My Chemical Romance
The Black Parade


4.0
excellent

Review

by ryanson209 USER (2 Reviews)
October 27th, 2006 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My Chemical Romance's third studio album is a mixture of a new sound, a dark story, and -- oddly enough -- "influences" from arena bands of old.

Wow, it's that time of year again.

Time really does fly when you're "famous". Yup, it's My Chemical Romance's 3rd studio album, "The Black Parade." Getting right down to business, I'd like to let you know in all honesty I had high expectations for this album. I mean, after all, MCR is (don't judge me) my favorite band. But maybe I set my expectations a little too high, because the album didn't really live up to what I had hoped for. Especcially certain songs like "Cancer". I mean, really. "The darkest song ever"? Not even close.

That's not to say the album is bad. Not at all. Infact, I was even impressed at times.

This album, like all of the band's past work, has two major things that were to be expected. 1.) MCR has, once again, changed music styles. This time, they left both the post-hardcore (Bullets) and pop-punk (Revenge) sounds in favor of a more mainstream rock sound, which really shows. During many interviews, they have sighted many old arena bands as their influences, which is a bit of an understatement since some of the songs sound like they were ripped straight from their "influences". But they sprinkled enough of themselves into each song, making for some of the funniest ("Teenagers" and "Blood") and darkest ("The Sharpest Lives") songs I've ever heard. 2.) Again, like all of their past albums, this one has a story. Unlike their past albums, however, this story takes up the whole CD, and even has a bonus track which I think of as a "bonus ending". Of course, however, the story is confusing, and at times even idiotic. But still, A for effort.

To end my first-ever review in as un-biased a way as possible... If you love MCR, you will love this album because... hell, it's MCR. If you dislike them, I recommend downloading at least one track from this album before judging this album.

My personal score: 8 out of 10.


user ratings (2290)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cesar
October 27th 2006


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is kind of a long soundoff more than a review. But nevertheless you got ur point across and it was good. Blood is the funniest song I ever heard after F**k a Dog by Blink-182. Totally agree with the last paragraph

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm reviewing this

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"influences" from arena bands of old

And that's like right out of my sound off.

Acey
October 27th 2006


2578 Comments


that is wierd, and i have never heard anything off of this album, so i am not going to judge it,.....

yet

Two-Headed Boy
October 27th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm reviewing this

Thanks for the update :rolleyes:

This is a nice review, especially for it's length.

The Sludge
October 27th 2006


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Few spelling errors, (funniest songs?), very short lenghth, but very much gets your point across.

Nice for a first review and welcome to the site, but the lenghth sure does need some working on. Otherwise you'd fit right in.

pantera22554
October 27th 2006


2 Comments


i like how this fucking website takes your post off the page because you say that this band sucks and that someone should pull a dimebag on every band member. you should be able to say whatever you please and give your opinions.that is my opinion about this terrible band by the way.This Message Edited On 10.27.06

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

My opinion is that you're an idiot and since we should be allowed to say anything we want, then I guess that flies, eh?

pantera22554
October 27th 2006


2 Comments


yeah actually it does considering this is 1 of the worst bands that i have ever heard in my life. fuck this band, mtv for always playing them, every shithead that listens to them, oh and most importantly fuck who ever reviewed this terrible album.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can say your opinion. This sucks, whatever. However, what you can't do is wish death upon the members of the band, insult their fans, etc.
Oh, and you're an idiot.

Pyramidman
October 27th 2006


1340 Comments


someone should pull a dimebag on every band member


but your username is....


nevermind

ryanson209
October 30th 2006


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude... pantera2245 or w/e, I respect your opinion because you're like many other people who have no real musical taste. However, I do not respect you.


Yeah, and thanks to everyone who likes my review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy