Symphony X Paradise Lost
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Itwasthatwas
April 8th 2020


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

still one of my all time favorites

only knock on it is that the solos don’t have a lot of character

KjSwantko
April 8th 2020


12009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Michael Romeo can do almost no wrong in my eyes. Amazing guitarist. I remember thinking "The Sacrifice" solo on here being dope.

bloc
April 8th 2020


61689 Comments


Yeah he's beyond human, no idea how the fuck he does it and he hardly even looks at the fretboard half the time. And to boot, he can write some amazing riffs. He ain't just a soloist

Digging: Fluke - Puppy

KjSwantko
April 8th 2020


12009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed so hard. Michael Romeo and Jeff Loomis are the 2 metal guitarists that to me stand above the rest. Just unbelievably creative, skilled, and overall incomprehensibly good.

Itwasthatwas
April 8th 2020


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Peter Lake on the Armageddon Theories

OmairSh
April 8th 2020


16244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Romeo's skill is scary. He's a riff machine as well, but I think the only thing is that his riffs and ideas feel rehashed now

Digging: Jim Matheos - Away with Words

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2020


11227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Omair's point exactly. He was great at making compelling riffs that could be distinguished from each other and had personality to them.



Nowadays, the emphasis is on machine: It's all been done before.

OmairSh
April 8th 2020


16244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah agreed Mars. I think his style is still unique and his own (rhythm and lead).



I think this album might be their peak in their heavy riff oriented era. I enjoyed the next two as well, but as albums they get tiresome in one go tbh



Still I look forward to their new stuff, any news on it?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2020


11227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll be honest, I haven't followed these guys for a good few years now. No clue what's happening in their camp.

dante1991
April 30th 2020


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Think these guys were on a hiatus, they were going to do an anniversary tour this year but had to cancel becuase of the current situation.



I too am looking forward to a new album, but it looks like Russel Allen is more interested in other projects these days. Divine Wings, Twilight, V and Odyssey are all awesome.

ElioG
May 31st 2020


768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw, Paradise Lost is the all-time best seller album of Inside Out, according to company's manager.

LunaticSoul
May 31st 2020


1404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best and most commercial Symphony X ever, soooo.. . yeah

OmairSh
June 30th 2020


16244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My fav is V, but obviously this is great. Forgot that it was released on Inside Out, impressive that its the most selling album for them. Back when albums were actually sold

Meridiu5
June 30th 2020


3068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That makes sense. This one rips. I remember seeing set the world on firelive and the whole arena melted.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy