The Byrds The Notorious Byrd Brothers
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
March 20th 2016


81239 Comments


sup my bruther

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2016


22031 Comments


draft morning my new fav

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2016


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goin' Back, Wasn't Born To Follow, and Change Is Now are probably my top three.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2016


26974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

might be my favorite byrds album now. I'm always going back and forth, band is too good

Digging: Emily Scott Robinson - American Siren

deeplydisturbd
May 31st 2017


62 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a solid 5 for me, I didn't like them at all, first but the album grew on me, definitely a classic in my opinion, and stronger than Younger than yesterday, but both albums are great.



I'm actually surprised the rating isn't higher, as this is a folk rock gem

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 31st 2017


26974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's great, love the country influence too (even though it's more subtle than sweetheart of the rodeo)

hadeserbonfa
December 30th 2019


320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Draft Morning has such a breezy vibe, too bad it has all those over-the-top war effects in the middle.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2019


22031 Comments


yeah, sorta wish they ditched the sound effects and tried to convey that feeling through pure instrumental freakout. beautiful song though

protokute
March 30th 2020


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goin' Back might be one of the most sincere and touching songs for me.



And while I love Draft Morning I do agree with the sound effects really getting in the way of all that beauty.

Digging: Haircut 100 - Pelican West

Ryus
April 16th 2021


26398 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"draft morning" is unbelievably good

Digging: Rx Papi and Gud - Foreign Exchange

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2021


22031 Comments


Yeah it’s got this crazy sort of sonic weave to it that’s perfect. Doesnt /really/ sound like it but in overall effect the parts that aren’t the War Sounds Part sorta remind me of nicks’ fleetwood songwriting contributions

protokute
April 16th 2021


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I didn't share it here yet, but the vocalist from The Clientele with the Argentian band Hacia dos Veranos did a pretty good job on a cover of Draft Morning.



It was really nice when I knew that the man actually did a Byrds cover, because I always felt strong Byrdsy vibes on The Clientele music, which is probably why I love it too.



Anyway, here it is:

https://haciadosveranos.bandcamp.com/track/draft-morning-the-byrds



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy