Electric Wizard
Dopethrone


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kyle Banick USER (30 Reviews)
September 28th, 2006 | 1035 replies | 67,666 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


This album is a sludgy mess.

If you need technicality in your music, close the book on Electric Wizard (henceforth “EW”) and continue your search elsewhere.

EW’s most famous opus and third album is everything good musical output should not be. It’s noisy, messy, lazy, droning, at times incomprehensibly overdriven into the depths of monotony and back.

It chews at your brain and then smashes it in with a bludgeon.

And if you come out alive, you find yourself in a world overtaken with blazon psychedelia and drenched in heavy metal madness. It takes the stoner grooves of Kyuss and Queens of the Stoneage and straps them to slow, plodding Beelzebub Anthems of Doom that move along like an elephant at the gaze of a Gorgon. Et tu Brute?

The instrumentation is simple, the musical content even simpler. An average rock band lineup that employs all of its instruments for one simple purpose: to make the sound as low, dense and bleak as possible. Guitars are down-tuned so as to avoid clarity, the drums keeping a simple and affirmative beat, the vocals just a distorted cry over the madness of the instrumentals. Musicianship"nonexistent.

The album begins with an intriguing voice sample, no doubt taken from an old 70s B-movie, saying “When you get into one of these groups, there’s only a couple ways you can get out. One is death, the other is mental institutions.” Comical, but somehow disturbing in how true it rings for this album. You might feel you’ve gone insane by the end of the sprawling Funeralopolis, ending its 8-minute duration with an intense jam with the vocals screaming out maniacally, distorted beyond comprehension, propelling the dirge into outer space.

Weird Tales is another highlight, an epic in many different parts, starting out with a typical doom jam and making its way into a droning, distorted bass-driven exposition slathered in feedback and building in intensity. An insane atonal lead shrieks out over the ominous instrumentals that speed up and slow down, making for the most dynamic piece on the album. Weird sounds emanate from underneath the muddy landscape. The sludgy instrumentals then slowly decay into a spacey drone section ala Boris.

Barbarian and I, the Witchfinder are the next to faux-mythology-inspired doom pieces, both highlights and masterpieces in the genre. Intense washes of cymbals paint the distorted guitar and bass these tunes that shift through many droning sections and never get old even in their intense runtimes. Strange sounds and creepy wind noises encircle the landscape, frightening in premise. The vocals are powerful and maniacal. Dopethrone concludes the album with another doom metal masterpiece, employing mysterious voice samples underneath the sludgy gloom of the instrumentals.

This is an intense album, that should be played LOUD. If it’s not loud, you won’t enjoy it. Regardless, it’s a masterpiece of its genre and shouldn’t be missed



Recent reviews by this author
Ra Black SunProjeKct X Heaven and Earth
Andrew Hill Compulsion!!!!!The Nels Cline Singers Draw Breath
Queen Elephantine YatraJohn Coltrane Live in Japan
user ratings (982)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Travis Marmon (4.5)
Quite simply the heaviest album ever made....

scyther (4.5)
Rise...rise...rise...rise...rise...rise...rise...rise...Smoke....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Angmar
September 28th 2006


2689 Comments


never heard of these guys. good review i guess.

Jacaranda
September 28th 2006


684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YES. Thanks Kage for reviewing this its one of my favorite albums ever and an overall perfect album. "Vinum Sabbathi" or "I, The Witchfinder" are my favorite songs.

Apocalyptic Raids
September 29th 2006


810 Comments


I've been meaning to check this album out for a long time.

Nice review.

Werny
September 29th 2006


148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man I love this album in small doses, but really the lack of talent gets to me after a while. I love Let Us Prey much more than this, it's so trippy and spaced out yet still heavy. Come My Fanatics...is better too.

Oh, and this is their third album.

AlienEater
September 29th 2006


716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review, they're awesome. This is good, but CMF has always been my favourite

Kage
September 29th 2006


1173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[QUOTE=Werny]Oh, and this is their third album.[/QUOTE]
Oh, thanks for letting me know, I thought their first release was not a real album per se.

Come My Fanatics is my favorite as well, actually. That would get a 4.5/5 from me.

AlienEater
September 30th 2006


716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, same here. It's pretty good.

ratsinthewall
October 3rd 2006


10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think it's pretty safe to say this album changed my fu**ing life man. and i guess we'll just say it all went downhill from there hahaha. electric wizard have an obvious love and very large understanding of the occult and of heavy and heavily psychedelic music. awesome record, good review, i like how you mentioned the band Boris! hell yeah.

any14doomsday
December 1st 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good review man. This is the heaviest sounding album I have ever heard. Its got such a fucking groove.

ValiumMan
January 2nd 2007


493 Comments


Hell, I swear man, this album gives me fuckin' headaches everytime I listen to it. No, seriousely now PHYSICAL headaches! I've only sat through the whole thing once or twice maybe, because whenever I try to listen to it, the headache becomes unbearable after track 2. It's a good album though, nonetheless.

And, yeah Kage, I really like your reviews. You might go a bit over the top at times, but you sure know how to paint some vivid imagery:


And if you come out alive, you find yourself in a world overtaken with blazon psychedelia and drenched in heavy metal madness. It takes the stoner grooves of Kyuss and Queens of the Stoneage and straps them to slow, plodding Beelzebub Anthems of Doom that move along like an elephant at the gaze of a Gorgon. Et tu Brute?

I mean, this is just great. If the review consisted only of this paragraph, you'd get a pos from me. I've rarely seen such a perfect and vivid description, even in professional reviews.This Message Edited On 01.02.07

Dried Muffin Remnants
February 14th 2007


297 Comments


This album is sonic sludgy bliss. You really appreciate it so much more when you're stoned though.

Waiting For The Sun
February 14th 2007


15 Comments


I heard of these guys about 7 months ago, some of the songs I heard were pretty good but I also thought quite a few of them were horrid.

any14doomsday
February 19th 2007


679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was listening to this last night at a friends house Cranked way up, and: Weird Tales / Electric Frost / Golgatha / Altar Of Melektaus has such a killer ending, I wish it would never stopThis Message Edited On 02.19.07

Thor
October 19th 2008


10191 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is so heavy sweet jeebus

shablaman54
November 24th 2008


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dried Muffin Remnants: i agree, this album is amazing stoned- didn't they mean to do that?

McP3000
November 24th 2008


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no they wanted you to listen to it while drunk

shablaman54
November 24th 2008


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

b-b-but it's called dopethrone...

bastard
November 24th 2008


3435 Comments


drunken metal

McP3000
November 24th 2008


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shablaman, i was being facetious

unless you are too...

shablaman54
November 24th 2008


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hold on let me look that word up



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy