Green Day
Warning


4.0
excellent

Review

by Emfanyellobrkrd USER (4 Reviews)
July 29th, 2006 | 15 replies | 1,788 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


Many consider this to be Green Day's worst album. I felt the same way, the first time I listened to this, (I would've given 3/5 then) but after listening to it a few times, I changed my mind. Now I believe Warning, and American Idiot are their two best. Just right now. This may get old or something.

The style used here is completely different from all of their other albums. There is more guitar than ever, (more acoustic than they've ever had too) less bass, and the drumming has gotten more and more boring from every album to the next apparently. Sadly, the drumming only got more boring from here. The worst part is that Mike Dirnt is a great bassist, and Tre Cool is a great drummer, too.

The title track, "Warning", is an obvious message that they've changed, and a pretty good intro. It has something different in guitar, but not too much in drumming, or even bass. After this comes "Blood, Sex, & Booze," which I consider to be one of the best songs on here. I especially like the melody it goes my. This is one of the more unusual songs on here.

A few other straight up different songs are "Castaway," "Misery," "Hold On," "Waiting," and "Minority." "Castaway" seems sort of like a type of pop-song, and is just different. "Misery" has foreign sounding music,some of the style of "Hitchin' A Ride," and all kinds of instruments that are unusual for Green Day. It's also longer than all of the other songs on here, at about five minutes. "Hold On" is another pop-type song, and has some harmonica to it, while "Waiting" has the same beat as Downtown. Minority is good, with a nice chorus.

A small amount, including "Jackass," "Deadbeat Holiday," "Church On Sunday," and "Fashion Victim" actually sound just a little like some of their old stuff. "Macy's Day Parade" seems like a sequal to "Time Of Your Life," and a prequal to "Wake Me Up When September Ends." It's a slow song, and I think it resembles it's own sequal more than the one it came after.

I still fail to understand the dislike that some people have towards this album. I don' think any album featuring as many good songs as this one can be bad. A few are plain, but still good, and a few are also great, and/or unusual. To justify this, read this:

Reccomended tracks: #1 10. Waiting - It barely beats Blood, Sex, And Booze.
5/5

#2 2. Blood, Sex, And Booze 5/5

#3 12. Macy's Day Parade 5/5

#4 6. Misery 5/5

#5 8. Hold On - Some say it's a bad song, but I kind of like it. 5/5


user ratings (1354)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Emfanyellobrkrd
July 29th 2006



120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, I didn't realize how short this is!^ Oh well this was kind of an experiment to decide how to make my reviews... It is a tbt almost, but then it isn't...This Message Edited On 07.29.06

The Sludge
July 29th 2006



2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Church On Sunday is one of the more solid tracks for me on here. Well its wise to work on length, you are improving a little by little with each review.
What helps me is opening wordpad and widening it to the length of the page, then type it out like a normal review, so I can get a view on how my review would look.
Also maybe (just a suggestion), first your intro/bio, then write a paragraph on the instrumentals, then a paragraph on the vocals/lyrics, then a paragraph on the overal tracks, then a sum-it-up- paragraph for the end.

Emfanyellobrkrd
July 29th 2006



120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. I don't know. I should've mentioned Minority. I actually do like Church On Sunday but when I typed this, I djdn't like it much. now I do. I think I'll edit some stuff...This Message Edited On 07.29.06

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2006



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this album.

francesfarmer
July 29th 2006



1477 Comments


This is my second favorite GD album. I liked the way they departed from their roots, but at the same time kept alot of their original principles. This is a great record I think, second only to Kerplunk.

The Sludge
July 29th 2006



2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its wise to get a formula before you go into writing a review. Just spend more time writing your paragraphs, they just seem small.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2006



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, what Sludge is saying. Just add a little more to your paragraphs, and you'll be fine.

711
July 29th 2006



1342 Comments


Hmm... I dont have this album yet. I own all the other Green Day CD's since Dookie, except this. I dont think I want it too much :-/

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2006



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Such a bad album. Hold On may be the worse song I've ever heard behind Ask Me Anything.

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

sid121
August 2nd 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Church on Sunday is the only track that really stands out for me.

La Revolucion
August 2nd 2006



1060 Comments


Nothing great, but there's some good stuff on here. Okay review.

PUNKrockMETALscreamo
August 2nd 2006



35 Comments


Too bad they don't sell this album in th Philippines.

PUNKrockMETALscreamo
August 2nd 2006



35 Comments


I heard the song warning and I loved it

Emfanyellobrkrd
August 2nd 2006



120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks.

That is sad/interesting, but I wouldn't know.(at PUNKrock...)

Edit: Warning's good, but I think Blood, Sex, & Booze kind of owns it. Man you gotta' hear it. Sorry if you haven't.This Message Edited On 08.02.06

herb2
November 6th 2006



31 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

back in 2000 this was one of the most anticipated releases of the year,when it came out i was sadly disappointed. i can respect that they matured and thats what artists do but i just cant listen to this album (at least its better than American Idiot)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy