Audioslave
Revelations


4.0
excellent

Review

by audiophile101 USER (1 Reviews)
September 6th, 2006 | 64 replies | 4,142 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


7 of 8 thought this review was well written

"Earth Wind and Fire meets Led Zeppelin" is a good description for this album provided by the bands very own Tom Morrello. It's is a very funky rock album, relying more on the bass and the drums to give the songs struture. The guitar riffs however are reminiscent of past albums but that almost doesn't matter because the guitar takes a backseat on this album.

When the first single came out, I was scared at first because it was almost to catchy and I felt that it had no depth. But my fear subsided when I listened to the full album and heard my favorite track on the album Broken City.

Broken City steps away from any known Audioslave style song with a simple yet effective opening bass line which leads into a very mellow, low voiced Chris Cornell. With the two combined together along with Tom Morello and Brad Wilk, this track becomes beautifully original and makes me wish that the whole album was like this.

Another stand out track to me is Moth. This is where Led Zeppelin becomes prominent. The song starts out with a crescendoing bass line that developes into a very strong guitar riff that seems to be influenced by Led Zeppelin's "Kashmir". Combined with Cornells chilling vocals, another wonderful track is produced.

Other stand out tracks on this album are Sound of a Gun, Jewel of the Summertime, and Revelations. The rest of the tracks are also unique and good to listen to, but they fail to capture the listeners full attention like the previously mentioned.

Overall I think this album is worth buying and will give you plenty of enjoyment now and in the future. Those of you looking for Rage meets Soundgarden will be extremely disappointed by this album because it is yet another step away from earlier efforts.


user ratings (834)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Jordan Smith (2.5)
Despite containing some of Audioslave's finer moments, Revelations is ultimately a letdown, falling ...

deadskinmask216 (5)
...

Bond39023 (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DekWannaBFlea
September 6th 2006



284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good album. Need more info in the review though.

Frapacino
September 6th 2006



101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album is most defenetly their best yet, nough said.

Kyle
September 6th 2006



667 Comments


Despite it's short length, that's not a bad review at all really, you have given me the overall feel of the album. However, if you want to earn any respect around here, i'd probably adivse you to add a few more specifics in, and just a more detailed approach is usually preferred. Neways not bad for a first, hopefully you can improve on this next time.

I havn't heard this album yet, but they've never really impressed me greatly. I liked the first album, but the second was diabolical, giving me little faith for this one. You said that this is more bass/drums orientated though, which sounds fantastic, they could be so much better if they concentrated on the groove a bit more.

farglesnuff
September 6th 2006



241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is much better than out of exile. i was skeptical myself after hearing the first
single but it is the only track on the whole cd that i do not really enjoy.
it is nothing like the first cd however. but almost as good?? i couldnt tell you just yet...This Message Edited On 09.06.06

PAJJ
September 6th 2006



9 Comments


i've only given this album 1 listen so far, nothing really grabbed me, i need to give it another listen, which i shall do given the review

slappyHours
September 6th 2006



41 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a big Audioslave fan. I liked their first couple albums but this one doesn't even come close to them. Tom Morello was much better when he was with Rage, he was much more experimental with the guitar,and would make sounds that just rocked. Now he does nothing of the sort. I'm not putting them down I just think they have much more potential and they're not showing it.

Muisee
September 6th 2006



679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

A large step back for AS with the release of this album. Good review though.

Patrick
September 6th 2006



1891 Comments


i've been thinking about this album, despite the fact that audioslave (one of the greatest band names ever IMO) has somehow gone under my radar. what i've heard is really good.

Oddsen
September 6th 2006



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to get this. Ok review. A little more description and intro is needed but otherwise fine.

DekWannaBFlea
September 6th 2006



284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I understand it is his first review and I understand that he gave us a general feel of the album, and suprisingly I would have picked the same tracks as stand outs. But what he needs to do is give us some more indepth analysis of the album. Like the things that he didn't like, maybe interpretations of the songs lyrics (Sound of a gun is clearly a politically song something this band has clearly standed in the past that they were going to shy away from), some info on the band, comments on some of the solos (which some of them are badass ass and work perfectly and yet others just seems out of place), etc, etc. Its not a horrible review but it is not a good review. But I understand it is your first and i am sure you will do alot better in the future.

I plan on reviewing this. And I will hold myself up to my own standards.

Storm In A Teacup
September 6th 2006



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

[quote=]I plan on reviewing this. And I will hold myself up to my own standards.[/quote]You don't have to rub it in the other reviewers face like that. It was their first review and I think it's quite good for a first time out.
"Original Fire" is really bad compared to the band's first album, but moderately good compared to "Out Of Exile". Too bad "Out of Exile" was completely mediocre. I'll probably review this when I eventually buy it.

La Revolucion
September 6th 2006



1060 Comments


All I've heard is the single, but it's beyond bad.

Neoteric
September 6th 2006



3243 Comments


Everything Audioslave have done has been really awfully average so I doubt this will change my opinion.

The Door Mouse
September 6th 2006



2092 Comments


im kinda late in the comments but pretty good review but i cant quite pos it. the only song i ve heard is revelations. im thinking of pickin it up

El_Goodo
September 6th 2006



1008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what everyones problem is with modern bands. I bet everyone would be hating on Zeppelin, etc if they were the modern band. It seems no matter how many great riffs or catchy melodies a bands right there still no good. What does a band need to be good these days?

Audioslave has talented members at every instrument, Tom Morello is a modern day guitar hero, Chris Cornell is one of the best rock vocalists period, and the rhythm and bass on this album especially are great. (There names have slipped my mind).

Now everyones saying that their first album was really good, but when it was first out the only thing people had to say was "It sounds like Rage Kareoke with Chris Cornell." I loved that album, the second one was great too I liked hearing them turning into more of a band with songs like Doesn't Remind Me which didn't sound like anything either band had done before.

...this post is starting to turn into a review, and I'm playing to review this album once I listen to it a few more times.

Ps. One and The Same and Until We Fall are kickass tracks.

DekWannaBFlea
September 6th 2006



284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You don't have to rub it in the other reviewers face like that. It was their first review and I think it's quite good for a first time out."

The intent was not to do such. I just want to say that to anybody who says "let's see you do better".

Storm In A Teacup
September 6th 2006



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

He never even said that though.

Two-Headed Boy
September 6th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't like Audioslave, so I doubt I'll get this. Your review is pretty hot for a first, I might add.

whatduffhuck7
September 6th 2006



163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

havent gave the cd a listen yet, was hoping for a more in depth review. im sure in 2 weeks or so there will be mant reviews for this high entisipated album

Oddsen
September 6th 2006



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album was really not that highly entisipated, its not like its been three years since they released an album. Honestly, I'm not as excited about this as i was about Out Of Exile.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy