Bathory Under the Sign of the Black Mark
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drifter
February 12th 2019


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

smh 3

budgie
February 13th 2019


10866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

smh 3.5

Digging: Claire Cronin - Big Dread Moon

BigPleb
February 13th 2019


58518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quorthon m/

budgie
February 13th 2019


10866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sup pleb!

BigPleb
February 13th 2019


58518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey budgie m/



What's your favourite Bathory?

budgie
February 13th 2019


10866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a difficult question

i was madly in love with hammerheart for years so i'll pick that one i suppose

you?

BigPleb
February 13th 2019


58518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice! I could definitely get behind that.



Hammerheart or BFD, all his albums up till Requiem rule though m/

Trifolium
February 13th 2019


7088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just recently started getting into them but I think I like Blood Fire Death most.

GhandhiLion
February 13th 2019


4746 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its all about Hammerheart

Digging: The Saints - (I'm) Stranded

Trifolium
March 4th 2019


7088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maaaaaahaaaaaaaasaaacrrreeeeeee



AAaahw

Pikazilla
June 12th 2019


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I finished listening to this and Blood Fire Death and both ruled hard. Why the hell did they not stick to this sound on Hammerheart? Guess I really just picked a bad place to start. Are any albums after Hammerheart in the same vein as this? Cause I don't like their sound on that in the slightest.

Trifolium
June 12th 2019


7088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, I think they take the Hammerheart, Viking sound further on subsequent records.

Glad you like these though!

Pikazilla
June 12th 2019


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pika sad )':

Trifolium
June 12th 2019


7088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Trif happy :-)



This seems very harsh, but that is life. As we say in NL: de een zijn dood is de ander zijn brood (The death of one is the bread of another).

Also: the others are less good than Hammerheart, which is clearly the best interpretation of that style. The average ratings reflect this.

parksungjoon
June 12th 2019


9571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@pika



there was an interview with quorthon at some point where he basically reneged all the old school proper bm stuff as shitty weird music and said he didnt know what possessed him to make it



kind of a dick move but it explains why bfd is where that ended

Pikazilla
June 12th 2019


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's hilarious considering how many bands have drawn influence from that sound.

parksungjoon
June 12th 2019


9571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and hilarious considering its the only reason he ever gained any sort of recognition, credibility, acclaim, respect etc.

Pikazilla
June 12th 2019


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To me, that's like Metallica saying, "Fuck RTL, listen to St. Anger instead" lol

parksungjoon
June 12th 2019


9571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

na its like if lars said in '96 hey actually metal is just shitty weird music and i dont know why we ever did that

budgie
June 12th 2019


10866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think resentment of the earlier material had more to do than just how they felt the music sounded. varg did the same thing, when he decided he wanted to live and breathe the old pagan lifestyle, it's almost incriminating to have spent time writing about christian subject matter (satan...), and especially to have benefited so much from it. rejecting that material on virtue of it being essentially heretical, and only accepting the pagan-onwards material, i don't know what quorthon said about BFD though, that's somewhere right inbetween black mark and hammerheart



i'm trying to say maybe in both cases it was more of a religious decision than musical to unsponser their backcatalogs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy