Alice in Chains
Alice in Chains


3.0
good

Review

by Neoteric USER (86 Reviews)
October 17th, 2006 | 212 replies | 29,604 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


Alice In Chains’ self-titled release is like a dark alley. Scary, dark and you never know what could happen next. Of course, it is all down to what makes the album, whether it’d be a pro or a con. This is an alright album, it isn’t great but then again it certainly isn’t bad. Though, personally, it’s probably the worst Alice in Chains release but it is still to some extent enjoyable I guess. This album is really flawed but I guess it’s a great example of the band’s work. This is dark, frightening and at the same time diverse. This has a big grunge label slapped on it, while it dabbles in metal traits, it never comes off as truly metal.

So I’ll start with what I enjoy about the album first eh? It contains some of the band’s best songs which isn’t difficult considering they only released three full length albums. Grind makes you hang your mouth open the first time you hear it. Fuelled by that sludgy, wah poured lead line and the mix of Jerry’s clean singing and Layne’s creepy distorted vocals. The verses just scream, “I want to die now” in a grunge sort of way while the chorus seems like an ounce of hope. No, hope isn’t the word, what about “I want to die but there is more to life”? That still seems vague but it’s the best I’m going to get.

Probably my favorite from the album is the superior God Am, again, a song that comes to life with Jerry and Layne’s twisting, meandering vocals. The drum beat is superb and the song have a dark, twisted feel. Adding on to that is a real depressing feeling. This song is depressing, this album is depressing, this band are depressing. But that’s how it is, deal with it. I like how the songs don’t vary too much but keep their distance enough so they stand on their own. Jerry’s guitar tone sounds great, it’s sludgy and fits in with the band’s style. The bass is also a great accompaniment for the guitar. The drumming is simple but I love it, Sean Kinney really knows how to take the simplest of drum beats and incorporate them to make the music seem even more darker.

Unfortunately, that’s all for the positives. The main complaint would be the bland, dull production. Listening to the album for a long period of time can really get on a guy’s nerves. It sounds like some poor quality mp3 and I’m not joking. Layne’s voice just sounds too plain and it seems he doesn’t have that vocal range that made his voice so good on other albums. The simplest explanation was that the drugs was taking it’s toll on him hence why he sounds so half-assed for most of the record. The only instance that I’ve liked Layne’s vocal work on the album is on Frogs. A truly underrated song. It is built up with it’s soothing but murky, disturbing atmosphere. I love the bit where Jerry does this weird ringing-out effect on his guitar and who can forget the bit where Layne sings more quietly than usual and it truly reveals his anger. There is still tracks I really don’t like, Sludge Factory is listenable for the first few minutes but after that, I want to claw my ear drums out. It really is a song that goes on for way longer that it’s supposed to (oh yeah, and that cheesy robot voice is annoying). Brush Away is just bland but it does contain some nice guitar effects. Head Creeps and Nothing Song are snooze-fests and are really quite average.

Overall, I can stomach this album fine, I am a big fan of the band that’s why. But after a few listens to this, I noticed loads of things that just got on my nerves. This is a really bland record which is a shame as it contains some great songs. Half of the album is good, the other half is just mediocre. The things that spoil it for the album is the plain production and the fact that Layne sounds like he’s bored stiff. Disregarding that, this is a gloomy, twisted, truly grunge record which would be worth the money of the die-hard fan. No one else.



Recent reviews by this author
Pink Reason Cleaning the MirrorThinking Fellers Local 282 Lovelyville
Primal Scream Beautiful FutureCan Future Days
King Crimson DisciplineWilliam Basinski Melancholia
user ratings (1429)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Neoteric
October 17th 2006


3243 Comments


I'm waiting for people to disagree with me but who cares, this is how I really feel.

Oddsen
October 17th 2006


1127 Comments


I need to get me some AIC. Great review.

The Door Mouse
October 17th 2006


2092 Comments


preety good review. You kinda said i like i like i like alot but still fine review. im prolly gonna get some AIC too.

Jimmy
October 17th 2006


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You didn't mention the best songs, Over Now and Heaven Beside You.

Neoteric
October 17th 2006


3243 Comments


They aren't though.

Zebra
Moderator
October 17th 2006


2647 Comments


This was a good review but there's one thing that I don't understand. [quote=review]Disregarding that, this is a gloomy, twisted, truly grunge record which would be worth the money of the die-hard fan. No one else.[/quote] Then why did you give the album a "good" rating if it's only for die hard fans?

Neoteric
October 17th 2006


3243 Comments


I considered giving it a 2.5 but I then decided to give it the benefit of the doubt.

metallicaman8
October 17th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Reviewing albums that I have reviewed and doing a better job has been known to cause prostate cancer.

Neoteric
October 17th 2006


3243 Comments


LOL! Your review isn't bad dude.

metallicaman8
October 17th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

LOL! Your review isn't bad dude.


Haha, never said mine was bad. Yours is just better :thumb:

I voted btw

Neoteric
October 17th 2006


3243 Comments


Thankies.

RottedFlesh
October 17th 2006


213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is there third best album behind Unplugged and Jar of Flies. I think the dissenting opinion is caused by AIC having two different album styles. Facelift and Dirt are harder and fit your sterotypical grundge (with a ton of metal inffluence). Jar of Flies and Unplugged focus on their raw lyrical power and emotional moods to their songs (this being my favorite style). This album really gets overlooked by most people because it fits neither of those two styles that fans tend to like. It's just plain scarier, more twisted, and has not real "hard" songs other than maybe grind, but thats really only becus of his distorted voice. This album takes you too an even darker and weirder place than most casual AIC fans are used to and it seems really unconventional as compared to their other albums. This is why I think it gets a bad rap.

Good review and btw...I'm glad sum1 finally thinks Frogs is as good as I do. I think it's one of their best...Gee u think this whole two paragraphs on one comment makes me look like an AIC fan?
This Message Edited On 10.17.06

Two-Headed Boy
October 17th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't a great album, but I enjoy about half the songs here.

Splendid review.

RottedFlesh
October 17th 2006


213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listen to this one more than ne of their other albums...

MrKite
October 29th 2006


5020 Comments


ive been trying to some AIC for quite awhile. But everytime i see their cds they're too much. I always forget about them too until i get to the cd place then im like i wonder if they got AIC and then im like aww man i dont got enough. awesome revie btw.

rockfan123
March 22nd 2008


344 Comments


honestly, Jar of Flies was my least favorite album by these guys, but still the catalog is legendary.

shindip
April 12th 2009


3536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love this album

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 20th 2009


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album gets dumped on, but I understand where people are coming from. It isn't as focused, you could tell that they were falling apart as a band, but there are still great songs on here. I personally really love the songs "Sludge Factory," "God Am," "Head Creeps," and "Brush Away" because they sound so depressing.

Titan50
December 29th 2009


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just noticed the dog only has one leg...

algerts
May 23rd 2010


8 Comments


A pretty good, direct review of this album. You need to work on some of your grammer though. I'm not trying to be mean, just some constructive thoughts. But anyway, a good review! Some of their best work is on this disc: Grind, Heaven Beside You, Again, God Am, Over Now I feel are some of their best, but overall a sad picture of where the band was when this was recorded. Layne really did seem to phone in most of his vocal duties on this one, sadly. And I'm quite sure at this point in time, with his addiction issues, he was probably pretty indifferent to his stature as a rock star and was probably just looking to live like he did the many years before his death: alone and using.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy