Opeth Blackwater Park
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kalkwiese
October 11th 2018


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I did not think this opinion was so popular, haha. Glad to see some love for this lovely track

BigPleb
October 11th 2018


55915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The main riff is repetitive but it doesn't harm the track at all, captivating lyrics help too.

Digging: Azusa - Heavy Yoke

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Exactly! Thought so too. And the repetitiveness of the riff makes the track beautifully round, gives it a perfect head and tail. Love it.

WretchedCacophony
October 11th 2018


892 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Harvest is best track without death metal vocals. I'm amazed that I love that track so much given that I listen to nothing but extreme metulz

kalkwiese
October 11th 2018


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love Harvest to death, but there are tracks like Benighted, Coil, Credence, Isolation Years, To Bid You Farewell, Hours Of Wealth and anything off Damnation. Ranking these tracks would be impossible for me haha

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hours of Wealth it is for me. One of Opeth's best.

And I've not 5d this anymore because I can't get through Harvest anymore. It drags. And it annoys me.

Egarran
October 11th 2018


7845 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Interesting. In my book Harvest is so much better than Hours of Wealth and its strong elements of prog-wank.

It was a sign of things to come.

Digging: A Forest of Stars - Grave Mounds and Grave Mistakes

kalkwiese
October 11th 2018


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You can't do much wrong with a good wank tbh

I remember how I was listening to GR on a long drive with the bus and I fell asleep for a moment. When I woke up again HoW was playing and the intrumental section gave me chills. It had something wintery, like watching falling snow, looking through a window while sitting in a warm place and reflecting about the past. It was one of those moments

Demon of the Fall
October 11th 2018


9087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'I love Harvest to death, but there are tracks like Benighted, Coil, Credence, Isolation Years, To Bid You Farewell, Hours Of Wealth and anything off Damnation.'



Benighted & Windowpane definitely trump Harvest for me.

Digging: Skee Mask - Compro

BigPleb
October 11th 2018


55915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Windowpane has the best solo ever, so yeah.

Egarran
October 11th 2018


7845 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think I just want all their acoustic stuff to sound like Black Rose Immortal.

DominionMM1
October 11th 2018


17419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah but windowpane wouldn't fit here like harvest does

Digging: Jeru the Damaja - The Sun Rises in the East

BigPleb
October 11th 2018


55915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

V true.

DominionMM1
October 11th 2018


17419 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

now can we talk about how good still day and patterns 2 are

Egarran
October 11th 2018


7845 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still Day is fine indeed. But Patterns The Sequel leaves me a bit cold.

Like a B-side should, I suppose.

Trifolium
October 11th 2018


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed, Hours of Wealth isn't better than Windowpane, but it's up there, that's more what I meant. It's a complete beaut though. Speaking about softer Opeth, Coil deserves more love.

artiswar
October 11th 2018


5917 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Every single clean part/song they've done pre-2011 is immaculate.

BigPleb
October 14th 2018


55915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I FAAAADDDEEE INNNTTOOOOOO

Trifolium
October 14th 2018


1620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

THIS TENDER CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARE



Perfect track before calling it a day. Thanks for bumping!

BigPleb
October 15th 2018


55915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The lyrics on this album are definitely Akerfeldt's best, especially on that track.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy