Slayer
Divine Intervention


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dethtrasher USER (232 Reviews)
July 30th, 2006 | 48 replies | 6,923 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist


4 of 5 thought this review was well written

BAND HISTORY
Now this was something special I must say, Slayer released this album called ''Divine Intervention''. This band was one of four other bands during the mid 80's and that group was called the ''The Big Four'', the bands were called Megadeth, Slayer, Anthrax and Metallica and they all played thrash-metal. The only thing was that Slayer was the only band that played a more aggressive and evil thrash-mix compared to the other bands, which also formed their own unique sounds as well. Though I haven't heard so much Slayer except for their other albums called ''South Of Heaven'' and God Hates Us All. Both of those albums didn't grabbed my attention so good but this did stuck on my mind, the reasons was that the band still had their evil and sinister sound, the bass was more audiable and the drum work was very good compared to the other albums.

ALBUM INFORMATION
As in their previous work the band has always been focused on the more obscure and evil stuff, the lyrics was directed towards satan, darkness, evil and all sorts of stuff that made people upset but they also get peoples attention through their music. This album has the same style as I said before, thanks to the drumming the material feels more powerful and the guitars has the same unique sound plus that the bass was more audiable which was very good in my opinion. The material is fast on this album, the songs are strong and catchy at some moments but the vocals from Tom Araya maybe is not a bigger improvement though, but it still make Slayer into a unique band in the genre.

THE BAND MEMBERS
The band members who made this album was and still are Tom Araya (bass and vocals), Kerry King (guitars), Jeff Hanneman (guitars) and Paul Bostaph (drums). Tom's part in this album was very good this time, the band has finally given the bass a little more space, it maybe wasen't much but it did make a difference. There are still no special things about his bass playing but it sounded better and thats the whole point. When it camed to his singing it maybe wasen't so great after all, he has a bit special style of singing or screaming. He basically screams loud in all the songs and people might get bored because of these straight-ahead vocals. The guitars in this album was great, the guitar sound is now a bit thicker, the shredding and riffing is now faster, catchier and the soloing is very enjoyable. The unique haunting sound of the guitars is still with us here and it strengthens the whole sound in general. And now we come to the member that really lifted Slayer's to another level, Paul Bostaph. An experienced drummer that has been playing in other famous bands like Exodus and Testament and more, the drumming is fast and very catchy. The drumming really helped Slayer to sound powerful than they did in ''South Of Heaven''.

THINGS THAT I ENJOYED ABOUT THIS ALBUM
The things I liked about in this album was finally many, the thing I enjoyed the most was the drumming made by Paul. The drums made the songs more catchier and more powerful, and I have started to get used to these drums so this was a very fun surprise than the other albums that I have heard. Some of the best songs with the best drums would be Dittohead and Circle Of Beliefs. The second thing I liked was the guitar soloing actually, the solos were better structured and they were played with precision and skill, the basic guitar work was also great. The riffing was classical fast shredding along with catchy rhythm sections plus the unique guitar sound which is typical to [b]Slayer[/i]. And the bass of course was a little thing that I was slightly surprised of, you could hear it pretty good and it made a better sound with the guitars.

THINGS I DISLIKED ABOUT THIS ALBUM
The good thing was that I enjoyed a lot of stuff about this album but a thing that I didn't like so much was Tom's monotonous vocals. I also believe that this is love-or hate scenario when it comes to vocals, I don't hate them but I think that Tom could tried out some more different styles of singing. I think it would be cool if he delivered some growls, sudden bursts of well screaming or maybe some raspier singing, but that is just my opinion though.

FINAL JUDGEMENT
There you go, I guess that this is the best I can give and I hope that this was enjoying to read. This is for now my favorite Slayer album, the biggest thing about this album was the help from Paul who really lifted up the band with his accurate and fast drumming. The songs on the album were all more or less catchy, though I enjoyed all of them pretty much but the album will not be a classic to me thats for sure. I think that this is a quite underrated album that needs a bit more attention and credit. This album would go home to Slayer fans in first hand, this would also suit thrashers pretty good because of the fast paces in the songs. Thank you for taking time to read this review and if you have any complaints or praises just let me know.

PROS
+ The faster drumming made the songs a whole lot better
+ The songs were very catchy, the variety was also a plus
+ The guitar work was awesome in this album
+ The sinister and evil sound sure does this band unique

CONS
- I still don't like Tom Araya's vocals, they are not bad but a little variety wouldn't hurt

RECOMMENDED TRACKS
-- Cicle Of Beliefs
-- Dittohead
-- Ss-3
-- Serenity In Murder

The overall album rating for this album will be a well earned: 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth DamnationFleshcrawl Made of Flesh
Sear Lamentations of DestructionTormented Rotten Death
War (swe) We Are...Total WarCrucified Barbara Til Death Do Us Party
user ratings (843)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Foodforthegods (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Confessed2005
July 30th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brilliant review Dethtrasher. I like quite a few songs off this album and whilst Paul is a great drummer, I would have to say I definitely prefer Lombardo.

Dittohead is an awesome song however - especially the drumming.

bicepman4000
July 30th 2006



246 Comments


Their lineup changed a couple of years ago. Bostaph is out, Lombardo is back in on drums.

Solid review, proof reading would go a long way to its readability though. You need to check out Reign in Blood and Seasons in the Abyss, their two best records.

south_of_heaven 11
July 30th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ignore this. Damn computer...This Message Edited On 07.30.06

south_of_heaven 11
July 30th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bostaph is out, Lombardo is back in on drums.

Dave >> Bostaph
Reign in Blood and Seasons in the Abyss, their two best records.

Yes, but I personally think 'Christ Illusion' is better than 'Reign in Blood'. But 'Seasons' you will love.
Good review, I already started work on this review though you d*ck. Thanks.

bicepman4000
July 30th 2006



246 Comments


Sorry, I have not heard their new CD yet. I haven't downloaded it like true fans.
Are you saying Paul is back in? Just wonder who you are calling a dick?

Bazarov
July 30th 2006



55 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice review. Everything after this album is terrible and bad. =/ I really like this album, but it's my least favorite out of the previous albums.

Paul isn't back in, Lombardo is still in the band.

Christ Illusion is horrible, and weak.

bicepman4000
July 30th 2006



246 Comments


Thats what I thought.
Is South of Heaven saying Paul and Dave have a love child named Dave Bostaph? Man it would be ugly.This Message Edited On 07.30.06

south_of_heaven 11
July 30th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't downloaded it like true fans.

I went crazy when I found out I could hear it early. I usually never DL albums...but I had to.
Just wonder who you are calling a dick

I was just messing with Deth. He's my boy. He keeps the metal rollin' on this site.
Is South of Heaven saying Paul and Dave have a love child named Dave Bostaph?

Nah, I was sayin Dave is 2x better than Paul. But Paul is still good.
Christ Illusion is horrible, and weak.

Cool. Too bad it's amazing.


bicepman4000
July 30th 2006



246 Comments


Ah, it's all falling into place now. I agree, Dave edges Paul out, but they are two of my favourite metal drummers. 8 more days...
Shame about the lovechild, woulda been a kickass drummer :-)

south_of_heaven 11
July 30th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shame about the lovechild, woulda been a kickass drummer :-)

Also would've been the ugliest little bastard the world has ever seen...

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2006



17920 Comments


Good review dude.

Bazarov
July 30th 2006



55 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wow, Metallica2007 calm down there.

[QUOTE=]Cool. Too bad it's amazing.[/QUOTE]
Have you even heard any of their pre RIB material?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2006



17920 Comments


I think he's heard all of their albums.

south_of_heaven 11
July 31st 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have you even heard any of their pre RIB material


Slayer is my favorite band. Nothing touches them IMO. So yes, I have. I own all of their albums. Every one of them. 'Show No Mercy' was great, as was 'Haunting the Chapel', but 'Hell Awaits' was good, but not great. It lacked the certain power and aggression that would later be shown on 'RiB'. Check out my review for it on here for my exact thoughts fo sho.

And Metallica2007, if you would've posted something a lot better than 'f*ck you' over and didnt make yourself look like a complete moron on here...we could've been best friends...(sniff sniff)...oh well, I still got chan.This Message Edited On 07.31.06

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2006



17920 Comments


That's right. I'll never leave you even though we have differing opinions on Slayer.

Bazarov
July 31st 2006



55 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well Slayer being my favorite band, I think that their junk of Divine Intervention is horrid, and fails to even compare to the intensity and awesomeness of SNM to Divine. And Hell Awaits being my favorite. It's their most evil and has their best work ever I think. But just wondering. Glad to see another person who sees the greatness that is Slayer. Even though we have differing opinions.

Do you post in the Slayer thread, it's pretty much dead and need more posters.

Once again pretty good review Deththrasher.This Message Edited On 07.31.06

south_of_heaven 11
July 31st 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally thought 'Divine' wasn't as bad as everyone made it out to be. Only problem with it was it seemed like it wanted to be another 'Seasons in the Abyss'. I mean, 'Hell Awaits' was good and all, but it fell flat for me after awhile. Indvidually the tracks were good, (especially the title track...greatnessssss) but as an album it just was 'ok this is cool...' but not 'f*ck yea!'. I'm actually already surprised at the split that people have on 'Christ Illusion'. There's no 'eh, its ok'. Its either you love it or you hate it. I personally love it. But its about damn time I met another big Slayer fan on here...even if our opinions are different, at least I'll have someone to randomly post 'SLAYER!' on peoples lists with...

That's right. I'll never leave you even though we have differing opinions on Slayer.

You spoke straight to my heart...

bicepman4000
July 31st 2006



246 Comments


ahem...
Oh well. Despite having its moments (Killing Fields, Devine Intervention, Serenity in Murder, 213) Devine Intervention is a rather weak Slayer album IMO.
BTW I wrote a review for Soundtrack to the Apocalypse, but Sputnik signed my out or something, so when I hit submit it took me to the sign in screen and I lost it (the review and my temper)!
Does anyone else have this? I assume you would Mr. Heaven?

Dethtrasher
July 31st 2006



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy Sh*t! I didn't knew that this review was that good, most appreciated!

Confessed2005
July 31st 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It was a good review.

'South Of Heaven' - I have heard three tracks off of Christ Illusion and I was just wondering; as you have already heard it, what are the best tracks on the album in your opinion?





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy