DMX
Flesh Of My Flesh, Blood Of My Blood


4.0
excellent

Review

by Brain Dead USER (30 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2006 | 27 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


Being a skilled rapper is not a requirement to become successful in rap. As sad as that may sound, it's true. All you really need is hype. DMX, or Dark Man X, is not a particularly good rapper. For the most part, his lyrical themes are tired and uncreative. His flow is jerky and somewhat awkward, and his individual rhymes have almost all been done before. So, what does DMX have? He has hype. He is known as being one of the most imposing and scary rappers out there. He often punctuates his rhymes with guttural growls, and his vocal delivery and tone conjures an image of a tough, cold-blooded thug. He also conveys this in his actual rhymes, devoting over half of the tracks on this album to his anonymous legion of haters. Another thing he does to keep up his image of a killer is the use of comic (and sometimes completely unnecessary) gore. He shows his intentions right up front, his first rap of the first song being "I got blood on my head, and I got no remorse, and I got blood on my dick, because I fucked a corpse." Although DMX may not be a very skilled rapper, every other aspect of this album besides his rhymes are perfect. The atmosphere, the beats, and the vocals. Essentially, this is the epitome of a gangsta rap album.

DMX's rhymes are not spectacular, but they aren't terrible. One unfortunate habit he has is rhyming the same word four or five times in a row. I don't know why he does this, as he certainly has enough skill to come up with different rhymes. But he does it repeatedly throughout the album, and it is somewhat bothering. His individual rhymes aren't good, but they do what they are intended to do: convey his intense aggression and hate. DMX also has several trademark themes in his rhymes, the best known of them being his obsession with dogs. He proclaims that all of his homies are "dogs" and all of his enemies are "cats." It's a creative idea, and it makes for some pretty interesting rhymes throughout the album. DMX does get quite creative with some lyrical topics, despite the majority of them being generic. Definitely the most creative is The Omen. This song is about a conversation between DMX, who is dying, and the Devil. The famous Satanist Marilyn Manson even makes an appearance in this song. The Omen is easily the best and most creative song on the album in terms of DMX's rhymes.

The beats on this album are spectacular in every sense of the world. You will find everything in this album, from complicated classical bass lines in Coming From to a sitar in Ready To Meet Him to a plucked acoustic guitar in No Love For Me. The song Coming From even has interludes throughout the song with a pounding double bass beat. Also, the beats fit DMX's lyrical topics perfectly, but still manage to be creative. On Ain't No Way, the chorus sounds like something out of an old hymnal. An unfortunate theme on most hardcore rap albums is that all of the beats sound nearly identical. Even if they don't have extremely similar beats, the general atmosphere and mood of the songs are similar. Flesh Of My Flesh, Blood Of My Blood definitely never falls into that pattern. You go from an upbeat and party atmosphere on It's All Good to an ethereal and scary atmosphere on The Omen to a reflective and sorrowful mood in Slippin'. All in the space of three songs. Overall, the beats on this album are top notch and nearly flawless.

This album breaks many of the annoying trends that have been set recently in rap. One of these is the near entire lack of skits. There are only two in this 16 song album, and they are all placed in the first three tracks. That means there are thirteen straight tracks with no skits in between, giving this album a flow unlike most modern rap albums. Another annoying trend in rap is the excessive use of guest appearances. For example, over half of the songs on The Sound Of Revenge are collaborations. That's just too many. The rapper who's album it is needs to show that they can carry the load on their own, and DMX demonstrates this. There are only four collaborations on this album, being 1/4 of the total songs. While that may sound like a lot, it's the way that DMX uses these collaborations that is really special. Most rappers just bring in a collaborator to add one verse to their songs. DMX uses his collaborators to actually add something original to his songs, something that he couldn't have added on his own. For example, Mary J. Blige adds an R&B atmosphere to Coming From, something that DMX couldn't have done by himself.

This is an intelligent gangsta rap album by an intelligent rapper who knows how to work around his flaws. DMX knows he can't rap excellently, so he places the focus on the moods and beats of the songs. This is another album in a long chain of excellent DMX albums, and should be enjoyed by all fans of rap.

Recommended
The Omen
Slippin'
We Don't Give a Fuck



Recent reviews by this author
Disturbed The SicknessNeurosis Through Silver in Blood
Shadows Fall Threads of LifeMachine Head The Blackening
Stone Sour Stone SourKorn Greatest Hits Vol. 1
user ratings (128)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brain Dead
August 23rd 2006


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now we're 1/2 of the way through DMX's library. I tried to shorten this review down, so tell me how you guys like it.

metallicaman8
August 23rd 2006


4677 Comments


Nice.

Volunteer
August 23rd 2006


102 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree. This album doesn't have as polished of a feel as his first record and I think that's what makes it shine. (See how I tricked out that methaphor). I actually think this is DMX's best album. It's darker and smarter than his other works. Nice review.

Zesty Mordant
August 23rd 2006


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man, "Bring Your Whole Crew" is probably one of the most intense hip-hops songs ever. This album is probably his best.
And for the record DMX is an absolute badass. I mean, you got so many rappers these days claiming how tough they are, but seriously, how many of these guys have been arrested for impersonating a federal agent? DMX has.

stinkypoptart
August 23rd 2006


1169 Comments


im not a fan of rap well i know i hate the 50 cent kind i havent really heard any other rap. But thats weird how he got arrested for thta.

Brain Dead
August 23rd 2006


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If by weird you mean the coolest thing ever, then yes, it is weird.

smokersdieyounger
August 25th 2006


672 Comments


Good review, but never heard DMX

"Freshly Baked"
August 25th 2006


583 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, I think you were a bit hard on DMX's rhyming skills, he gets sold short a lot. I'm not saying he's nas or anything but, he's definately got more flow than half of the most popular rappers out now.

That and every one gives him grief for the Blood on my dick line, It was very ICP of him.

Great album, ...And then there was X is more poppy and accessible, but I think it might be a tad better than this. And the great depression is vastly underrated, most people pass it off as junk but i think it's around a 4, and when it first came out I would've given it a 4.5

My fave tracks.

"The Omen" (Of Course)

"Coming From"

and of course

Love my niggaz, but where my bitches?
Love my niggaz, but where my bitches?
Love my niggaz, but where my bitches?
Love my niggaz, but where my bitches?


It's all good, it's alright, f**k all day, f**k all night
Call my bitches, cuz wherever I go, y'all my bitches
East to the west coast, all my bitches


It's surprisingly even more genious than it looks.

donkeyrope
November 13th 2006


2 Comments


"Bring Your Whole Crew" is a response to Kurrupt who had a song dissing DMX on his album the Tha Streetz Iz A Mutha. The whole feud revolved around DMX apparently sleeping with Kurrupt's girl at the time, Foxxy Brown. Thats what the line: "I got blood on my head, and I got no remorse, and I got blood on my dick, because I fucked a corpse" is referencing.

Its an okay album, too much filler on it.

EIB633
February 26th 2007


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not really feeling it, this album is looked upon as a classic, at around 4.5/5 after It's Dark was a 5/5, and some of your quotations of his lyrics were very incorrect.

Brain Dead
February 28th 2007


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Point out the quotations that are incorrect, but I don't think any are. And there is no way this is a 4.5. There's a ton of filler; my opinion of this album has plummeted after this review.

EIB633
March 16th 2007


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

When I first heard this album I thought so much of it was filler the same as you, this album is what you call a 'grower' it grows on you, I thought it was crap at first, then I realised just how supurb it is, maybe you will too, the stuff which I thought was filler turned out to be some of the best tracks when I listened closely.

Brain Dead
March 25th 2007


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Contrary to your viewpoint, my opinion of this album is plummeting with each listen. I may revise the review in the future, but I'll probably be too lazy.

axemexa
April 24th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And for the record DMX is an absolute badass. I mean, you got so many rappers these days claiming how tough they are, but seriously, how many of these guys have been arrested for impersonating a federal agent? DMX has.


lmao.

Good review, I'd give it a 3.5-4, I think his first is a bit better.

And unless you reviewed this after only 1 or 2 listens, I think there's no need to change the rating

DMXFAN
April 28th 2007


19 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

His first one was better but mannnn I still love this CD. Bring Your Whole Crew was just like X Is Coming and the lyrics was intense. Slippin' is still my favorite song from X and it will always will be(even though it's clean). About the filler issue, I really don't see any filler in this CD, the songs are well made, just listen to it a lil more.

BallsToTheWall
October 1st 2009


44351 Comments


God damnit, DMX going MMA. What's the world coming to? AT leats it'll be fun to watch him and then Butterbean vs Tank Aboot.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

get these bags off my feet so i can tear shhhhhhhhhhh

BigHans
February 13th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Slippin is one of the best Hip Hop songs in the universe, at least for me.

BigHans
February 13th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Edited DMX is terrible, his whole appeal is is over the top lyrics, see "Whats My Name" off And Then There Was X

MO
February 16th 2011


18670 Comments


Slippin' is my favourite DMX song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy