Flying Lotus
1983


4.5
superb

Review

by Jared W. Dillon USER (118 Reviews)
November 15th, 2006 | 27 replies | 15,946 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "1983" is a subtle electronic masterpiece.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

To the timid or slightly uneducated music listener, Flying Lotus would be an easily cast-aside "electronic" release. I mean really, someone that is not cultured in the sounds of Aphex Twin, Madlib, and other such premier "electronic" producers would in no way be able to comprehend the beautiful mishmash of genres that is present on "1983". Steven Ellison (The individual behind Flying Lotus) is a master of his craft, subtly combining the pulsing ambience of Aphex Twin (think "Melodies of Mars"), the jazz slant of Madlib's "Shades of Blue", and finally a bit of his own touch.

Reviewing various tracks on "1983" in my opinion seems pointless. It's a plodding soundscape for its entirety and all of the songs seem to work off each other furthering the previous ideas. When discussing Ellison's music, it'd be important to note that it seems he likes to experiment with the bare minimal. Synths, drums, and samples are all that is found on this album and most of the time, they're very sparse in their delivery. The layering and sequencing on "1983" isn't cluttered in the least; every gorgeous tone Ellison has crafted in this album comes out perfectly, and that's really the main strength of "1983", it sounds ridiculously good.

In its essence, "1983" isn't meant to be fully appreciated by someone that isn't familiar with its content or genre. The innovation on it is subtle and modest just like its delivery. Ellison isn't showing off his brilliance in sequencing like say, Aaron Funk of Venetian Snares. No, Ellison's beauty and intelligence lies in the minimalism of his compositions. Whether it is in the off-rhythm of "Orbit Brazil" or the easily accessible "Unexpected Delight", "1983" is able to jump through an array of subgenres in just under forty minutes, but not by forcefully showing you, instead by subtly leading you.



Recent reviews by this author
Pygmy Lush Old FriendsPharoahe Monch W.A.R.
My Disco Little JoyBlack Milk Album Of The Year
Sun Kil Moon Admiral Fell PromisesFlying Lotus Cosmogramma
user ratings (243)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Justin Swope (3)
1983 feels rushed and unbalanced, yet it showcases many of Flying Lotus's abilities as an emerging p...

SubtleDagger (2.5)
Music featured for television programming that is perhaps too programmed itself....


Comments:Add a Comment 
The Jungler
November 15th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, I assume you and SD took this from the blog?

Sounds cool, though he doesn't seem to like it all that much.. This Message Edited On 11.15.06

SubtleDagger
November 15th 2006



737 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is just one of those areas he's more interested in
Sort of like how I like death metal/grind stuff and he doesn't really

pixiesfanyo
November 15th 2006



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like death metal/grind stuff.

Just not the shitty kind.

SubtleDagger
November 15th 2006



737 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No you don't
You obviously have way way less of a thing for metal than I do

AlienEater
November 15th 2006



716 Comments


Nice review, this sounds pretty cool.

InFlames345
November 17th 2006



1 Comments


Just out of curiousity. What do you suggest I listen to?

pixiesfanyo
November 17th 2006



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album is only like thirty minutes long, and it's like an organic thing.

So I suggest just get the album, the stuff on his myspace sounds similar to this though, so if you dig that, then you'll dig this.

Zebra
Moderator
April 10th 2007



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is amazing. Every song blends together perfectly, it's such a unique blend of electronica and hip-hop.

The Jungler
April 10th 2007



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is pretty cool. I don't really agree with you on how great it is, but maybe a few more listens will uncover that. As of now, it just seems like a really awesome record to chill to, or something like that.This Message Edited On 04.10.07

ExquisiteGhost
May 24th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's about more than chilling, it's that head space.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2010



14986 Comments


so how is this most people dont really talk about it

Romulus
August 17th 2010



8411 Comments


not that much worse than Cosmogramma, but definitely worse

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2010



14986 Comments


whats yr opin of LA

Romulus
August 17th 2010



8411 Comments


haven't listened honestly, I went straight from this to Cosmogramma. based on what people say i should probably get on that

Enotron
November 7th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sao Paulo is fucking awesome

Enotron
November 7th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

fuck i already like this more than los angeles, wow this is really chill and catchy

climactic
November 7th 2010



18339 Comments


is this anywhere near as good as cosmogramma

Enotron
November 7th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

different aesthetic, but almost as good

cosmogramma is really expansive and hard to grasp, but i feel like this is the opposite in the way it focuses around really minimal, yet entrancing vibes, sort of sucking you into it.

so yeah skipping over all of that, it's almost as good as cosmo

Romulus
November 7th 2010



8411 Comments


yeah i prefer cosmogramma but this is really underrated

climactic
November 7th 2010



18339 Comments


k ill check it out thanks guys



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy