Primus
The Desaturating Seven


2.5
average

Review

by Simon Killip CONTRIBUTOR (144 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2017 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They're at it again.

Primus is at a weird junction in its career; creatively at least, anyway. It would appear Les is beyond making a conventional album these days, preferring to release albums which could be cynically summed up as novelty. Ever since the release of the excellent Green Naugahyde in 2011, any album to come out since has been set around the concept of a children’s book. 2014’s Primus & the Chocolate Factory with the Fungi Ensemble was an enjoyable, yet, equally flawed follow-up, which lacked the core foundations of what made Primus so fun to begin with; being restrained on a creative level due to the very concept it’s trying to sell to its listeners.

The Desaturating Seven follows in the footsteps of its former in a lot of ways, and is yet another frustratingly suppressed listen; loosely based on Ul de Rico’s children’s book The Rainbow Goblins, the record centres round a big chunk of ambience and psychedelic jams, interspersed with actual music. The music itself –when it actually kicks in – lends a lot of ideas from Rush; progressive riffs and the signature Primus bounce. And I’ll be open in saying, these moments are excellent. “The Trek” is one of the strongest numbers here, setting off with a ticking delay, before slipping in layers of spacey effects – delivering the same dank, macabre atmosphere ...Fungi Ensemble brought at times – and then flourishing with the band’s usual, super-tight rhythms and eccentric guitar licks.

The problem: there isn’t enough actual music here to warrant listening to this more than two or three times. At just 7 tracks, it’s over before it has even begun, and with focus being set around ambiance and mood-making (something which is well made here, regardless), songs like “The Scheme”, “The Trek” and “The Storm” just aren’t enough to hold up the glaring flaws. I’ll give Primus their credit, these concept albums are uniquely different, and if I was basing my opinion entirely around their kooky themes and decent ability at making good soundtrack-esque pieces, then it would get full marks. But I speak for myself, and hopefully others, when I say I listen to Primus for wacky lyrics, crazy musicianship and rhythms. And when The Desaturating Seven offers only a 1/3 of this, it just isn’t enough to look past what this LP ends up being; which is ultimately just another novelty record than a proper album.

Here’s to next time.

Average.

FORMAT: CD//D̶I̶G̶I̶T̶A̶L̶//V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING: DIGI-PAK.

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
The Darkness Pinewood SmileMarilyn Manson Heaven Upside Down
Propagandhi Victory LapProphets of Rage Prophets of Rage
Death From Above Outrage! Is NowQueens of the Stone Age Villains
user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2017


13416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As always, constructive criticism welcome, peeps.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Hiss Spun

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2017


13216 Comments


nice review man. i still dont get primus tho



Digging: Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2017


13416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cheers mort. Yeah, they are an acquired taste for sure. Guess it's the same with me and Enter Shikari. haha



Having said that, their last two albums have been so frustrating; just a blatant lack of material on both of them.

Ovrot
October 2nd 2017


13047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

disappointing album to be sure

Digging: Seikima-II - From Hell with Love

MotokoKusanagi
October 2nd 2017


961 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah this is pretty lame, big Primus fan but no desire to listen to this more than once. there are some cool bass licks as expected but nothing really captivating

Digging: Les Baxter - Jewels of the Sea

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2017


5223 Comments


you're on a hot streak, gonzo.. Great work as always.. I've got a friend who plays primus in his bar constantly to everyone's frustration.. I'm going to see what he has to say about this.. Claypool has always been a better musician than he was a songwriter to me..

Digging: King Krule - The OOZ

neekafat
October 2nd 2017


4892 Comments


Great review man, that's a shame, making my way through them now and it'll be sad to end on a low note

Dctarga
October 2nd 2017


1053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review is perfect honestly, I read it before I listened and yeah it's pretty much a novelty movie soundtrack or something. Which as you said, it does excel at it at least.



One thing I want to point out is that Les' bass tone here is killer, but yeah I kind of expected more I suppose. Still enjoy it though

grannypantys
October 2nd 2017


1304 Comments


Does the album contain the spoken word sections before each song or is that just the Youtube versions?

widowslaugh123
October 2nd 2017


686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As someone who never heard a primus album before I really dug this record.

wham49
October 2nd 2017


3546 Comments


well that sucks

Dctarga
October 2nd 2017


1053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@granny



That was just the first song iirc. Which is good because it was really unesserary. I get the idea that they want to introduce the concept I guess, but "The Seven" does that just fine without any spoken word.

PostMesmeric
October 2nd 2017


696 Comments


I'll review this to continue the discog review series. Still need some time to cook on my own verdict. Interesting to hear this didn't impress you, Gonzo.

MrSu
October 2nd 2017


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is fandoodletastic!

fps
October 2nd 2017


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love the album, but it's not gonna come to you, you've gotta go to it. It is not a funk-metal album, it's a strange little story, beautifully told. I really enjoy its whimsicality and change of pace.

TheSonomaDude
October 2nd 2017


5450 Comments


from what i've heard this album is pretty awesome, was hoping this be in my top 5 of the year...

TheWalkinDude
October 2nd 2017


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to wait for this to grow on me, but it is definitely very sparse

Digging: Opeth - My Arms, Your Hearse

Dewinged
October 2nd 2017


5715 Comments


Aawww too bad. Good review Gonzoman.

I will still give it a shot and see what they have on stock, but I don't expect much at this point.

Digging: Spotlights - Seismic

ArsMoriendi
October 2nd 2017


21681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I quite liked this

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

ArsMoriendi
October 2nd 2017


21681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Way better than that Chocolate Factory crap



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy