Iron Maiden
Seventh Son of a Seventh Son


4.0
excellent

Review

by Booberry USER (2 Reviews)
November 4th, 2006 | 12 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't criticize my review too bad, because it's my first!

Iron Maiden. A truly great metal band. In the late 70s they were born. Their 1980 self-titled debut, Iron Maiden, is considered a great metal album, as well as 1981's Killers, but when Paul Di'Anno left the band, Bruce Dickinson joined. Maiden's first classic was released in 1982, and that album is known as THE NUMBER OF THE BEAST!

Maiden continued to make several more classics: Piece Of Mind, Powerslave, and Live After Death. In 1986, Somewhere In Time was released and Maiden had a new sound. That sound wasn't perfected until 1988's Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son came out.

First of all, the cover art is wonderful. It's so unique and magnificent.

Sure, there's a great cover, but is the music all that great? OF COURSE!

The album starts off with Moonchild, which begins with Bruce Dickison telling the first few lines of the story, because this is a concept album! It's a very fast-paced song, but still a very good song, and it's not a filler!

Infinite Dreams is the second track, and I usually skip over that one. It's a good song, but it's just not TOO good. I don't know, but something about this song just doesn't do it for me.

Next comes Can I Play With Madness! It's not very heavy, but the chorus is great, and it's an extremely catchy tune. It's too short, though. 3 and a half minutes doesn't please me. When it's over, I wish it hadn't ended...

The Evil That Men Do is another great song. It's very overrated, but I still enjoy the song. Not much to say about this one...

Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son is a 10 minute epic which is about a seventh son of a seventh son that has powers, as the old story goes. A seventh son of a seventh son is said to have powers. Anyway, this song is a great song, but it's too long and gets boring at some parts.

The Prophecy and The Clairvoyant are two songs that I don't remember well. I remember liking them, but I can't remember what they sound like.

Then there's the closing track, the super underrated ONLY THE GOOD DIE YOUNG! I love this song. One of Maiden's best songs, without a doubt!

Well, that's Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son, my first review. Every Maiden fan should have this in their collection! I can't imagine any Maiden fan NOT having this in their collection.

If I have so much praise for it, why am I giving it a 4 out of 5 instead of a 5 out of 5? Keep reading.

PROS:
+Great cover art
+Great story
+4 excellent songs

CONS:
-Can't remember 2 of the songs
-Title track isn't anything special

OVERALL: 4 out of 5!


user ratings (1930)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
tom79
November 4th 2006


3372 Comments


Can't say I did.

'great song, overrated but I like it' is not a song description.

But hey, it was a first review.

Digging: Karate - Some Boots

Stoo
November 4th 2006


34 Comments


You could have at least listened to the album again...

[Quote=You]The Prophecy and The Clairvoyant are two songs that I don't remember well. I remember liking them, but I can't remember what they sound like.
[/quote]

iarescientists
November 4th 2006


5863 Comments


Write about what's going on in the song musically and not just lyrically. If you just write it's a good song, that doesn't really help people because they won't know what to expect and if they should listen to the song or not. But don't worry about it, everybody's first review is like this. Next time, try to listen to the album while you review it so everything is fresh in your mind.

Good luck in the future.

metallicaman8
November 4th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The summary is supposed to be about the album, not about the fact that this is your first review. Everything else that needs to be said has been said.

Apocalyptic Raids
November 4th 2006


810 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maiden's best album.

The Jungler
November 4th 2006


4827 Comments


If you can't remember what 1/4 of the album you're reviewing sounds like...
A) Listen to it again
or B) Don't review it

Other than giving your opinion on the tracks, you really didn't tell me anything about the album. Next time talk about the music, not just your opinion on it.

Plus, that cover art really sucks.This Message Edited On 11.04.06

-The Frank
November 5th 2006


5 Comments


I disagree with almost everything you said about the songs =/

Also try putting a bit more thought into your reviews a little more details would have been nice.

Stoo
November 5th 2006


34 Comments


[Quote=Reviewer]Any more HELPFUL criticism?[/Quote]

It's all been helpful criticism.

TheFireMonkey
November 5th 2006


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of Maiden's best albums, but sounds a little dated today.

Bobek9
December 18th 2009


24 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man, how he could review it after just one listening?!! (at least that is how it seems)
My golden rule is: Never judge song(s) critically (&publicly) before you hear them at least 3 times!!!

SSoaSS = nothing special !??! - that's what i thought after first listening too! :-) (the same thought about Alexander the Great and many other songs!), but after hearing it few more times, i finally realized it's probably the best song they ever made (not just in this album). Now, let's say i'm exaggerating a little bit, but it definitely (objectively speaking) deserves to be in their TOP 10 SONGs, regardless you like it much or not. It's smth similar to RotAM, not everybody puts it as their favorite track on the album (nor in top 10), but everybody should agree that it's the biggest masterpiece on that album, and one of their best songs = objectively in top 10 !

FilthyBorgir
December 24th 2010


1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hate this review.

FourSquare20
December 24th 2010


320 Comments


Yeah, this review is bad. The part about not even remembering what two songs sound like really tops it all off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy