Geotic
Neptune


2.5
average

Review

by Dean R CONTRIBUTOR (52 Reviews)
September 29th, 2017 | 15 replies


Release Date: 04/01/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A lifeless blue haze that trudges on and on in cold indifference

I sort of forgot I was listening to Neptune the first time I heard it. Granted, I was reading at the time, so it’s not like I was giving it my full attention anyway, but even if I had I don’t think it would of made much difference; Neptune is just sort of there, a lifeless blue haze that trudges on and on in cold indifference. Now, as ambient goes that’s nothing new – it is, after all, the genre known for its wide open spaces of musical nothingness – but this is still annoyingly washed out for Geotic. For someone so capable of painting colourful musical palettes I have to wonder why he bothered making this limp gruel; I mean, if he was trying to create a sort of space-scape where Neptune the planet is turned into Neptune the album he has succeeded, but why would you want to do that in the first place? 40 minutes of bland drifting tones may sum up the planet well, but it doesn’t make for compelling listening.



Recent reviews by this author
SeeYouSpaceCowboy... Fashion Statements of the Socially AwareUnsane Sterilize
Geotic Duchenne SmileDizzee Rascal Raskit
Yowie SynchromysticismDuster Contemporary Movement
user ratings (3)
Chart.
2.7
average
related reviews

Duchenne Smile

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

another very short mort. review because im lazy and hate long reviews





Digging: Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven

nocuffin
September 29th 2017


1815 Comments


mortimus can you review me, your loving sach?

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

8/10. good taste and friendly SOMETIMES but pretentious as fuck SOMETIMES and prone to being a noggin



all in all, a splendid individual in terms of this site and the bad music it perpetually propagates due to the legions of small american teenagers who dwell here



Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and oh boy this is my 50th review



oh wow what a milestone for me oooh boy

nocuffin
September 29th 2017


1815 Comments


congratulations young mortimus
may your next 50 be even better
i see a staff tag in your future
as for my review thank you very much
it is perhaps a bit too kind and a bit too focused on the person i am rather than the person i wish i were, but it is filled with a kind of honesty endlessly alluring
POS

Lucid
September 29th 2017


8570 Comments


afraid to check anything before abysma bc i love it too much

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


18986 Comments


review me too
also nice lil soundoff, your choice of comparing this to a washed out blue is intriguing.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks sach and con



con gets an 8/10 as well. very friendly and always willing to give helpful feedback, however, a bit too concerned with emo revival for my liking : )

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


18986 Comments


true but you gotta admit I've given ya some tasty recs from that genre (;

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jank mainly but yeah





Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


18986 Comments


:D D:

Toad
September 29th 2017


1254 Comments


Review yourself next review yourself next

Digging: Remember - ?????????

Sinternet
September 29th 2017


14617 Comments


solid soundoff

Digging: Circa Survive - The Amulet

SteakByrnes
September 29th 2017


4020 Comments


I like the choice of words like "limp gruel"

Digging: Novelists - Noir

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2017


13216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5





Thank you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy