than it already is" super legit question, didn't know about the remaster but very apprehensive, this is one of the best sounding albums ever already...

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2019


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

iirc the remaster is going to be the same thing as the 2014 one, but it's on colored vinyl along with the dub mix and the extras, which is the incentive to shell out the money

Trifolium
January 12th 2019


7932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah that makes sense. Sounds more like a label decision then.

Egarran
January 12th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"dreamy female vocals, spacey lyrics, deep pulsating baselines, fat downtempo hip hop percussion, drug addled textures, dark brooding atmosphere, epic dj scrubbing finesse, and unique sampling. "



That was beautiful, man.

Digging: Without Face - Astronomicon

Log S.
January 12th 2019


2674 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they re-released this in 2014? damn, slipped by me. in any case, don't hear about too many artists doing a "21 year anniversary" but if there's any album that was re-celebrated when it reached drinking age, this certainly makes a convincing candidate

Lord(e)Po)))ts
January 12th 2019


43484 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha I think it was for 20th year anni but massive attack is just always late

Relinquished
January 12th 2019


40704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how bout a 25th..?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy