Slowdive Souvlaki
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofDoof
October 17th 2019


6340 Comments


Nah

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2019


17606 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Way better. Much more versatile writing and actual lyricism, for one thing

Digging: Hakushi Hasegawa - Air Ni Ni

Source
October 17th 2019


14460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

how dare you

DoofDoof
October 17th 2019


6340 Comments


This is only a 3.5 for me - it’s only their third or fourth best and sitting in that early 90s indie schmindie bucket following stuff like Galaxie 500

I guess it’s just not totally to my taste but it certainly has a few essential tracks

Trifolium
October 18th 2019


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They're absolutely on par for me. Two amazing records.

Trifolium
October 18th 2019


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God Allison is so gorgeous.

kalkwiese
October 18th 2019


4304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really good stuff here. Love the floaty guitars and how fresh the whole record feels. The singing is a little weak, looking at it on its own, but it fits the songs so that doesn't actually matter

Trifolium
October 18th 2019


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, the singing was something I needed to get used to when I first checked this as a teen, but it fits so incredibly well and I would not have it any other way now.

Willie
Moderator
October 18th 2019


18004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

--Idk I always felt like you only listen to prog metal and some random pop--

That's not an inaccurate description, that's for sure, but I do like some shoegaze stuff too.

Prog Metal/Rock: 36%, Industrial: 13%, Electronic: 13%, Alternative: 12%, Death Metal: 11%, Thrash: 10%



--Yeah, the singing was something I needed to get used to when I first checked this as a teen, but it fits so incredibly well and I would not have it any other way now.--

Same.

Digging: Hypno5e - A Distant (Dark) Source

Green Baron
October 18th 2019


24756 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just for a Day is better

as well as the first two Ride albums

StarlessCore
October 18th 2019


6935 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nope, not even close fam

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2019


17606 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Just for a Day is better

as well as the first two Ride albums"

Peak snoozegaze right there

Trifolium
October 18th 2019


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I did not really like Just For A Day but it's been a while since I've last heard it. Those EPs were lovely if I remember correctly.

StarlessCore
October 18th 2019


6935 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like all their eps are better than just for a day tbh



Just for a day is a 3 on it's best day, pygmalion destroys it

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2019


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just for a Day and the EPs are wonderful

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

Source
October 18th 2019


14460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

do you guys like a storm in heaven? thread never gets any activity

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2019


18880 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A Storm in Heaven is fantastic yea, I've been listening to a lot of early The Verve actually

Source
October 18th 2019


14460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that and the s/t ep are amazing

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2019


17606 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A Storm In Heaven >>> Just For A Day, solid album

Source
October 18th 2019


14460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

can you 5 and support the cause



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy