HIM
Uneasy Listening Vol. 1


3.0
good

Review

by Nightside USER (7 Reviews)
November 14th, 2006 | 17 replies | 5,650 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Uneasy Listening Vol. 1 is HIM's third compilation album that includes acoustic, live, remixed, and other previously unreleased versions of old HIM tracks. To the average listener this new compilation would be a long, sad, and uninteresting album, however

HIM (His Infernal Majesty) is:
Ville Valo - Vocals
Daniel Lioneye (Linde) - Guitars
Mikko Henrick Julius Paananen (Mige) - Bass
Emerson Burton - Keyboards
Miikka Karppinen (Gas) - Drums

Release Dates:
November 14, 2006 (US)
October 30, 2006 (UK)
October 27, 2006 (Germany)

Album Genre:
Goth/Rock/Alternative

Tracklist With Ratings:

1. The Sacrament (Disrhythm Remix) - 3/5
2. The Funeral of Hearts (Acoustic Version) - 3.5/5
3. Join Me In Death (Strongroom Mix) - 4/5
4. Close To The Flame (The Rappula Tapes) - 3/5
5. In Joy and Sorrow (String Version) - 4/5
6. It's All Tears (Unplugged Radio Live) - 2.5/5
7. When Love and Death Embrace (AOR Radio Mix) - 4/5
8. Buried Alive By Love (Deliverance Version) - 1/5
9. Gone With The Sin (O.D. Version) - 3.5/5
10. Salt In Our Wounds (Thulsa Doom Version) - 5/5
11. Please Don't Let It Go (Acoustic Version) 3/5
12. One Last Time (Rockfield Madness Version) 5/5
13. For You (Unplugged Radio Live) 4/5
14. The Path (P.S. Version) 5/5
15. Lose You Tonight (Thulsa Doom Extended Dub) - 4.5/5

Uneasy Listening Vol. 1 is HIM's third compilation album that includes acoustic, live, remixed, and other previously unreleased versions of old HIM tracks. To the average listener this new compilation would be a long, sad, and uninteresting album, however for a die hard HIM fan this would be a totally different story.

The introduction starts with "The Sacrament" which I believe is a pretty mediocre mix of a wonderful track that was originally taken from their album "Love Metal" (2003). The first nine tracks off this album are not nearly as up to par as the second half of the album. They unfortunately lack electric guitar and drumming. Songs such as "Buried Alive By Love" and "Its All Tears" are two major disappointing mixes that should have been left the way they were. This goes especially for "Buried...". This song was originally fast-paced, hard hitting, an anthem that would mark the title "Love Metal". It has been clearly downgraded to what sounds like a person banging on a trash can and singing along with poor vocals.

Tracks such as "Join Me In Death", "Close To The Flame", and "When Love and Death Embrace" are all great remixes that weren't drastically changed, but of course are noticeably different. You can note Ville imitating the voice of RappulaTapes. (A Finnish singer.) In my opinion I think he does a great job.

The acoustic numbers are surely highlights from this album. These include "The Funeral of Hearts", "Please don't Let It Go", and "For You(live)". Each song is sung with passion and excellent vocals.

The absolute definitive mixes from this collection I believe are "Salt In Our Wounds", "One Last Time", "The Path", and "Lose You Tonight". Each track drags on a bit for quite some time, although this really helps to set a fantastic atmosphere. These songs include wonderful keys, sound affects, dual vocals, as well as guitar solos. They also give a real sentimental value for the album.

Overall, it is hard to determine whether this will be worth your $15 or your time spent downloading. If you are already a HIM fan, especially a die hard HIM fan this is a must buy, however if you are an average listener or a new listener of HIM you will be quickly turned off by the 6-9 minute ballads that seem to go on and on. 75 minutes of pure ballads should not be put on one disc.

Pros:
- Fantastic soothing atmosphere
- Interesting and creative sound affects and instrumentals

Cons:
- Seems to drag on and on
- Many songs were actually downgraded
- "Buried Alive By Love (Deliverence Version)"

Recommended Tracks:
- "One Last Time (Rockfield Madness Version)"
- "Salt In Our Wounds (Thulsa Doom Version)"
- "The Path (P.S. Version)"
- "Lose You Tonight (Thulsa Doom Extended Dub)"
- "For You (Unplugged Radio Live)"

Feel free to leave me any comments on my review, the album, or if I need any improvement on my review. Thank You! - Nightside~



Recent reviews by this author
HIM 666 Ways to Love: PrologueHIM Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights
HIM Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666HIM Razorblade Romance
HIM Dark LightHIM Love Metal
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Benjamin Laslow (2.5)
HIM's new label put out a 75 minute album full of ballads. Die Hard fans may like it. Otherwise... a...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Angmar
November 14th 2006



2689 Comments


Hmm sorry about there being no comments its a pretty good review. PEOPLE SHOULD LEAVE COMMENTS

foreverendeared
November 15th 2006



14678 Comments


good review... HIM is an alright band. THERE i commented! you happy now! you could use more detail on the feel of the album as whole though

burton.and.gas
November 15th 2006



641 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol my name is from HIM, its their keybaords and drums lol. But i dont like em anymore. However your review was good

Nightside
November 15th 2006



102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the comments! ...

Steerpike
November 16th 2006



1860 Comments


You're new at trolling, aren't you?

Steerpike
November 16th 2006



1860 Comments


If you're going to troll, be funny. This just isn't cutting it.

Nightside
November 16th 2006



102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Trolling? What the hell is that? seriously, I don't know.

Steerpike
November 16th 2006



1860 Comments


Trolling is when people who are bored and are too impotent to do something interesting decide to go online and post nonsensical crap in the hopes of ruffling people's feathers.
Basically, cyber-lamers who have not mentally grown past the age of 5.

Nightside
November 17th 2006



102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Are you saying that I'm trolling?

Steerpike
November 17th 2006



1860 Comments


No. There was a guy here yesterday who was trolling up the thread. His posts got deleted.

Nightside
November 17th 2006



102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh what did he say?

Paul Tauterouff
November 19th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think the review was well-written. I like Him and have been a fan for a few years now. I already had most of the tracks on this CD via the Singles Collection and other import singles I had bought. I enjoy hearing strange alternate mixes or versions of songs I already like. This makes HIM very interesting to me.
As the reviewer said, this is probbaly geared towards the more die-hard fan. I recommend peope new to the band check out Love Metal or Dark Light.This Message Edited On 11.19.06

lycanthropic
November 24th 2006



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Although it's just re-mixes and stuff it's still pretty good.

Cesar
December 7th 2006



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Solid review, Most of the songs I like the original better, but nice to hear them diferent. Joy And Sorrow is awsome

Antoine Lemonne
December 24th 2006



8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review of another great HIM album.

pacedown
March 14th 2012



174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review, however my fav track here is 'it's all tears' , well done remake in my opinion.

pacedown
March 14th 2012



174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

btw you should have focused on vocals a bit, for the singer proves his talent on singing, on this soft pace jam.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy