Nickelback
The State


2.5
average

Review

by Big Tone USER (9 Reviews)
August 7th, 2006 | 36 replies | 23,296 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


6 of 11 thought this review was well written

The core of the band hails from Hanna, Alberta. However they are now based in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Nickelback was greatly helped by a Canadian radio law, known as Cancon. The law requires a certain percentage of music played on Canadian radio to be Canadian artists. Thanks a lot Cancon for your effort in bringing mainstream music the pile of crap we know as Nickelback. The name Nickelback comes from the change Chad Kroeger got from his local starbucks, the total was $1.45 and he paid $1.50.


Nickelback released their demo album Hesher under Platano Records in 1996. After getting some buzz with Hesher, Nickelback signed with Roadrunner records, and in 1996 came out with major record debut Curb. Then March 7th 2000, they created sophmore album The State. An album that would have them start to infiltrate mainstream rock stations with single Leader Of Men


In 2002 Nickelback was playing their second song at the Ilha do Ermal festival in Portugal on August 19, 2002, when Chad Kroeger was suddenly sprayed with a full bottle of water, hurled from somewhere within the crowd. Kroeger threw down his guitar and confronted the crowd, when he turned around he was struck in the head by what looked like a large rock. He replied with a wave and the entire band walked off stage. Kroeger and drummer at the time Ryan Vikedal flicked off the crowd. Unfortuntely Kroeger was unharmed.


For The State, Nickelback was:
Chad Kroeger-vocals, guitar
Ryan Peake- guitar, backing vocals
Mike Kroeger-bass
Ryan Vikedal-drums


The State is by far Nickelbacks best record to date, unfortunetly that isn’t saying much. The best thing I can say about this album is that Nickelback doesn’t seem to try to conform to mainstream rock, unlike all of their recent albums. Nickelback on this record has a very grunge sound, which is a very nice suprise if you are more familiar with albums such as Silver Side Up, The Long Road, and All The Right Reasons. Some of the standout tracks on this album are [i]Breathe, Leader of Men acoustic and non-acoustic, and Old Enough.


Breathe opens with a very unique sound. Lyrically it is by far the best track with such lyrics as
“All I ever really wanted was to be like you. So perfect. So worthless. If I could take it all back think again, I would”.Leader of Men has a pretty cool opening riff and rhythm. This track is the most diverse Kroeger and his band of merry men seem to get. The intensity that the band delivers during this song is quite good. I do however like the acoustic version better, it just seems to be alittle more heartfelt and sincere. Old Enough is the last good track on the album. Kroeger’s voice seems to be just right for this song, he doesn’t over do it. My favorite lyrics from this track are “Lately it seems like my dreams have started to die. It occured to me on the inside I guess so am I”

The major problem that this album suffers from is lack of diversty. Virtually all the tracks have the exact same sound with different lyrics. The sound in itself isn’t bad, the fact that Nickelback seems to be frightened to step out of their comfort zone for this album is. Every member of the band plays adequately, and quite exceptional. However I cannot emphasize enough that the lack of diversity in their sound drowns out what good it does have. Nickelback suffocates themselves with mediocrity here. Another major problem this album seems to have is that the main riffs to most tracks just seem to be bland and boring, a couple of songs for example are Not Leaving Yet and Deep.Also the album seems to be very drawn out.

In conclusion, the best this album has to offer is Breathe, Leader of Men: acoustic and non-acoustic, and Old Enough However it was not enough to dig the entire album out of the trenches. Again the best thing about this album is that this is before they attempt to confrom to mainstream rock.. However they didn’t attempt to try anything new creatively. The main riffs on most tracks just seem to be balnd and boring.

Pros-They don’t seem to try to confrom to mainstream rock.
Breathe, Leader of Men, and Old Enough are great tracks, and Nickelback is extremely better than Hinder.

Cons- They don’t seem to try to step out of their comfort zone
Lack of diversity
Main riffs on most tracks seem to be bland and boring
Album seems to be drawn out

Big Tone’s overall rating 2.5 out of 5


Big Effin Tone



Recent reviews by this author
The All-American Rejects The All-American RejectsAce Troubleshooter Ace Troubleshooter
Tonic Lemon ParadeThousand Foot Krutch Set It Off
Dashboard Confessional The Swiss Army RomanceUnwritten Law Here's to the Mourning
user ratings (409)
Chart.
2.1
poor
other reviews of this album
TheSupernatural (4)
20th Century Nickelback plays in 6/4 and writes about the Holocaust....

Dante Pizzuti (3)
“I am not a leader of men…” Unfortunately that is painfully obvious now, but maybe they could ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
The Sludge
August 7th 2006



2169 Comments


Nice one. Good job attempting a different format.

riobravo1023
August 7th 2006



274 Comments


Good review.

This is (thankfully) the only Nickelback album I own. I must say, it is actually kind of good. Not the best, but good. I'd give it a 3 or 3.5.

I bought this in the 5th grade, when they were my favorite band. My, how times have changed.



Favorite songs are Leader of Men and Cowboy Hat.

tom79
August 7th 2006



3362 Comments


Breathe is actually a pretty decent song. Good review, just some grammar errors. Try typing it in Word.

Digging: Braid - No Coast

Patrick
August 7th 2006



1891 Comments


Good review. I love Breathe, I don't know about the rest.

Two-Headed Boy
August 7th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The State is by far Nickelbacks best record to date, unfortunetly that isn’t saying much.

Agreed. Nickelback are terrible.

The Sludge
August 7th 2006



2169 Comments


[quote=El Review-a]Unfortuntely Kroeger was unharmed.[/quote]

:laugh:

Pyramidman
August 7th 2006



1340 Comments


every song they write is about sex
or stupid stuff liek that

i cant stand his voice either

Dancin' Man
August 7th 2006



719 Comments


Much nicer. One more tip - If you feel it's below average (as your review indicates), rate it below average.

Keep up the progress, you'll fit right in here, especially as someone that reviews what nobody else wants to.

RadicalPunk
February 12th 2007



10 Comments


Good job. You clearly despise the band (as do I, I'd rather listen to fallout boy...), yet you tried to rate it fairly and hand out compliments where deserved.

synergy
February 24th 2008



151 Comments


I like Nickelback's "non-radio friendly" songs and this album has a lot of them. I like leader of men alot

MediocreAtBest
February 24th 2008



1473 Comments


Leader of Men is the only Nickelback song I like.

flamethisuser
March 16th 2008



395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice review. You nailed the only three good Nickelback songs in existence. Congrats.

Titan50
February 15th 2009



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Leader of Men is a proper good tune

FattyKnee
February 15th 2009



490 Comments


uh




no

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2009



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually Leader Of Men is very decent. And generally this album is decent.
Oh the good times when Nickelback wasn't so radio friendly.

red0
February 15th 2009



248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album was decent, I miss it when Nickelback was respectable.

FattyKnee
February 15th 2009



490 Comments


they've turned into mainstream shit

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2009



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes you are right. But this album is from the time when they weren't mainstream at all. And it is quite a good record.

deliberately
March 22nd 2010



187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is a classic album

deliberately
March 22nd 2010



187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also, i do not like this review. you have been negged.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy