Everclear
So Much For The Afterglow


5.0
classic

Review

by PTECK USER (37 Reviews)
August 20th, 2006 | 23 replies | 9,414 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


4 of 5 thought this review was well written

Can you name any classic albums made in 1997? Most people would answer with OK Computer by Radiohead. But what about Everclear’s So Much For The Afterglow? This is a true 90’s classic that has been slightly overlooked. It sold well, a lot better than anything the band has ever done, and had a good amount of airplay from its singles.

Everclear:
Art Alexakis: vocals, guitar
Craig Montoya: bass, vocals
Greg Eklund: drums, vocals

So most people remember the hit singles, most of which have not stood the test of time that well. Everything To Everyone is a great song, hands down. The pumping bass is quite catchy, and Art’s lyrics are perfect. “I think you are blind to the fact that the hand you hold is the hand that holds you down.” That line makes clear what the song is about. We all know people in our lives who act like this. The kind of people who try to be loved by all and completely popular. This song is an anthem for all of those who are annoyed by those people. The biggest hit from the album is probably I Will Buy You A New Life. What’s not to love about this song? It’s a love song, something relatively different for this band. Art’s lyrics are great here once again. “I hate those people who love to tell you money is the root of all that kills, they have never been poor they have never had the joy of a welfare Christmas.” Well said Art. It sounds like he’s singing to a girl and telling her all the great things he will do for her. After that, with so many great songs on here, it was just a matter of picking what would be the next hit. They went with Father Of Mine. It’s probably the most angsty of all the songs, in which Art tells the story of his terrible father and about how he was never there for him. “Sometimes you would send me a birthday card with a 5 dollar bill, I did not understand you then, and I guess I never will.” That basically sums up how he hates his father.

So what else makes the album good? There are so many other great tunes that could have easily made it on the radio if a single had been made. Normal Like You is a perfectly written song about a friend with depression. Amphetamine is a great punker about a girl similar to the characters in Sparkle And Fade. The outro has some beautiful violin which shows Everclear’s soft side. One Hit Wonder is my all time favorite. It refers to fans as “the monster” and the music industry as “the pretty machine.” There’s some great trumpet and trombone here, but crappy production, something rare for Everclear. Like A California King is another wonderful track. The main riff is a hybrid between a violin and an electric guitar. “I will burn you like teenage love. I will eat you just like meat. I will watch you burn like a California king.”

There are also a few other decent songs here. The title track is a wild “song about Susan” that begins with a silly Beach Boy-esque vocal intro that might make you wonder if Everclear can be taken seriously. Why I Don’t Belive In God is not necessarily an atheist song, more like a song about his nutsy mother, as he looks back into his childhood. They prove in that song how good they are in the genre of country rock, something they’ve done before (Heartspeark Dollarsign). They also do it in Sunflowers, a song all about Art’s daughter whom he’s sung about time and time again. In yet another song about another one of Art’s old girlfriends (you might think the subject matter would get annoying, but it doesn’t), White Men In Black Suits, Art sings about a poor black girl he fell in love with who plays in a band a strips for white men to earn money. The last song on the album is quite entertaining. Hating You For Christmas is just like the title says, spending the earth’s no. 1 holiday with a person you hate. The whole song is a shock after the serious Like A California King.

In case you’re wondering what the instrumentation on this album is like, I’ll tell you. It’s above decent. Greg Eklund’s fills are boring and very uncreative (hitting the snare 12 times usually). Craig Montoya is a decent bassist. Art Alexakis is an ok guitarist. He shines in basically two songs. The riff and solo for Father Of Mine are awesome. But the ultimate guitar crazed song is El Distorto De Melodica. The guitar playing is wicked. No words here, just laughing every now and then. The riff changes back in forth with solid drumming a nice bass playing. This song won a grammy for best instrumental rock song, and you can’t argue.

I think I would have to recommend this album to any fan of 90’s alt rock, as this is a classic of that genre. It’s one of my favorite albums, definitely Everclear’s best. If you want to get into this band buy this or the previous or latter album.

My Extremely Biased Fanboy Song Ratings
So Much For The Afterglow 4/5
Everything To Everyone 5/5
Ataraxia (Media Intro) NA
Normal Like You 5/5
I Will Buy You A New Life 5/5
Father Of Mine 5/5
One Hit Wonder 5/5
El Distorto De Melodica 5/5
Amphetimine 4.8/5
White Men In Black Suits 4.5/5
Sunflowers 4/5
Why I Don’t Believe In God 4/5
Like A California King 5/5
Hating You For Christmas 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Pearl Jam Touring Band 2000 DVDCollective Soul Afterwords
Lindsey Buckingham Under the SkinTool Aenima
Journey Greatest Hits: 1978-1997 DVDQueen Classic Queen
user ratings (173)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
LTJ386 (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Patrick
August 20th 2006



1891 Comments


yes, i am a fanboy

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a good album, but it doesn't touch American Soundtrack for me.

Channing
August 20th 2006



497 Comments


I WILL BUY YOU A GARDEN WHERE YOUR FLOWERS CAN GROW.

pretty good review and stuff

JohnXDoesn't
August 20th 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review. i love this band. saw them 4 times back in the day and art solo a couple of times. disagree about it being "definitely Everclears best" as that is arguable and ultimitely i would rate Sparkle And Fade and Songs From An American Movie Vol 1 a bit higher. but this is of course among thier best. fave cuts: the title cut, Normal Like You, Father Of Mine, One Hit Wonder, and tracks 9-13, with special mention going out to Why I Don't Believe In God and Like A California King. incredible band led my the incredibly talented and sometimes frustrating Art Alexakis. nice write up, once again.This Message Edited On 08.20.06

Patrick
August 20th 2006



1891 Comments


daddy gave me a name, then he walked away...

thanks for the positive feedback guys. I agree with JXD about the other albums being as good if not better, but in my opinion this beats sparkle and fade by a hair. I'm thinking about reviewing that one too.

JohnXDoesn't
August 20th 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah. they are all very close in quality and each have something different to offer. yet it's all uniformily Everclear. i saw an interview with art right before American Movie Vol. 1 was put out and they asked how much the band had left and he said "vol 1 and 2, one more, and that's it". and he stayed true to his word. for whatever reason. although the band continues part time in a different form today, it's basically art solo. i hope to see more reviews by you (or whoever. i might whip one up myself). this is just a real special band to me. and i appreciate the honesty of your review. and the treatment you afforded this oft times underrated and "overlooked except for the hits" band This Message Edited On 08.20.06

Patrick
August 21st 2006



1891 Comments


sept. 12th new album! can't wait. why? because art was the only member that ever mattered and therefore now they sound the same as old everclear except with keyboards. i read a review of someone who got the leak of it and it was quite positive.

JohnXDoesn't
August 21st 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes, i think it sounds good so far if a bit familiar. Hater is a good single. Check youtube for a video of it and also Art making a fool of Bill 'O Riley who takes him to task about a video featuring "jesus". Art has to explain how it's just a metaphor and it's not really jesus and and on and on. Bill is just like "duh". also check the Everclear website. they have an active message board and stuff. pretty funny sometimes...

Patrick
August 23rd 2006



1891 Comments


yeah i've been reading all that stuff lately and watching all that stuff lately, i've been really excited.

Doppelganger
February 8th 2007



3124 Comments


I absolutely hate Father of Mine with a passion. If that's a highlight, I'll try to steer clear (no pun intended) of this album.

Dean79
September 11th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review PTECK! 'overlooked' is a good word to describe the album. Despite negative reviews in rolling stone the album has held up against the test of time. It has a unique 'spirit'.

miguelsalgado1111
October 16th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, but since when have rolling stone known shit about music.

Everclear were absolutely awesome back then - three consecutive, excellent and different albums in a row: Sparkle and Fade, SMFTAG, and Learning How to Smile vol 1. And I would say each has that 'unique spirit' - from each other and from the rest of the music produced at the time.

They have also just released a new album In A Different Light which revisits their greatest hits which is so much better than it sounds - it has that unique spirit too. Its really really good - a bit like a live studio album, stripped of the production and quite intimate.

PuddlesPuddles
January 11th 2010



4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nostalgic as helllll. Father of Mine especially. This is the only cd of theirs that really does it for me

ololo3
June 28th 2012



3 Comments


I agree that this album has been overlooked through the years, which is a bit unfortunate. I don't agree that it hasn't stood the test of time. I just listened to this album for the first time in a few years and it sounded better than it ever has, even when it first came out. The songs (for the most part) are brilliantly crafted - Alexakis was an outsanding writer in his prime. Although I'm not a big fan of the instrumentals, I can listen to this album from start to finish without skipping anything. "Why I Don't Believe in God" is probably the most personal thing he's ever written - just brilliant. I absolutely love this album. 4.5 stars.

camaraderie
July 11th 2012



988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Holy crap, the lyrics are pretty bad but this is so much fun to listen to.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2012



19674 Comments


nostalgia right here

YoYoMancuso
December 20th 2012



11028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ agreed i love this record

Hoppip
December 23rd 2012



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good band. it's a fun listen but not too much more than that.

LifeAsAChipmunk
December 23rd 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yep yep. the title track is great.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2013



15019 Comments


Heaviest album ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy