Ensiferum
Two Paths


2.5
average

Review

by Lord of Pork USER (11 Reviews)
September 15th, 2017 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The path taken is one of disappointing consequence.

It is no secret that Ensiferum have descended in quality, judging from their last two clemently tolerable releases. They feature no honest sounding grandiosity, as the band have seemed to pivot on their trademark sound, without any experimentation. Scattered askew across the graveyard of the once stellar releases from the band are the remnants of the truly epic sound extricated, in a rather depressing fashion. So, it seemed the band had two paths, one of experimentation, and the other being one of stagnation. It is not onerous to cognise which path was taken, very promptly.

The band display their ability to fabricate riffs which could be found on a classic Ensiferum album such as 'Victory Songs' on some of the superlative songs, such as 'King of Storms'. Yet, there are only a few of these songs on the album, and come far from being remarkable when compared to the older songs. Due to this, the album is plagued by mediocre tracks, all of which fail to embed any sense of memorable qualities.

However, one thing that cannot be objurgated about this album is the instrumentals. The quality found is here is relatively average when compared to the previous releases, which would not be a problem if it was supported by better production. The guitars create some quality riffs found throughout the album, backed up by some exceptionally lavish playing of the bass. The drums eruct marching beats, which are paired with the often overblown orchestration, immersing the listener and making one feel like they are marching into battle.

Another relatively positive point about this album is the vocal variety. The growls have been toned down and often replaced by cleans, which shows signs of the band trying something new. Sadly, the clean vocals fail to impress, often feeling out of place. This ultimately results in a fatal blow to the albums quality. When the cleans are swapped for growls, they almost seem to be eclipsed by their quality, making them sound feeble. A swing and a miss proves to be one of the major downfalls for this album, but if they are meliorated, they could prove to be a powerful tool in future releases.

As disappointing as it is to say, many things could have easily been done to this album in order to make it better. Ensiferum have shown hints of improvement, but have ultimately stumbled onto a path of mediocrity once more. Riddled with poor production, forgettable tracks and a failed use of clean vocals, 'Two Paths' asserts itself as one of the weakest outings in the band's discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Belphegor TotenritualBotanist Collective: The Shape of He to Come
Ursinne Swim with the LeviathanSepticflesh Codex Omega
Hell (USA) HellAkercocke Renaissance in Extremis
user ratings (41)
Chart.
2.1
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not much other to say than it's painfully average

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

DungeonBoy
September 15th 2017


3069 Comments


So what you're saying is this is no Iron? Good review, thanks for the new word, objurgated.

Digging: Kauan - Kaiho

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is no iron. And thanks for the pos, Objurgate basically means vehemently attack or scold btw.

DarkNoctus
September 15th 2017


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

their worst album yet, fucking pathetic effort

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Definetely up there with their worst

DarkNoctus
September 15th 2017


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

makes wintersun's effort look like a damn masterpiece by comparison

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wintersun, Eluveite and Ensiferum made me believe this was the year of folk metal. Aaaaaand I was severely disappointed.

Evokaphile
September 15th 2017


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Dammit I was hoping these jokers would quit after their last album.

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think they need a proper break

Evokaphile
September 15th 2017


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Your 2.5 is probably exceedingly generous

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It was 2-2.5 for me, and it might go down more.

DarkNoctus
September 15th 2017


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

honestly i think my 1.5 is generous. i cannot think of a single redeeming factor, nor a reason to give it another spin. may lower my rating.



considering how good moonsorrow's album was last year, i guess it was too much to ask for a great folk metal album this year too.

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You really do have some potent hate for this album

Nazzadan
September 15th 2017


1503 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good review, gonna jam this today. The single was terrible, can't wait to hear the rest of this muddled mess.

Evokaphile
September 15th 2017


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I have potent hate for this band in general. They've sucked from day 1 imo. Noctus my dude, you might dig the new Havukruunu if you havent jammed it yet.

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

they went to shit as soon as Eluveite starting being better than them.

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also thanks Nazzadan, hope you have fun tearing this to shreds.

DungeonBoy
September 15th 2017


3069 Comments


okay just had a brief listen, it's not terrible (the chorus of Those About to Fight for Metal is) but it's just terribly bland, rehashed, and as you said unmemorable. Compared to their earlier discog and this style as a whole there really isn't a reason to come back to this.

I'll stick with the classics: https://youtu.be/GTDkVhexweg

DungeonBoy
September 15th 2017


3069 Comments


The new Havukruunu is easily my favorite "folk metal" album of 2017. Unless you want to lump Falls of Rauros in that genre as well..

BlackwaterPork
September 15th 2017


1074 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If falls of rauros is put in they win



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy