Metallica
Ride the Lightning


4.5
superb

Review

by ironman4444 USER (7 Reviews)
October 12th, 2006 | 21 replies | 4,827 views


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist


1 of 2 thought this review was well written

This was my first real taste of metal and I thought metal couldn’t get much better than this, I still think that today. In my opinion there is only one Metallica album that is better than Ride The Lightning and that is Master Of Puppets.

1. Fight Fire With Fire- Not bad for an opening track, as it starts off with a cool little acoustic guitar part for about 40 seconds. After that’s done its all distortion, the whole band thrashes out. The chorus is plainly “fight fire with fire the ending is near” nothing truly astonishing about the song except maybe the guitar solo and Lars. One major downside is Hetfeild’s singing but makes an effort with his energy he puts in every Metallica song. 3/5

2. Ride The Lightning- Most people would disagree with but this is one of Ride The Lightning’s lesser songs I find but is still a good song. The intro is probably the most recognizable part of the song with its choppy instrumentation. Instrumentally this song is one of the best of the album especially the guitars. My favorite part is probably the guitar solo or the chorus. No major downside to the song. 3.5/5

3. For Whom The Bell Tolls- This is definitely my favorite song off the album. The intro and pre-verse are flawless along with every part of the song. The verse is powerful with Hetfeild’s voice; Hetfeild really shows his overall song ability in this song. The chorus is simple but catchy. Every part of the song is excellent but the drums are a little simple. The outro gets a little drowsy while its fading out though. 5/5

4. Fade To Black- The song opens with a few seconds of quite then goes to the acoustic guitar which is unforgettable. The song slowly builds into the verse that shows Metallica’s emotional side with the subject of suicidal thought. There isn’t really any chorus to the song just goes from verse to verse. The best part of the song is the ending which shows the excellent skill of Kirk Hammet and his guitar, also the ending has a lot of energy to it. 4/5

5. Trapped Under Ice- This song is filled with thrashing on guitar, drums and even vocals most energetic song o the album. The verse fast heavy, fast, distorted and fits into the chorus what else can you ask for. The chorus is sort of boring but good enough. The best part is once again the guitar solo also the rest of the guitar part is good too. The down side is Hetfeild’s voice again. Some people said this song wasn’t that good but I don’t see why. 4.5/5

6. Escape- Again another fine track but I find the energy has shortened since the last track. The intro is filled with instrumentation in just a few seconds…wow. I like the verse, which sounds a little like Trapped Under Ice. As for the chorus, it’s a little boring but manages to fit in. The best part is the part after the guitar solo with the pounding drums. The only con is the chorus. 4/5

7. Creeping Death- I really like the drums in this song because of the oomph it gives to the intro. The verse is pretty standard it also gives you the urge to bop your head. The chorus is a good part to hum along with. The guitar solo is once again exceptional, the drums are also accountable. The song sounds pretty much the same as any other song on the album. 3.5/5

8. The Call Of Ktulu- This is Metallica’s big instrumental song from Ride The Lightning and focusing mainly on the guitar. The song pretty much goes on & on with the instruments but is extremely impressive for a sophomore album. 4/5



Pros- All instruments
-For Whom The Bell Tolls
- The Call Of Ktulu


Cons- Hetfeild’s voice
- Some songs get boring



Recent reviews by this author
Matthew Good Hospital MusicAs I Lay Dying An Ocean Between Us
Chimaira ChimairaSoulfly Soulfly
Die Mannequin How to KillRa Duality
user ratings (5388)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Oddsen
October 12th 2006



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay review. It really wasn't need. I really can't enjoy this album as much as others seem to.

The Jungler
October 12th 2006



4827 Comments


Honestly, you seem like a pretty smart guy, why would you review this album? There's already been about a million reviews of it, why waste your talent? It wasn't a bad review, just unneeded.

Hatshepsut
October 12th 2006



1997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your song ratings don't make 4.5, plus you rated the best songs low :-/

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He wrote it because it seems to be the album that got him into the music he likes, and it's thus important to him. I don't mind it.
Okay review, if you're going to do a tbt maybe write more on the album as a whole and ad a conclusion?

iarescientists
October 12th 2006



5863 Comments


Yeah, definitely add some to the intro and add a conclusion. Also, make sure that each track review is consistent in length. The problem with most t-b-t's is that most people slack off by the end, which you seem to have done. Nice job anyways.

Bfhurricane
October 12th 2006



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Although not a completely thorough review, I really do like it. I have honestly never seen anyone rate Ride the Lightning and Creeping Death below a 4 (i think theyre 5's) but its nice to see a different point of view.
This was my first taste of metal as well, great way to introduce me to the genre

ironman4444
October 12th 2006



276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya, i guess the reveiw really wasn't needed



TheSunSleeps348
October 12th 2006



156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with pretty much everyone so far, and the reveiw was unneeded, there are all ready too many reveiws on it. Lol. N e ways try not to use the the word Energy over and over. Also, dont slack so much at the end. Fine review overall though. Your first one was better. I find Metallica CDs need a larger reveiw, becuase of the depth and length of the tracks.

Apocalyptic Raids
October 12th 2006



810 Comments


The worst of Metallica's first four, I think.

metallicafreak8451
October 12th 2006



6 Comments


Plz, stop with the this review was not needed crap! I reviewed METALLICA's AND JUSTICE FOR ALL a few weeks ago because they are my favorite band and I wanted to get my views out about my favorite album... I plan to review the rest of their(METALLICA'S) work as well. SUE ME for being a superfan!This Message Edited On 10.13.06This Message Edited On 10.13.06

wikuk
October 13th 2006



1110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

People should stop saying this wasn't needy. Since there isn't a limit, you never can get enough ey ;) (well, there are many reviews though, I got a comment on my Aenima review that it wasn't needy while it was the third review)
But the review is decent. You described the songs fairly well, but you missed to make the review enjoyable. I think you have potention though, so don't stop.

Pros- All instruments

I hope you didn't include Lars in that o_0

Zmev
October 13th 2006



983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The average of your scores is 3.95, not 4.5

bicepman4000
October 13th 2006



246 Comments


I don't know how to quote but from Apocalyptic Raids
"The worst of Metallica's first four, I think"
I wish I could write 4 albums and have this as my worst!!!
Not a bad review, a bit more detail needed for some of the songs would be nice

Jim
October 13th 2006



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The review was sub-par. But you'll only get better. And it doesn't matter how many reviews the album already has. He wanted to write about it. Who cares?
I love the album, too. The title track's probably my favourite.

bicepman4000
October 13th 2006



246 Comments


wtf to your pic^^^?!?
lol

LifeInABox
October 28th 2006



3708 Comments


yeh u rated the 2 worst songs (Escape, Trapped under ice) higher than the 2 best (Ride The Lightning, Creeping Death)

ironman4444
August 29th 2007



276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is weird, its says I have 27 comments on this review but theres only one page of comments.

Thor
August 29th 2007



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is actually the 20th comment. The numbering here is messed up.

Iai
Emeritus
August 29th 2007



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some spam comments got deleted.

"Escape" and "Trapped Under Ice" are basically the two gayest songs Metallica did before Load.

Aeksis8745
August 29th 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey i'll take those songs over The Thing That Should Not Be and Metal Militia any day.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy