Megadeth
Peace Sells... but Who's Buying?


4.5
superb

Review

by ubercow USER (1 Reviews)
June 14th, 2006 | 18 replies | 2,315 views


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist


2 of 3 thought this review was well written

Ok, this being my first review, I'm gonna try and do my best. As you all know, this is Megadeth's first big album, and one of their best. The lineup is Dave Mustaine - Lead/Rhythm Guitar and Vocals, Chris Poland - Lead/Rhythm Guitar, David Ellefson - Bass, Gar Samuelson - Drums.

Wake Up Dead - This is a great song to kick off the album. Its heavy throughout the whole song, and has alot of riffs. The solo's are kick ass! Theres not much lyrics, but it is still a great song. 4/5

The Conjuring - This is another great song! It starts off kinda slow, with Dave sounding like some devil. Then about 55 secs through, it starts picking up the pace, and goes into a solo. Shortly after, it goes into a verse. Throughout the song, it will change tempos, which makes it interesting, yet awesome! And then ends with a solo. This is an awesome song that shouldnt be overlooked! 4.5/5

Peace Sells - You all know it, and love it! Starts off with some bass and short guitar solo, then goes into a great riff. The lyrics are kinda rebelious, but you gotta love 'em. Throught the second verse, Chris does some fill solos, which make it all worthwhile. Then ends with yet another great solo. Definitely a classic that everyone all knows and loves. Check it out for sure! 5/5

Devil's Island - The is another one of my favs. About 10 secs through, it goes into some awesome tapping by Dave! I love the bass in the song! This is one of those songs that gets stuck in my head, but I don't care, cause it rocks. Not much else to say, other than it rocks! 5/5

Good Mourning/Black Friday - This is a song that is split into 2 parts. The first, Good Mourning, is a pretty cool. The solo is awesome, and has a cool vibe. And then Black Friday kicks into gear, and gets your adrenaline pumping! A definent head bang song! 4.5/5

Bad Omen - It starts of with and eerie riff, kinda like looking down the cross off of K.I.M.B. But shortly after, goes into yet, another cool riff. I don't have much to say about this song, other than you gotta listen to it. 4/5

I Ain't Superstitious - This is the cover song of the album. You can obviously tell, because the style of the song is completely different(Not thrash at ALL). This is probably the worst part of the album, but I guess it's worth listening to a few times. 3.5/5

My Last Words - The last song on the album, and a great song to end it with, also. Some great bass playing by Ellefson, which is the best part of the song. The guitar playing is pretty good too, but i think that Dave did a great job on the bass. 4/5

I hope the review helped you. Please comment.


user ratings (2634)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
south_of_heaven 11
June 14th 2006



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not that bad of a first review, but add a bit more to the intro and something of a conclusion.
As for the album, love it.

Dethtrasher
June 14th 2006



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very good first reivew, good track-rating but I think that you should add a bit more info about the song structures. But you have my vote on this one. One of Megadeth's greatest work but R.I.P is my own #1 favorite Megadeth album.This Message Edited On 06.14.06

WeezerTool523
June 14th 2006



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, I disagree with what you rated most of the tracks though.

Confessed2005
June 14th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review for your first - just add some more detail and structure to your reviews and you will be away. This is my third favourite Megadeth album, behind RIP and CTE.

WeezerTool523
June 14th 2006



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Another thing, get into more detail of the sound of the album. Most of the album is very dark, and you didn't say that anywhere. I believe that describing the sound is very important to a good review.

lord of the strings
June 14th 2006



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review, but everyone esle beat to what i reccomend, good album to do too.

met65
June 14th 2006



105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

good review, ubercow. Keep em coming.

victim of changes
June 14th 2006



42 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good job on your first review, amazing album, listening to The Conjuring now.

jaredrl
June 14th 2006



99 Comments


I've only heard peace sells of this. I should pick this up. Megadeth are my fav fromthe big 4.

metallicaman8
June 14th 2006



4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review. Perhaps in the future try and use some bigger words to describe songs, tremendous, splendid, superb it makes you seem more like a professional.

Mikesn
Emeritus
June 14th 2006



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Good for a first try.

Another thing to mention for next time would be the lyrics. Are they dark, silly, happy, well written etc etc.

123sam456
June 14th 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To me this is Megadeth's best album to date, the riffs, the solos, its just pure legend.


Also, listen to the start of metallica's call of Ktulu and Good Mourning/Black Friday, you dont have to be a genoius to work out who wrote them riffs.

met65
June 14th 2006



105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It would be good to listen to metallicaman8, ubercow.

riggstamortisss
June 15th 2006



4 Comments


it is apparent that you have no skill whatsoever when it comes to writing reviews...try to incorperate other comments that a reader may find beneficial rather than "there is a solo here and here" or "great song try listening to it." anyone who has dubbed your review as a first good attempt is clearly lying or being incredibly sarcastic...in which case, nice workThis Message Edited On 06.15.06

met65
June 19th 2006



105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

dude, it's his first review. take it easy, riggstamortissThis Message Edited On 06.19.06

metallicaman8
June 19th 2006



4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"it is apparent that you have no skill whatsoever when it comes to writing reviews...try to incorperate other comments that a reader may find beneficial rather than "there is a solo here and here" or "great song try listening to it." anyone who has dubbed your review as a first good attempt is clearly lying or being incredibly sarcastic...in which case, nice work"

Dude don't be an ass. It was his first review and a good attempt. He'll get better as time goes on. My first review was nothing spectacular but I've gotten better and now people seem to enjoy my reviews. It just takes time and constructive critisism. You forgot the constructive part.

Mister Mop
September 18th 2006



266 Comments


a pretty good review.......i think you should try to expand a bit more and try to explain the song rather than just saying "The solos rock, and the riffs are really cool"

KILL
August 2nd 2009



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OBEY!!!!!!!!!!

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy