The Appleseed Cast
Peregrine


3.0
good

Review

by Adam Turner-Heffer USER (38 Reviews)
June 18th, 2006 | 24 replies | 7,444 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

For years now, The Appleseed Cast has been at the forefront of bands that are keeping Emo alive and well, (and away from the common misconceptions that are spread around now a days.) Their tactics? Colliding the conventions of Emo music with summery upbeat sounds and a healthy dose of post-rock. But, partly due to their persistence in independent record labels, they�re still to have really made an impact. With this album, they hope to change all of that.

And, at first, it looks very much like that will be easily achievable. The wonderfully dramatic instrumental track �Ceremony� kicks things off brilliantly; the whole drive and multi-layered sounds of the affair make it feel very enjoyable indeed. And it continues, right into the fantastic punk pop of �Woodland Hunter (Part I)� and the charming pop melodies of �Here We Are (Family in the Hallways)�; an ode to Appleseed�s earlier sound. Unfortunately though, that�s about as good as it gets.

After that, the whole thing just loses pace. That�s not to say the rest of the album is bad, it�s just a bit of a let down from the opening three tracks and what Appleseed Cast are capable of. The rest of the album is full of pleasant indie pop songs, but that�s all there is to it. It just feels very flat, and unfocused.

When I first heard Appleseed Cast, I listened to the previous album, �Lost Songs� and was blown away. For me, that album is the perfect mix of Emo, Post-Rock and Pop that they could have tried to make, (and ironically, it�s not a full album). The main reason, is because it�s all killer, no filler; something this album is incredibly guilty of. Yeah, there�s nice moments to have here in �Silas�s Knife� and �Song 3�, but it�s not really until the very end that the album picks up pace again, and for a 55 minute album, having 20 minutes of average material slap bang in the middle doesn�t do Appleseed Cast any favours. Finale �The Clock and the Storm� is equally dramatic to its introducing counterpart, but its effect is softened by how long it takes to get there.

So it would be safe to say that this is a bit of a disappointment. Compared to earlier work, this lacks the punch that made Appleseed so well respected and loved in the first place. I�ve desperately tried to see if this album improves with age. But sadly, the result still stays the same; Quantity over Quality.



Recent reviews by this author
British Sea Power Do You Like Rock Music?November Coming Fire Dungeness
Interpol Turn on the Bright LightsGodspeed You! Black Emperor Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas...
AVAST! FaultlinesFucked Up Hidden World
user ratings (132)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
team_racket
June 18th 2006



13 Comments


iam yet to listen to this, but i own mare vitalis and both low level owls. to be honest from reading your review, i think those records i mentioned were similar in the way to this one in that they have some incredible songs and some pretty boring ones on each release imo. when this band is good, they are absolutely beautiful.

all in all good review.

Justanothernimrod
June 18th 2006



478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, they've really made a bad album but none are absolutely amazing.

Well, except for "Lost Songs" IMO but that's not a full album.

They are amazing live though, saw them on tuesday and made this ablum sound much better than it does on record.

Dimes Make Dollars
June 18th 2006



241 Comments


Not a bad album. Not as good as Mare Vitalis but that'd be pretty hard to top.

Decent review but it could have been a little longer and more in depth.

Justanothernimrod
June 18th 2006



478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah I know, but this album didn't really motivate me to write anymore than I have here, (which shows how average it is for Appleseed).

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 18th 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album isn't as good as their other ones but it'd decent.

[quote=idiot]The Appleseed Cast has been at the forefront of bands that are keeping Emo alive and well[/quote]

mmmmmmmmmmmNO

mx
Moderator
June 18th 2006



733 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Average album, some good songs, some not so good

Anarquis
July 20th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

By far my favorite album of this year. The Appleseed Cast, besides being one of the finest tuned machines in indie, are fantastic song writers. The songs blend together perfectly and this album could very well be a 50 song album and I would love every second of it.

Justanothernimrod
September 15th 2006



478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And I quite obviously mean the "Sunny Day Real Estate"/"Fugazi" line of Emo.

elgaberino
December 4th 2007



8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, appreciate your opinion, humbly don't agree with the 3.0. Deserves higher. It's not as boring as you say unless you don't like atmospheric post-rock. Sets a mood well. If you don't like atmospheric post-rock, then I don't understand why you're reviewing this album anyway. But yeah, good stuff overall.

cbmartinez
December 4th 2007



2525 Comments


I think this is their best album personally, I think I'll review it.

astrel
December 4th 2007



2614 Comments


I tried to give this band a chance, but I just don't like em. There is no way in hell they are "at the forefront of bands that are keeping Emo alive and well".

elgaberino
December 6th 2007



8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so I'm wondering which Emo bands DFelon and astrel would say ARE "at the forefront of bands that are keeping Emo..." etc.

(Honest question. IMHO, emo is a frustrating genre descriptor because so many people have different definitions of it. Some say Hoobastank is emo, others Fugazi etc., others Bright Eyes, and I've even heard people argue Counting Crows would fit because Adam Duritz's voice is so notoriously emotive. But all those bands do NOT belong in the same genre.)

cbmartinez
December 6th 2007



2525 Comments


http://www.fourfa.com

xNintendoCorex
March 18th 2009



1272 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i quite enjoyed this, feels a bit more complete than mare vitalis, though it lacks some of the beauty hmmmm

Smokewarner
June 24th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmm, I really enjoy this one maybe even more then the low level owls

KevinKC
April 30th 2011



181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First time I hear anything from this band, I'm blown away. "February" drives me so enthusiastic I feel like I'm 10 years old. I had not been that addicted to a song for years.

ConsiderPhlebas
April 30th 2011



6157 Comments


Their discog is pretty solid. February is great.

minty901
January 22nd 2012



1962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

easily their best album for me. i love the long, introspective feel of the low level owls, but i have to be in a certain mood for them. this has the best balance of intelligent experimentation and catchy hooks. i can listen to it at any time. might review it

StagnantWords
July 30th 2012



318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is easily their best album, just slightly over two conversations though

minty901
July 31st 2012



1962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love the youthful vocal style in two conversations, but the first half is kind of boring, song-wise. second half is awesome. peregrine is consistently fantastic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy