In Flames
Clayman


4.0
excellent

Review

by Drunken Viking USER (20 Reviews)
October 15th, 2006 | 23 replies | 4,077 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Clayman is a beautifully conceived piece of music. Brimming with melody, aggression, passion, emotion, and originality surely for your money you can't beat the chef d'oeuvre that is In Flames, Clayman.

4 of 5 thought this review was well written

In Flames, probably the most recognizable band in the Gothenburg Metal scene; they helped pioneer it with such efforts as The Jester Race and Whoracle. SInce these humble beginnings they have since strayed away from their roots releasing such albums as Reroute to Remain, and Soundtrack To Your Escape. Though Come Clarity was a slight return to their previous style it still showed a significant change in the band. Before all of this, before the word blasphemy was ever used in the same sentence as In Flames, the album Clayman was released. Looked at as both the high point in IF's career, but also the beginning of the end; whichever way you look at it Clayman is a Death Metal masterpiece.

Clayman was the first album for In Flames that really took a step away from their previous style. Their song writing on Clayman is much more diverse than on their former works, according to guitarist Bjorn Gelotte, "We wrote Clayman so quickly because we were really inspired by the first U.S. tour. We tried to make most of the songs have a classic type of arrangement. It was intentional, but sill not sacrificing the dynamics."

Make no mistake about it, they were still in their Death Metal period when they released this, but with this album they started to do more searching for effects among other things. Clayman was really the first album they used to explore the possibilities of clean vocals. Anders is by no means a great clean vocalist, but his trade off of clean and harsh vocals makes this album seem so much more multifarious than before. Not only do they help the album in that respect, they also fit much better is places where normal screaming would've seemed out of place. Double tracking also played a big part in the sound of the sound of this album. For example, both of the verses for Pinball Map, as well as the chorus for Only For The Weak have multiple tracks of screaming.

Keyboards were also added to the mix of this album. They aren't in full blown effect as we have seen on Soundtrack To Your Escape, but they are still prominent; the entire melody of Only For The Weak is created by using keyboards. The keyboards are a very welcome addition to the album, it really makes this album seem more unique, and definitely helps keep up the atmosphere. The guitars are still the driving force of the band. Often times like the vocals using multiple tracks. Usually one for the rhythm, and two each utilizing one half of each harmony part.

The rhythm section is also in top gear as usual. The drums aren't the most amazing things to happen, but they are solid. Listening to just the first 30 or so seconds of Brush The Dust Away can give you a taste of what's on the album. Matching up perfectly with the drums is the bass guitar; often times following them and not the guitar Peter Iwers is heard very often in the mix. Just listening to the verses of Bullet Ride you can see that Daniel and Peter are very tight together.

The outcome of all of these pieces being put together is lethal. Not only is each member technically apt at their instruments, but they know how to accentuate each other as well. The guitars know when to lay back and play the rhythm during the keyboards melodies, the drums know when not to show off during clean parts etc. Essentially what I'm saying, is that Clayman is a beautifully conceived piece of music. Brimming with melody, aggression, passion, emotion, and originality surely for your money you can't beat the chef d'oeuvre that is In Flames, Clayman.



Recent reviews by this author
Trivium The CrusadeLed Zeppelin Led Zeppelin IV
All That Remains The Fall of IdealsBleeding Through The Truth
Metallica Kill 'Em AllArch Enemy Doomsday Machine
user ratings (1585)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drunken Viking
October 15th 2006



1023 Comments


Oh snap, I'm approved!

Drunken Viking
October 15th 2006



1023 Comments


This my favorite album from them.

Shadows
Moderator
October 15th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's so weird that you'd review this at this time. This whole weekend I've had In Flames in my head. A friend of mine absolutely loves them, especially the old stuff. So when I came home this morning I made sure to listen to In Flames and download some more of their old stuff. I had actually just finished playing Artifacts of the Black Rain on guitar before I checked this.

I don't mind this album, really. I am rather selective about the In Flames albums I like. Sometimes they're absolutely incredible and sometimes they're total crap with little variation in between. However, since I seem to have had an 'awakening in flames' (teehee), I'll definitely be re-checking the albums I don't recall, this included. Awesome review.

Mikesn
Emeritus
October 15th 2006



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Excellent album and excellent review. I've been re-introducing myself to In Flames over the weekend too, and actually started a review for this. Ah well.

Good job.

Drunken Viking
October 15th 2006



1023 Comments


Thanks you guys, I'm pretty proud of this review.

@SF, haha I actually asked Thor which album I should review and he suggested this one.

wikuk
October 16th 2006



1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wtf... I was about to do this review but I still gonna do it anyway, since I want to finish all the official albums of In Flames. It's nice that you're approved. I hope mine approval won't take long...

Neoteric
October 16th 2006



3243 Comments


This album is poo, forget what my review says.

Altmer
October 16th 2006



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excellent album, good review

Drunken Viking
October 16th 2006



1023 Comments


Bump. I'm sure this album should have more conversation, it's one of IF's more popular albums.

Neoteric
October 17th 2006



3243 Comments


How dare you?!
It is quite put it, poo. They took away the heavy riffs and such which made me like In Flames, toned them down. Also, the tracks are boring and it's hell to try and sit through the whole album.


Shadows
Moderator
October 17th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No heavy riffs? This is by far their heaviest album aside from the two where they went nu metal. Maybe you're just a STYE kind of guy.

Upon further investigation, a 3 seems pretty reasonable for this album. For me, of course.

Neoteric
October 17th 2006



3243 Comments


I don't find the riffs that heavy.

The only good track is Pinball Map.

Drunken Viking
October 17th 2006



1023 Comments


They don't have to be heavy, it's not like this is DEATH METAL or something. Oh wait...This Message Edited On 10.17.06

carney3110
October 17th 2006



310 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is easily the best In Flames album, and is without a doubt on the list of my top ten albums, which changes a lot. I wanted to review this, but this one is great, so I probably won't bother.

Anyways, In Flames fused the old with the new perfectly on this one. Actually, Reroute To Remain isn't much worse in this way, but the songs just aren't as good. For anybody who has seen In Flames live, you know what some of these songs are like, especially Only For The Weak. And the definition of heavy must be different for different people, because STYE is nowhere near as heavy as, say, The Jester Race.

Confessed2005
November 24th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They were great at Unholy Alliance when I saw them - real class. They played Only For The Weak which was joyous.

TheMisterBungle
March 1st 2007



861 Comments


Did Drunken Viking die?

UmphreysHead
February 16th 2008



285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

More like Inpatient Rehab.

UmphreysHead
February 17th 2008



285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I (I'm Drunken Viking) used to Tweak a lot, but then I went to rehab and found glorious, glorious chemicals.

UmphreysHead
February 17th 2008



285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Because I listen to completely different music, and I don't wanna get rid of the other ratings/change them.

KILL
December 26th 2011



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gay review

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy