Basic Channel
Quadrant Dub


5.0
classic

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2017 | 26 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fine dust clouds of exploded music

Quadrant Dub is a hypnotically hulking slab of classic techno, to put it simply. I’ve no intention of prettying things up to seem “deep” or “informed” because simply enough, it wouldn’t work. I could fill an entire page with the most pretentious pseudo-intellectual book-wormy purple prose this side of an Ivy League English major’s essay and it still wouldn’t do the quintessential Basic Channel 12” proper. I can’t go on about how it changed my life or caused me to have some sort of divine revelation because, truth be told, it didn’t. To put how I feel about Quadrant Dub in words without coming across as incredibly clumsy or without cheapening my passion for the record itself is daunting, a monstrous task for an equally monolithic piece of art – Quadrant Dub spends thirty-seven minutes taking you and I on the most sensual journey one could ever have without ever leaving the comfort of your seat; yet the soothingly lush beat that tracks both cuts on Dub and brings it along its merry way urges you to tap your foot, daring you to even immerse yourself into the rhythm, an almost hazy groove that compliments the gliding melodies that traverse in and out of the massive techno classics. To put it simply, Quadrant Dub is one of the quintessential works of the techno genre and of the 1990s in general.



Recent reviews by this author
Destroyer KenHarumi Harumi
Todd Rundgren The Ballad of Todd RundgrenLCD Soundsystem American Dream
Lilys Eccsame The Photon BandTodd Rundgren Runt
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Supercoolguy64 (4)
Music for a cold night...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's free real estate



Quadrant Dub https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mlI0xqbIqD4

Ryus
September 22nd 2017


15422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the goat

Digging: King Krule - The OOZ

SandwichBubble
September 22nd 2017


4499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enforcement is, but this is close

Digging: Experimental Products - Prototype

Chortles
September 22nd 2017


20739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeSS

Digging: DJ Rashad - Just A Taste

Relinquished
September 22nd 2017


36457 Comments


fuck yea

nocuffin
September 22nd 2017


1902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

not totally sold on this review tbh (soz fripp brutha -- i'll expand in the morning when i'm a bit more clearheaded) but it's nice to see this getting some love

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

to be honest, this was a total spur of the moment i-really-need-sleep review so whatever needs reworked on this will be done

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so yeah, if it feels like I half-assed it, I'd understand because I pretty much just skimmed through it although I'm not exactly adept with writing about electronic/techno in the first place so there's definitely room for improvement

ShitsofRain
September 22nd 2017


8007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

overrated

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gotta rate it then

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


5280 Comments


this is a great fucking review, Fripp. will listen tonight!

Digging: Scratch Acid - The Greatest Gift

CaptainDooRight
September 22nd 2017


2207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jes



Avagantamos
September 22nd 2017


5894 Comments


crazy that I haven't heard this yet. that's about to change : )

Digging: Dr. Dooom - First Come, First Served

Ryus
September 22nd 2017


15422 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dude what

ShitsofRain
September 22nd 2017


8007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

heh

nocuffin
September 22nd 2017


1902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

tbh agreeable rating

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2017


13225 Comments


"to simply put it straight"

i would just say "to put it simply", otherwise your sorta repeating yourself.

"To simply put it straight, Quadrant Dub is one of the quintessential works of the techno genre and of the 1990s in general."

and obvs id change it there too


but otherwise this a brill little review man, well done

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - Marked For Death

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2017


14180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Tha(n)ks

FullOfSounds
September 23rd 2017


15523 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a beautiful review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy