The Doors
The Doors


5.0
classic

Review

by Kingadamx USER (18 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 382 replies | 36,728 views


Release Date: 1967 | Tracklist


9 of 10 thought this review was well written

This is the debut album of one of the most important rock and roll bands of all time which was released in 1967. This album in my opinion is The Doors strongest album. This album has everything on it from German Opera (Whiskey Bar) to Chicago Blues (Back Door Man). I couldn't see any fan of rock music disliking this album. This album features their epic hit The End as well as Light My Fire and Twentieth Century Fox. If you want to start listening to The Doors or even if you want to start listening to Classic Rock start here. I could type pages and pages explaining about how good I think this album is but you really need to listen to it for yourself, but I will give a track by track review of one of my favorite albums of all time.

1. Break On Through (To The Other Side) - This is a Doors classic, One of their most fast paced songs. This features some great guitar work during the chorus. The Keyboard solo is just so recognizable as on most Doors songs. I'm sure most of you have heard this song so I'll just move on.
Rating: 5/5

2. Soul Kitchen - The song starts out with a great rhythm from the keyboard and moves on to a heavy chorus with Morrison yelling. The guitar solo is very smooth and mellow, it flows nicely with the song. One of the softer songs on the album.
Rating: 4.5/5

3. The Crystal Ship - This is a very slow song with a classical piano background that features some great lyrics. This song features Morrison reciting some great poetry and the mood of the song is very sleepy feeling. This song almost makes you drift off to sleep.
Rating: 4.5/5

4. Twentieth Century Fox - Once you start to feel sleepy after listening to The Crystal Ship the album picks up on this bluesy track. The Guitar solo is very nice and the Keyboard backgrounds, as always, flow great with the song.
Rating: 4/5

5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) - This song is based off of a German Opera. The lyrics aren't very deep but they are classic none the less. The keyboard fills at the end of the verses give off a very eerie tone to the song. Forget "One Bourbon, One Scotch, and One Beer", this is an ode to alcoholics everywhere.
Rating: 4/5

6. Light My Fire - This is probably The Doors' most famous song ever. It starts off with a menacing keyboard solo and settles into a slow rhythm as Morrison sings. Everytime I hear this song it always reminds me of on the movie The Doors when Jim Morrison refuses to say "Girl we couldn't get much better", but says "Girl we couldn't get much higher" on Live Television. The Interlude is the best part of the song. The Keyboard and Guitar solos are just so psychedelic and amazing. This is a Psychedelic masterpiece.
Rating: 5/5

7. Back Door Man - A Willie Dixon cover that features some greatblues playing by the band. The Song begins with Morrison making strange noises and howling. The Guitar solo is just as standard as the song is for Blues. Nonetheless a Great Song Overall.
Rating: 4/5

8. I Looked At You - This song has a really great rhythm. It features a great organ solo by Manzarek. This is a great rock and roll song, Not one of my favorites on the album.
Rating: 3.5/5

9. End of The Night - This song is very out there and psychedelic. The Guitar has a tremolo effect that makes it feel very spacy. The Guitar solo is played with a slide which adds great to the song. Right as you com out of the guitar solo the band bursts one more time as Morrison screams. The lyrics aren't the best in this song but they are far from bad.
Rating: 4/5

10. Take it as It Comes - The Organ solos in this song are just amazing and flow so well with the song. The Chorus is very powerful and hits you hard everytime it comes , "Take it Easy Baby/Take it as it comes". This is a great Hard Rocker.
Rating: 4/5

11. The End - The Final Song on The Album and maybe one of their most famed songs ever. The Guitar part in this song sounds very Middle-Eastern. You can barely hear the organ in this song but it is better because an overbearing organ wouldn't really fit with the mood of the song. Morrison's lyrics may be the strongest in this song out of his career. This is the song that got The Doors banned from the whiskey a go go, The part in the song where he says "Father yes son I want to kill you/Mother I want to f**k you". This song is a definition of Psychedelia, It is an amazing song.
Rating: 5/5

I hope that my review was of help to some of you. I couldn't see an Album collection without this album. If you haven't heard this album or haven't heard much of the Doors then buy this album. Don't waste your time with The Best of The Doors or Their Legacy collection, Buy this album!!!



Recent reviews by this author
Radiohead COM LAG (2plus2isfive)Radiohead My Iron Lung
Radiohead I Might Be Wrong: Live RecordingsJohn Coltrane Giant Steps
Miles Davis Sketches of SpainThe Mothers of Invention Weasels Ripped My Flesh
user ratings (1488)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
pixiesfanyo
July 27th 2004



1222 Comments


The Doors are untouchable.

Crystal Ship should get a 5 since it is amazing though.

Nice review The End is one of my favorites also

keep on phishin'
July 27th 2004



71 Comments


great review :thumb:

favorite song on here is the end

Rock'n roll
July 28th 2004



9 Comments


Great album and good review.

Rock'n roll
July 28th 2004



9 Comments


I like Break on through(to the otherside), Light my fire, Back doorman, Soul kitchen, Crystal ship, Twentieth century fox, and The End.

Rock'n roll
July 28th 2004



9 Comments


Love this album.

mexicanfloydian
July 28th 2004



165 Comments


This album is excellent. Great review
My fav song is the end, my only friend the end. I think it's my fav doors song.

BlackDeathMetalJazz or really ANYTHING else please-
July 30th 2004



200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Doors (self titled)

[IMG]http://services.windowsmedia.com/cover/200/drf500/f555/f55521xbhar.jpg[/IMG]

1. Break on Through (To the Other Side)
2. Soul Kitchen
3. The Crystal Ship
4. Twentieth Century Fox
5. Alabama Song (Whiskey Bar)
6. Light My Fire
7. Back Door Man
8. I Looked at You
9. End of the Night
10. Take It as It Comes
11. The End

1.Break on Through (To the Other Side) ushered in by John Densmore's jazz drum play, quickly followed by Robbie Kreiger's heavy bossa nova style blues riff. Jim Morrison then appears for the first time with the immortal Blake-ian lines: You know the day destroys the night/Night divides the day/Tried to run/Tried to hide/Break on through to the other side. Ray Manzarek takes up the solo with his signature Vox organ, playing some splendid latin jazz lines soaked in reverb. Classic.55

2.Soul Kitchen This bluesy songs is about a restaurant called Olivia's that Jim frequented. Features great organ and guitar.45

3.The Crystal Ship If this isn't beautiful, nothing is. It really shows the softer, more emotional side of Jim's voice, and the guitar playing is gorgeous, not to mention the lyrics.55

4.Twentieth Century Fox Great, upbeat guitar-oriented shuffle. Shows more of a 'pop' side to the band but the weakest track on the album35

5. Alabama Song (Whiskey Bar) is a kinda incongruous but intersesting cover of the Brecht & Weill song. Manzarek uses a little keyboard device called a Marxophone on it which makes the whole sound even stranger and distant. Great song 55

6.Ah yes, their biggest single ever. The instrumental break is fascinating. An anthem for the Summer Of Love. It's the full version, with Manzarek and Kreiger's interweaving baroque meets Iberian meets blues soloing. Absolutely essential! Note that Robby Kreiger wrote as well. 55

7 Back Door Man is another cover of a Willie Dixon. Excellent blues tune. Jim's trademark grunts and growls really add to the excitement. Gets very intense and ferocious at the end.55

8. Looked at You is a brief little ditty with a charming, carnival-style hook 35

9. End of the Night is one of those very eerie, dark, haunting, Doors songs that I cannot get enough of. In this song, you are "taking a journey to the bright midnight." Jim's dark, brooding voice with those spooky keyboards are amazing! 55

10. Take It as It Comes is another example of Manzarek's baroque leanings, and is a faster paced song.45

11. The End is probably the greatest song ever Lyrically. Musically, it's not all that memorable, other than a creepy guitar line from Robby. Contains a brief section that talks about the Greek legend of Oedipus, who murdered his father and married his mother. Originally, this was a simple song about faded love. But as they played it more and more, Jim turned it into an ode to death.
This is the best song on the album.105

Overall this album changed the way I look at music forever. Its my favorite album.This is absolute essential to any rock collection. 55 :thumb:

Bartender
Emeritus
July 30th 2004



826 Comments


Sorry Scyhma, review already done. Threads merged.

ShineOnYouCrazyDiamond
July 31st 2004



22 Comments


good review, awesome album

MxShredder
March 6th 2005



58 Comments


. Light My Fire - This is probably The Doors' most famous song ever. It starts off with a menacing keyboard solo and settles into a slow rhythm as Morrison sings.


Menacing :lol:? It's one of the happiest, poppiest melodies I've ever heard. I mean that in a good way.

masada
July 4th 2005



2733 Comments


This is one of the greatest albums ever recorded. I just listened to this for the first time in awhile, and I'm just blown away by how amazing it is...

HardKore
March 28th 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Come on baby light my fire... do dooo dododo
Really good album

freebird1
March 28th 2006



2 Comments


dude i just got back from mexico and they are selling doors greatest hits cd's for like 50 cents by americans standards....there is something wrong with all this...they deserve better than that!!!

freebird1
March 28th 2006



2 Comments


oh yeah..and great review...yeah im pretty sure we all heard of "break on through.." but i still wish u talked about it...

Med57
Moderator
March 28th 2006



1001 Comments


I love The End so much. I probably got hooked on it as a song when I saw Apocalypse Now for the first time, but it's always overshadowed everything else that The Doors have done in my opinion, since it's that good. That being said, this would be a very good album in its own right. Probably their best in my opinion

init tho
April 3rd 2006



12 Comments


crystal ship, nang song, ffaveourit doors songs crystal ship and the end both on this album so you know its gonna be good right

Kurtis Cobainis
April 17th 2006



58 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First off the doors ROCK and Jim Morrison was one talented S.O.B.
Second if anyone here has ever used a "happy plant" try using it while listening to the end.

ForWhatItsWorth
April 30th 2006



97 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love The End...very mellow and "different" to listen to. "father? yes son? I want to kill you...mother I want to [SCREAMMMM]"....hmmm?...that part kind of freaked me out a bit...but its the best part of the song.


...this is the end...;)

startman
May 9th 2006



4 Comments


the doors best band eva!!!!!!

startman
May 9th 2006



4 Comments







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy