Dream Theater
Score


4.0
excellent

Review

by SheppyOne USER (2 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2006 | 33 replies | 11,349 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


4 of 5 thought this review was well written

This is Dream Theater's latest live instalment form their monumental discography. This is a 20th anniversary celebration and was recorded at the Radio City Music Hall in New York City on April 1st 2006. It's a monster 3CD album (available in 2DVD) and is a brilliant 20th celebration indeed.

CD 1

The first CD opens with a classic from Octavarium. This original version of the Root Of All Evil is a brilliant song in itself but they managed to top it live. The intro of it is a huge build up and would make any Dream Theater fan pumped up with anticipation and excitement. After the drumming/guitar intro the song drops hugely and is a brilliant start for the whole album. The guitar solo is excellently executed as well.

Another song from their Octavarium album follows with I Walk Beside You. A more of a 'feel good' song rather than a fast paced adrenaline fuelled song, which makes a nice change. James' vocals in this song are brilliant and he hits the notes amazingly.

Another Won follows with what is another amazing performance. It starts off with a powerful and fast intro with that ripping guitar riff and brilliant drumming from Portnoy. The song then continues as it started- amazingly. The way Portnoy uses his drums is magnificent (from a drummers point of view) and really gives the song a different feel.

The next song, Afterlife, from the album When Dream And Day Unite follows. Not a favourite Dream Theater song of mine however the performance of it here is pretty damn good. The drums and guitars are working perfectly in harmony and the harmonic keyboards give the song an epic feel. The best part of this song is the guitar solo about 5 mins through. Quality.

Under A Glass Moon. This is my favourite DT song of all time. They perform it brilliant throughout; the pounding drums. the amazing 'space like' (as a mate of mine once referred to it as) guitars and keyboards and even the immense guitar solo is performed to perfection. Also the circus tune they play half way through is hilariously funny but may be a little out of place.

Innocence Faded, a classic from the album Awake is played very well here. James' voice is perfect and this is one of the only songs where the bass guitar can be noticed and is played awesomely.

Raise The Knife is another song where the bass can be heard very well and is again another great live rendition. Petrucci's guitaring is second to none and Rudess' keyboards are just perfect. Possibly the best performance on the first disc (apart from Under A Glass Moon obviously).

The CD finishes with The Spirit Carries On from Metropolis Pt II. This is an excellent mellow outro for the disc and you can sense the calm atmosphere from the crowd all the way from when that first guitar strum is played until the brilliant female vocals (Theresa Thomason I think) at the end. Awesome.

CD 2

This CD is played by Dream Theater and what is dubbed as the 'Octavarium Orchestra'. The first track on this CD is the whole of the sixth degree in 6DOIT (from Overture to Losing Time). The whole rock opera is played amazingly with the orchestra. This could possibly be compared to Metallica's S & M, however in my opinion is performed better. To review the whole of this performance would be too lengthy so I'll just say a few words. Overture is played by solely the orchestra and is played very well indeed. The rest of the sixth degree is performed brilliantly and it is obvious that the orchestra and the band have put many hours into perfecting the performance. 41 minutes of pure awesomeness, I just wish I was at the gig. Highlights of this track for me would include Overture, The Test That Stumped Them All and Solitary Shell.

The first and only song from Train Of Thought to appear on Score is Vacant. It is only a 3 minute song but very mellow and emotional. The backing violins along with James’ voice (which is mind blowing in this song) makes this a brilliant live song.

The third and fourth track on this CD are both from the album Octavarium. The Answer Lies Within is probably the one of the weaker songs on the album however the live performance of it does male it a bit better. Jordan’s keyboards have the perfect sound for this song and the orchestra also provides great backing for this song.

Sacrificed Sons is the fourth track. To be honest the intro of this actually scares me. A strong song on Octavarium made better on this live album.

CD 3

The first track is a 27 minute performance of Octavarium off Octavarium (in case you didn’t realize). This is split into separate parts (much like A Change Of Seasons). Personally I’m not the biggest fan of this song anyway however here it definitely got me listening to it more. It starts off with a long guitar intro and there also some violins backing them and sometimes on their own. After about 9 mins (too long an intro i.m.o.) LaBrie comes in with vocals and Portnoy shortly follows with some cymbal work. After a few minutes an actual drum beat kicks in as well as a lovely bass riff with some cool guitar work too. To be honest the rest is fairly monotonous until about 15 minutes in when Rudess kicks ass with a blistering keyboard solo. After this, the mood changes to a more upbeat one and LaBrie’s vocals help with this. Around about the 20 minute mark Petrucci nails a solo and of course after that there’s the ‘angry’ bit that is very aggressive indeed. The outro of Octavarium leaves the crowd in awe and is a brilliant finisher of the gig.

However, Score would not be complete without an amazing performance of Metropolis Pt I. this is exactly what they give as their Finale. The orchestra work perfectly in this song, and execute that three note melody perfectly that gets the crowd going no end. The intro to this song is fantastic and I found myself air drumming when the song kicked in! An awesome performance in two words.

All in all this is a brilliant live album and a better 20th anniversary celebration. A must for any DT fan.


user ratings (320)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
La Revolucion
September 3rd 2006



1060 Comments


Decent review. I would recommend editing it and replace the word amazing with other words a few times because you overuse it.

Storm In A Teacup
September 3rd 2006



12688 Comments


I've seen parts of this on T.V. It's pretty good, but Petrucci looks like shit with his hair and beard. I'll most likely buy this sometime.

Otherside
September 4th 2006



62 Comments


What an awful setlist.


Won't be buying it.

XSebbyMcMuffinX
September 4th 2006



339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I almost bought this then decided to save my money... The only songs that draw me in are Six Degrees, Octavarium, and Metropolis... and maybe Vacant and Another Won... that is kinda half the setlist but I'd probably feel like a bought half a product... and I'm not too fond of live dvds by these guys. If they had a lil more stage presence, it might be worth watching...

linxer
September 5th 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think that this is one of the greatest live performances ever, but all DT members always looks like a log when they play in front of an audience.

Bfhurricane
September 5th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Balls I wanted to review this, but im gonna wait, this is a good review
The setlist could have bene somewhat better, but I think that this is still a phenominal performance! Also, I think Afterlife is amazing, it might be my favorite off thisThis Message Edited On 09.05.06

Ich Habe Sheisse
September 5th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

XSebbyMcMuffinX, don't, I repeat, DON'T mistake this DVD for Budokan! While I loved that performance, it's more of a documentary than a concert experience.

SCORE is the exact opposite. All members are moving and getting into it, even the statuesque Myung and slightly less so Petrucci. Every song is played with so much heart, it's unbelievable.

If you really want to get into DT, the DVD version of this is for you. LaBrie's voice is as close as you can get to the days before his vocal chord rupture. The tone of his voice is vastly improved over all of the previous live DVDs.

The passion these guys display for the music they play is obvious on Score.

Bfhurricane
September 5th 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I couldnt find the DVD when I went out to buy it so I settled for the CD, still worth my money im sure. I dont catch what people dont like about this

eug008
September 7th 2006



97 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I highly recomend you get this CD/DVD if your a fan of Dream Theater, everything is just spot on.

DutchGin
September 11th 2006



2 Comments


I consider myself a DT fan from 1989 on. There's a clear idea behind the choice of songs here: prior to Score many of these songs had not found their way onto official "live" CDs yet. Bearing this in mind and as this is DT's fifth official concert release most of the crowdpleasers could not be included, the obvious exception being Metropolis. Kudos to DT for taking the risk of releasing a setlist that may not be everyone's cup of tea. Have to say I prefer the CD version of this: I still find watching rock on a TV screen a self-defeating experience.

XSebbyMcMuffinX
September 18th 2006



339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ich Habe Sheisse, I've been into DT for about a year and a half and own most of their albums. About two months ago, they found their way off my "recently played" list, but I just saw the Score performance of Six Degrees and I've got to say, they've impressed me from Overture to Losing Time. The production was good, LaBrie was as good as when I saw them earlier on this tour, and they all looked like more of a band that would be playing such good music.

I still don't agree with the first half of the set list, though. And I'm kinda still in high school and lacking a job and money so I won't be picking it up...

Wish
September 18th 2006



262 Comments


The DVD has way too much focus on Mike. I was kinda annoyed when they showed Mike for most of the guitar solo in The Spirit Carries On especially the real fast part. But I suppose you can't please everybody.
It's a very good album mind you.

Atica
November 18th 2006



42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great DVD, but I like more Live at Budokan, didn't liked to much the setlist, but the part when they paly the entire CD 2 of SDoIT is amazing.

Remial4
November 26th 2006



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You didn't mention that most of the songs are played in order of chorology [is that the word?] and also how could you miss the bassline on Afterlife? Catchier than a fish. I don't know what attracts me to older DT stuff but I think that Another Won is definatly stunning. But good review =D It's DT anyway, so in the end it must be good

Bfhurricane
January 8th 2007



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just listened to this again, and I have to say this is the probably the best live album I own. I think the setlist is awesome, in that most of those songs aren't played at DT's concerts. Everyone's performance in the band is absolutely stunning

Altmer
January 16th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an awesome live DVD, and the performance on about every song is awesome, though the setlist is mwah, I don't care much for Another Won, Afterlife, Vacant, and the Answer Lies Within.

lak89
February 13th 2007



181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome DVD, but the setlist could be better, minus Vacant and put Stream of Consciousness in it's place, it'll be much better to see that song done with the orchestra. And they should encore with Learning To Live just for the F# instead of Metropolis, even though Metropolis still kicks ass

Bfhurricane
February 24th 2007



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually just listened to nearly the entirety of this album on a short roadtrip to and from Delaware, I must say I am constantly impressed by the life effort here. I'm very close to giving this a 5 but I just can't do it yet

Altmer
February 25th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was wondering if I'd posted here... I have the live DVD and these guys pull off their stuff tremendously.

Metropolis is the best thing ever live.

ChristophTBM
June 11th 2007



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Octavarium, that's not a guitar solo at the beginning, that's a lapsteel and something else, can't quite remember what it's called.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy