David Bowie
Space Oddity


4.0
excellent

Review

by sadisticmonkey USER (8 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 11 replies | 5,689 views


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist


David Bowie's second album was the first to include a chart topping hit. The title track was released as a single and let the world know of what this man was capable of. Although this album only contained the one REALLY memorable song. Its hardly a reason to overlook this amazing jem of an album.

Space Oddity - 10/10
Here is where it practically started for David Bowie. The soft fade-in from nowhere intro, to the banging psychadelic breaks to the folk inspired chorus, this song offers it all to the listener. This song was written based loosely around the story '2001: A Space Odyssey". Outstanding song to jump start the career of one of the greatest rock artists.

Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed - 9/10
This song starts off seeming like its going to be a tragic soft love song, but quickly changes its pace and kicks off into an amazing rock and roll song with an 'In Your Face' sense to it. Good guitar to be heard in this track.

Don't Sit Down - 5/10
Not really a full song... a 30 second song that cuts off like an Outtake or blooper. Charming nonetheless.

Letter To Hermione - 8/10
A very cleverly written love song full of amazing imagery. Pretty much a song about a man writing a letter to his lover. Very gentle song with plenty of good guitar picking.

Cygnet Committee - 7.5/10
The longest song on the album (closing in on 10 minutes). This song has some of the best lyrics from this bowie record. A very haunting song that changes pace once and a while. Sort of drags on a bit, but its still a decent track.

Janine - 9/10
One of the more upbeat songs on the album. An upbeat love song that has some really cool guitar effects. I can't imagine how this wasn't a hit single. Or a single at all.

An Occasional Dream - 7/10
Regardless of sharing his name with Davy Jones (From The Monkees) This is is the cheesiest song on the LP. It sounds like a cheeseball Monkees love song. Still not a bad little song, but the pan flute gets a little annoying. Not a song to play for your friends. Listen to this alone.

Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud - 8/10
Sounds very much like a fairytale adventure song. The lyrics speak of a tale of a madman of some sort. Very Disney feel to this song.

God Knows Im Good 8/10
One of the better songs on the album. An upbeat acoustic song about god watching over you and everything you do. Good, bad...he's watching you. Very cool moral to the story. This song has sort of a Latin/Spanish guitar feel to it. Very nice song.

Memory Of A Free Festival - 8.5/10
Another story to be told. This song seems to be played on an electric organ for the most part. The body of the song is really kind of slow and seems to drag on. Sounds allot like a church hymn. But the ending of the song is SUPERB! One of the best sing-a-long with the crowd song endings I've heard (Sorta like a beatles, All you need is love, Hey Jude, song). The album ends on a positive note with the repeating (sing-a-long).

"The Sun Machine is Coming Down, and We're Gonna Have a Party"

Reviewers Picks
Space Oddity
Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
Janine
Memory Of A Free Festival

Overall Rating - 8.5/10

Not Bowie's greatest album...But not his worst, by far... It was a great start to an amazing career

Musicians
David Bowie: vocals, guitar, stylophone
Rick Wakeman: keyboards
Terry Cox: drums
Tim Renwick: guitar
Keith Christmas: guitar
Mick Wayne: guitar
Tony Visconti: bass, flute, recorder
Herbie Flowers: bass
Benny Marshall and Friends: harmonica
Paul Buckmaster: cello



Recent reviews by this author
Modest Mouse Everywhere And His Nasty Parlour TricksFleetwood Mac Rumours
Bob Dylan DesireDavid Bowie The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust...
David Bowie Diamond DogsDavid Bowie The Man Who Sold the World
user ratings (402)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Despite the claims of a certain Major Tom, this spaceship didn’t really know which way to go…...


Comments:Add a Comment 
weatherman123
August 11th 2004



11 Comments


solid review
i agree with it all

Dimes Make Dollars
August 11th 2004



241 Comments


I'm definitely interested. I love David Bowie but all I've heard on this album is the title track, since critics tend to be really unkind to the rest. Good review.

sadisticmonkey
August 11th 2004



107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was his second album (his first being the self titled effort on the Deram label, which was only a meger success). This is what I would consider his first REAL album (heard worldwide).

When you say that all you've heard is the title track. Thats all most music listeners have heard from this LP.

I don't recommend this album to start your Bowie collection if thats what people intend on doing.

If you want to start with real smash hit Bowie, do it with "The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars" As thats when he started to hit Rock stardom at its highest.

Space Oddity is a great album regardless of my suggestion, check it out if you have about $20 ($U.S) to burn. :lol:

Vietnow
August 14th 2004



39 Comments


The Title Track alone is worth The 20 Dollers. That being because it is such a great song.
Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed is another good one.

Sok98
March 3rd 2005



36 Comments


^^^ I agree completly. Space Oddity, the song, is probably my favorate bowie track. Also were do you people buy your cds?!?!?! I bought this album for 12$ Canadian!

bolanzip
December 25th 2005



4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey t was realesed in 1969.

Sepstrup
July 24th 2006



1563 Comments


Allmusic doesn't say so. Which is strange.

JesusV4
June 1st 2010



391 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I really can't agree with this review. This is one of the best albums ever. I wish Bowie's other albums (which I like, but still) were of this caliber. Album is a classic, period, the whole way through!

AnotherBrick
July 13th 2010



9766 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D67kmFzSh_o lol

Jarvig
April 14th 2011



168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, but nothing special. The gold is in the next (many) albums.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy