Lamb of God
Sacrament


4.5
superb

Review

by metalXIII USER (1 Reviews)
September 20th, 2006 | 13 replies | 2,822 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Great album with some great riffs and choruses. Awsome atmosphere that adds to the album. Buy this album if you are a fan or just getting into Lamb Of God

Lamb Of God
Sacrament



Ok so this is the new Lamb of God album that I have been waiting so long for. All right for starters this album really isn’t like the other albums, the guitars are different, there are now backing vocals in some songs and the overall feel of the songs are different, but Lamb Of God still has there overall distinctive sound. Now before I get into any of the songs let me say that all these songs have something in common (not including redneck), they all have this dark atmosphere, which really adds to this album.

Track List
Walk With Me In Hell
Again We Rise
Redneck
Pathetic
Foot to the Throat
Descending
Blacken the Cursed Sun
Forgotten (Lost Angels)
Requiem
More Time to Kill
Beating on Death's Door


Walk With Me In Hell- The opening track! OK it starts with this kind of cool riff that plays for a little than comes some screaming that really adds to the atmosphere, and you know this is going to be a good track, then some cool rising guitar with effects on. This track is all about atmosphere and really shows it in the chorus, there are these vocals that take you by the hand, like he says and almost could make you walk through hell with him. Now the ending has this cool kind of like drum being banged that really sounds killer that really will add to the song. Overall this is one of my favorites on the album. 9/10

Again We Rise- Ok so it starts with another cool little riff in the intro and a scream screaming, “RISE”. Then drums kick and its almost up beat. The best part about this song is the chorus, there is backing vocals screaming RISE which really adds to the song and then randy kicks in screaming again we will RISE, really killer track, 9.5/10

Redneck- Now must people have heard this song and I don’t think this song does any justice for the album, it’s a different song then all the other tracks but I still like it. Now it starts off with this different riff then most Lamb of God songs have. Now the first thing you will notice is Randy vocals are way different, more like Pantera. Now about 2 minutes into the song this really cool guitar part kicks in and more of Randy’s Pantera style vocals. Pretty good song different but you don’t want the same songs over and over now do you? 8.5/10

Pathetic- Well this track is ok, I really don’t like the intro to it, the guitar sounds kind of weird, along with the chorus but its still pretty good. There is also more backing vocals in the song, which are again, really add to the song. There is a solo in this song, which is actually pretty good. What I don’t like so much is the ending where it seems like a crowd is screaming in the background, it reminds me of pulse of the maggots, which I like but Lamb Of God Shouldn’t use it.8/10

Foot to the Throat- Well Foot To The Throat kicks in with this ok riff, nothing special. Now there are even more backing vocals in this song, after that the chorus kicks in and its pretty cool, there are some more cool parts after that but you just need to listen to this song its really good when you get into it. 9/10

Descending- One of my favorite tracks on the CD, it starts off with the guitar being really lowered and starts rising, like the base is all the way up and when you can hear the guitar quickly all the instruments kick in! Now when the chorus is about to come this cool little riff adds to Randy vocals, which really makes it atmospheric. Then the chorus kicks in and it’s really a cool chorus, especially the second time through with the guitar riffs after the chorus. 9.7/10

Blacken The Cursed Sun- Now I found it strange that may 2 favorite songs on this CD were played right after each other. Now this song starts off with another cool riff with the guitar, then about 15 seconds in the drums start and then everything comes together to make this really cool sound. Before the chorus kicks in it has this killer part where randy is screaming “Just a breath away” Then the chorus kicks in which is really kick ass! After the second time through chorus turns into randy whispering and another killer part. At the end there is Randy like preaching and every time he asks a question there is a crowd that responds HELL NO! Really awesome song 9.9/10

Forgotten (Lost Angels)- So it starts off with guitar riff like usual and then Randy kicks in. After a little bit there is this cool guitar effect one guitar is playing, then the chorus will kick in, before that it keeps like rising up to it, then everyone is saying, “There’s no angels here” and then Randy comes in. After that guitar solo time, like most of there solos pretty cool. Then another part has Randy ranting kind of and then everything repeats (the chorus that is), Pretty decent song overall. 8.7/10

Requiem- Starts off just like every other Lamb of God song with a cool intro! Now the chorus has this kind of catchy beat to it, nothing really that special. Now after you listen to the chorus a second time through it starts playing with someone talking in the background and sounds like a kids playing, then SOLO TIME! Not that bad of a solo. So this song is mediocre nothing to special here but it’s not that bad of a song. 8/10

More Time to Kill- Again a normal Lamb of god intro, now this song seems a little different, after the intro Randy has this kind of tone in his voice when he says “Hot Damn”, something that just doesn’t seem that normal for him. Then the course kicks in with backing vocals in it. Pretty cool chorus. Now about 2:30 into the song Randy starts ranting, then this soft guitar starts in and then right back to heavy. Then the chorus is song with this backing guitar solo that doesn’t seem very Lamb of God like, it’s still pretty cool though. Pretty good song, 8/10


Beating on Death's Door- Ok so this song kicks off and I really don’t like the intro and the vocals after it, doesn’t sound all that great. This is fast upbeat song, I really don’t like it, and you just really have to hear it. 7.5/10

Overall amazing album, you can tell they put a lot of work into this and it paid off. Different sounding then all the other albums which shows the band can switch up what they play without loosing there distinctive sound. Great atmosphere, it’s very dark and really adds to the album.

Pros/Cons
+Solos!
+Dark Atmosphere
+New Sound

-At the end of the album songs weren’t all that great
-A lot of the songs were repetitive which Lamb of God was good at avoiding.
-Some songs seemed a little immature compared to there other songs they had.

Overall great album, fan or not you should buy this! 9/10


user ratings (1696)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
metalXIII
September 20th 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well this is my first review so how did I do?

Thor
September 20th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For a first review this isn't that bad, but you could have gotten into much more detail with your tracks.

Also, try to not to a track by track review next time. They're much more entertaining to read and make you look a whole lot better.

Welcome to the site, though. :thumb:

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

Bfhurricane
September 20th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey not a bad review for a first, I would have gone into a lot more depth but I actually almost 100% agree with you on the tracks.

diefamous
September 20th 2006



281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good job for a first, but I agree with Thor. Your tracks could be more descriptive, but you did mention some things that I agreed with, nice work!

metalXIII
September 20th 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback guys, I guess next time I wont be doing track by track. I found it kind of hard to get really into detail about the tracks though, but its my first one.

Thor
September 20th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's ok. My first several reviews were track by tracks. It's a good way to start things off, I guess.

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 20th 2006



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0


I found it kind of hard to get really into detail about the tracks though

Haha, I had this problem too, that's why I moved away from track by track reviews.

Cravinov13
September 21st 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm rather hooked with Walk With Me In Hell.

XSebbyMcMuffinX
October 11th 2006



339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review seems kinda fanboyish (rating-wise) but it's not bad. Just a word of advice:
Making references to other bands like you did about the chanting in Pathetic sounding like "Pulse of the Maggots" by Slipknot isn't the best idea. Although there're a lot of ppl who love Slipknot, there're also tons of ppl who despise them, so it might turn some people away from checking out the record. Some ppl are also biased against maggots which may lead them to shun your review. Don't mean to offend but hey, just look at the comments sections of the Slipknot reviews on this site...

bicepman4000
October 15th 2006



246 Comments


Rating songs to a tenth of a point gets a little tedious, also I like the second half of the album more... (from Decending onwards) plus Walk with me in Hell of course. Can't stand Redneck, were they trying to rip of Pantera?

Cravinov13
October 15th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not rip off, the new sound they took wih Randy's 'singing' is inspired by Pantera, but not a rip off.

Drunken Viking
October 15th 2006



1023 Comments


I don't know about that, but from the documentry that came with the Pre-Order of the CD Machine kinda did that. Randy said that he was the first guy to actually "Produce" vocals.

goneshootin22
May 26th 2007



142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review. This album is really good for the most part. Foot to the Throat and More Time to Kill were a little boring but the rest is delightfull. My favourite songs here are Walk With Me in Hell, Descending, and Blacken the Cursed son.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy