Ahab
Call Of The Wretched Sea


4.5
superb

Review

by the2stranger USER (15 Reviews)
November 16th, 2006 | 230 replies | 25,543 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Drown in despair and anger. Ahab hunts the Whale and takes you on a trip where colossal beasts and waves will crush you.

5 of 6 thought this review was well written

“Drink, ye harpooneers! drink and swear, ye men that man the deathful whaleboat's bow -- Death to Moby Dick! God hunt us all, if we do not hunt Moby Dick to his death!"

These famous words are the best introduction for this review I can think of.
I think we all know the story of Moby Dick, if not: Moby Dick is a huge whale and Captain Ahab wants to hunt down Moby Dick at any cost.

Three Germans, obsessed with this story made a concept album about this and with a dramatic story like that you’re guaranteed to have good time. The only remaining question is, which genre would fit the best for an album about this story? In this case it’s funeral doom. An excellent genre to express the feel of the story. Slow and brooding like an approaching thunderstorm. Dark and mysterious as the depths of the ocean. Massive, slow, merciless and all devouring as the beast: Moby Dick.

The album contains 7 tracks and takes you on a sea journey that lasts 67 minutes(!).
Not an album for those of short temper. The name of the tracks leave no room for doubt, this is the story about the beast of the ocean. Each song clocks in at ten minutes plus, except for one song which lasts 9:54 and one interlude song that lasts for 1:46. The album starts off with a very eerie riff, the atmosphere of sea is immediately present.
After a while the massive sound of Ahab is shown to the listener and you know you’re in for a tough ride. The guitars create an inescapable, pitch black wall of sound, with the occasional eerie lead guitar line over that. The vocals seem to come from the depth of the ocean itself. You won’t hear many vocalists go as low as this guy. Truly the voice of a massive beast. Ahab also uses keyboards to lay down an even denser wall of sound and this works out great. Slow and massive, but always with the eerie, brooding atmosphere.
Even the drums on this album seem to be lower than usual. Everything about this album breathes heaviness and feels colossal. The approach that these fine sailors have is very unique though, it doesn’t sound like any funeral doom album I’ve heard before.

If you’re looking for the soundtrack for a film about horror from the depths of the sea, look no further.

Ahoy sailors!

Death to Moby Dick!
God hunt us all, if we do not hunt Moby Dick to his death!

4,5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Fallen A Tragedy's Bitter EndNadja Thaumogenesis
Sunn O))) White1Sabaton Primo Victoria
Hieronymus Bosch Artificial EmotionsDraconian Where Lovers Mourn
user ratings (213)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
vanderb0b (4)
WHALE AHEAD!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tarantino's Tarantulas
November 17th 2006



819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good Review, though possibly could have been a touch longer, this band sounds mildly interesting even though they used the same concept idea as Mastodon's Leviathan.This Message Edited On 11.17.06

omgwtfboogie
November 18th 2006



211 Comments


Here come the damn Mastodon comparisons...

Basically, this is a very good album. I like the riffs and the atmosphere it gives off.

Tarantino's Tarantulas
November 18th 2006



819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Here come the damn Mastodon comparisons...


I didnt mean to offend, I was just stating that this is a similar concept to Leviathan. Im not even a particularly big fan of Mastodon.This Message Edited On 11.18.06

the2stranger
November 19th 2006



130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback.
The comparisons to Mastodon's album are almost innevetable. Even though this is completely different from Mastodon. I don't think it's a bad thing they've taken this story though, I mean there are loads of LOTR inspired bands, every band can give the story a different twist.
The dark mood of this album is insane, this album hasn't left my cd player since I got it.

cover art edited


CabbageStabbage
December 9th 2006



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is pretty great, my fav. funeral doom album besides Wormphlegm - Tomb of the Ancient King

any14doomsday
December 20th 2006



679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this sounds killer im d/ling it right now.

any14doomsday
December 21st 2006



679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is pretty damn good. really down and evil doom.

NemesisDivina
June 2nd 2007



141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review.

I just started listening to this album and it is amazing!
Your description of Below the Sun was incredible, it gave me chills.

antihippy
July 6th 2007



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's pretty good.

Cravinov13
July 6th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This owns Mastodon in everyway hands down.

rattlehead42147
July 19th 2007



1345 Comments


this cd blows in averageness. there is really no talent present here and the length of the songs only makes my point brutally clear.This Message Edited On 08.05.07

Confessed2005
August 10th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this now. The vocals are great.

This may take a while to get into though.

Cravinov13
August 10th 2007



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's funeral doom, so naturally it will.

Confessed2005
August 10th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened through it and I must say, mighty stuff.

The creepy repeating leads that slide in and out of the songs are notably awesome.

ddrfreak62
August 31st 2007



106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album. Its so epic and evil

antihippy
August 31st 2007



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tru dat.

yas666eer
January 19th 2008



270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just heard it... after 1 year of downloading it. (yes i have a subscription) :D . not bad... a lot of people compared it to ISIS... not really the same league though.. good stuff..



LifeInABox
January 19th 2008



3708 Comments


Album is sweet.

rasputin
January 19th 2008



14540 Comments


This looks like something I would like, it's somehow gone un-noticed. Also, I didn't like the review at all. Far too un-informative.

Hawks
March 16th 2008



35647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Does anyone want to send this to me?

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy