Stone Sour
Come What(ever) May


4.0
excellent

Review

by CmS USER (2 Reviews)
July 31st, 2006 | 11 replies | 2,805 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Stone Sour
Come What(ever) May

Stone Sour is
Corey Taylor - Vocals
James Root - Guitar
Josh Rand - Guitar
Shawn Economaki - Bass
Roy Mayorga - Drums

Stone Sour was formed in 1992 by Corey Taylor and two others that do not remain in the band today. Of course most of us know Corey Taylor as the lead singer of Slipknot, a metal band that became popular in the early 2000's, in which all 9 memebers wear masks. After the release of Iowa, Slipknot's second album in 2001, Corey, and James Root another previous Stone Sour member that was in Slipknot, decided to recreate Stone Sour. In 2002, Stone Sour released a self titled album. In this album, Corey took directions that he wouldnt normally take with Slipknot. From this album came 3 singles. The explosive "Get Inside" was the first single released. Second came "Inhale". The third and most popular single was the soft, cleanly played, "Bother" which was featured as a track on the Spider Man soundtrack. Of course people hadthere different opinions on this album. Some called it "Coreys masterpiece", some called it "softened" and in a bad way. When Corey went back to Slipknot to record "Vol 3" in 2004, most people would think Stone Sour is done and dead.

But in the year 2006, after Slipknot had called a break, they were proven very wrong.
Stone Sour is back in the year 2006, with the new album "Come What(ever) May", with 2 radio released songs, "30/30-150" a metal hit, and "Through Glass" a softie.

Now for a general overview of what to expect on this album::
In comparison to Stone Sours last album, this one flows better. Most of the songs are well arranged, even the strangely arranged ones work well. When the album wants to punch, it does deliver the punch most of the time. The sound, while maintaining heavy when it wants to be also has sort of a southern kick. "Nickelback-esque" in a way, but no, they in no way suck because of it.

Track by track

30/30-150:: The first track, and also the first single of the album. This track opens with open notes on Drop B tuned guitars, and then breaks into a fast paced riff. The lyrics of this song seem to describe a revolution. The first (and final) verse builds you up for the chorus with the line "This is where it begins, and this is where it ends". After the second chorus, the song gives you a small chance to catch your breath as it builds up to the extreme riff that is followed by another verse. Without a doubt headbanging material, this is defanatly a stand out track. 4.5/5

Come What(ever) May:: This song starts with a long riff, and a nice little drum beat that goes 3 times before Corey joins. It starts with the line "Can you take away every single day we have given to another false prophet". I have reason to believe that this song expresses Coreys feelings on our current president. This song is the first in the long line of songs on the album that displays the guitar talent of Stone Sour, with a pretty nice solo. This song ends with "You wanted the world to be free, WHAT THE !@#$ IS FREE ABOUT IT". A pretty good song in my opinion 4/5

Hell & Consequences:: A generally heavy song, lyrics describing "Ill do this on my own". The bridge is a scream "I WILL NOT BE AFRAID / I WILL NOT BE AFRAID". I love the guitar work in the chorus. Once again theres a nice solo. I forget which guitarist does the solos, but Stone Sour defenatly has solo ability. Another solid song 4/5

Sillyworld:: The first of the 3 "mellower" songs on the album. Opens with acoustic chords, with a clean guitar in company. The bass joins in for Coreys singing. The song has a very weird, but very likeable vibe to it. The lyrics, though may be confusing, are meaningful. The chorus is a tad poppy, but the riff following the chorus into the second verse is pretty cool. The song is arranged differently- Verse, Chorus, Verse, Chorus, Intermission, Solo, End. The solo in this song, with a wah in the mix proves to be, once again, great. I could see this song being a great single. I rate this song high, but you have to like songs with weird vibes 4.5/5

Made Of Scars:: The song opens with a jumpy riff, then followed by Corey describing scars all over his body, and the story behind each of them. The intermission gets Corey screaming again. Theres some technical guitar work, but no true solo in this song. Its a solid song, but i see it as a potential filler, so ill rate this a 3.7/5

Reborn:: The studio recording session of this song was video taped, and put on Roadrunners website. From an earlier tracklist i saw, i remember that this was the original intention for the closing track, but oh well. This song in two words is an "Explosive Beast". The song opens with a heavy guitar riff and drum beat. The verses sang clean, with cool guitar work backing it, describe being left out in the streets to die, you never cared about me kind of thing. The bridge does an amazing job of building up to the EXPLOSIVE chorus, describing comeback/payback. The second, and third chorus are extended with the line "I am gunna be...REBORN! (THIS IS THE START OF SOMETHING!)". Possibly the heaviest song on the album, defantly a song that gets me charged everytime i listen to it, this song ends with him shouting "MOTHER !@#$ER". Some will find that immature but if you get into the song like i do, you'll be screaming along. The only flaw about this song is where its placed on the album...It would be better as second to last track in my opinion. 4.7/5

Your God:: The song opens with Corey singing "What am i supposed to do now?" followed by a sludgy riff. The verses are very melodic. The bridge goes heavy no real screaming here, and then goes back to the verse. After the same sequence the chorus repeats the line "What am i supposed to do now" with the same beginning riff. In heaviness, this song proves to be just a little weaker, but the song has not one, but 2 pretty good solos. Solid track 4/5

Through Glass:: This song was released to radio. This is a mellow song. Theres not much to say about the song itself, but the song is a great example of Corey Taylors different abilities. In Stone Sour he can take directions he cant in Slipknot. Half way through, bass and distorted guitar joins in. Coreys lyrics in this song are very poetic- I think that this song may be describing a visit from his wife while he was in rehab. Corey has commented on writing songs about his wife in this album. Its a good song, but it dosent click with me as much, so ill go ahead and give it 3.5/5 Good new direction though

Socio:: After Through Glass you hope for an a$$ kicker. You only get half that wish. The song opens weird with a note sound, and then a catchy bass line. Im not sure what the lyrics are describing in this song. The chorus is melodic singing, fronting distorted riffs. So far, besides for the bass-line, this is the low point of the album. You can feel that the song pulls punches. Theres an ok solo in the song though. 3/5

1st Person:: After the lackluster Socio song, this song makes up for the lag. This song starts with Corey singing, behind heavy open strums, and then goes ballastic. The song from there only gets heavier, and more explosive, and then goes back to what it did in the beginning. Corey does some screaming during the really balastic parts. The song goes into the heavy intermission, with some pinch harmonics, then back into the chorus. The chorus being the heaviest parts of the song. This is the last really heavy song on the album, but at least it wasnt a sucky one. It ends with the way it began 4/5

Cardiff:: The song starts off with a cool weird clean guitar riff, a slowly sorrowfully sung verse. The lyrics give alot of "death" hint. The chorus gets somewhat heavy. The intermission brings in another solo- An OK solo this time, not a reall amazing one. This song is not really as great as other songs on this album, but its still better than Socio. Ill give this one a 3.5/5 Reborn should have been put here.

ZZYXZ Rd.:: The final track. Without a doubt the mellowest track, including a piano and acoustic guitar. I believe the lyrics explain, once again, Coreys expirience in rehab. "I get to come home in one week, but i have to leave in 3"- Those probably arent the exact words, as i took that from memory, but i believe that would be "Coming home from rehab in 1 week, and going out in the world with Slipknot in 3". Once again, this is a direction of music that would be impossible for Slipknot to take. Corey is a very talented man for writing the many kinds of lyrics, and singing the kinds of styles he can, and this album, and Stone Sour in general does nothing but prove that over and over again 4/5 Not really one of my faves, but i have to give credit to the band.

So in general the high point of the album is around "Reborn" or "Through Glass" then it generally winds down. In general the first half of the album is stronger than the last. The stand outs in my opinion, are 30/30-150, Sillyworld, Reborn, Through Glass, and just because its so different ZZYXZ Rd. The album is solid material, and is so far the best album ive heard in 2006. Corey Taylor has so much musical power, it blows my mind.

Final Grade: 4


user ratings (808)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Buzz Killington (4.5)
...

Ed Watson (3)
Good musicians, good songs, pity about the lyrics....

Acey (4)
If you are a Slipknot fan, you should pick this up. If you don't know these guys, you should still ...

SheppyOne (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
The Sludge
July 31st 2006



2169 Comments


Capitolizing your I's are your friend!

Other than a few grammer/spelling errors, not a bad tbt.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2006



17920 Comments


This looks like it might actually be worth checking out.

Acey
July 31st 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is Corey Taylor singing from Slipknot (which i thought would never happen), and the single "through glass" is a must haveThis Message Edited On 07.31.06

Acey
July 31st 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this CD doesnt come out until tomorrow in the U.S. =(

Acey
July 31st 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is the Ballad of the CD.^ and Corey does his best work here IMO for a ballad, even better than their song Bother.
Yep. i said it.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2006



17920 Comments


Bother wasn't that good.

The Sludge
July 31st 2006



2169 Comments


I also think Through Glass is better than Bother. Bother was good, but very boring and repetitive. Through Glass is more upbeat and fun to listen to. Plus its a hell of a song to sing karaoke.

Acey
July 31st 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and fun to play on the guitar, and easy for people that want to play

Arucard
August 1st 2006



575 Comments


That 30/30 song is terrible, it sounds exactly like Slipknot.

TheMisterBungle
August 1st 2006



861 Comments


a little lighter i would say
but i think slipknot and stone sour are horrid.


jason_f90
September 25th 2006



203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great, detailed review. You mention that the standouts of the album are 30/30-150, Sillyworld, Reborn, Through Glass and Zyxz. Rd. However, you only give Through Glass a 3.5 which is the lowest score on the album. Doesn't make much sense to me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy