Metallica
St. Anger


3.0
good

Review

by originalthinking USER (1 Reviews)
June 8th, 2006 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


I gave this album a 3. I think I stick with my review. St. Anger is a hard album for a diehard Metallica fan to review, because it is hard to be an objective metal reviewer in regard to their output. I don't even know if being a hardcore fan makes me see this album as better (just because it’s Metallica), or worse (because it’s not Master of Puppets).

Acknowledging this, here is my review.

The fist songs I heard from this album before it was released were St. Anger and Frantic. I can't remember the order. I heard St. Anger with the video on Metallica.com (the quality was bad however) and I heard the first couple of minutes of Frantic of MTV ICON. I wasn't sure about St. Anger as I couldn't hear it in proper CD quality, but i was very impressed by Frantic. A good riff, really heavy, and fresh. I had also read a couple of reviews from press hearings of some of the songs, which were very positive. So overall I was expecting a lot from this album.

So I went and got the album when it came out and drove home with it blasting. I liked, and still like, Frantic. It isn't too long, and has an OK structure. although the drums sounded a little off, I liked the guitar and vocal sound.

With the second track, St. Anger, I was less impressed. I loved the riffs, great and heavy, and again I liked the guitar and vocal sounds. The lyrics were a little immature though. "I'm madly in anger with you" drives me particularly crazy. Also, this song is too long for what it is. Cut it in half or have it progress a little.

Some Kind of Monster - good riffs, OK lyrics. As with St. Anger, far too long for what it is.

Dirty Window and Invisible Kid - both not bad at all, again a little repetitive, and in need of solos. The lyrics on these tracks are a lot better though. Invisible Kid is catchy and would be a lot better were it shorter. Listening too it, I sometimes think I have accidentally left the track on loop.

My World - No complaints about this song. It’s a good one.

Shoot me Again - I also like this song. Only minor complaints - a little repetitive and no solo.

Sweet Amber - I like this one. Why? Because it goes somewhere. There is that great new riff introduced at the breakdown/bridge part of the song. Also love the lyrics and that cool guitar sound during the mellow bit of the chorus.

Unnamed Feeling - Another good track. Think Bleeding Me St. Anger style. The title is a little corny, but nothing like "I'm madly in anger with you."

Purify - not bad. Filler I guess. Fast and heavy but nothing memorable. Although having said this, I do quite like rocking out to this song, but its no Bellz.

All Within My Hands - No bad again, a little long but doesn't get too boring. The "kill kill kill! kill!" at the end is either cool or really cheesy, I can't decide.

Overall - As can be seen from my breakdown of the songs, none of them are bad. But none are great. I love long songs, but they have to go somewhere, most of these don't. I love guitar solos, i can live without them if the song doesn't need one, but a couple would have been nice. A guitar player like Kirk should not be wasted.

Also while we all love "raw" production, there is a difference between raw and bad. I think pro-tools was one of the biggest problems with this album. It meant they could get lazy. just loop stuff. Want an album with "old school" song lengths? No problem, loop the song a couple of times. this album sounds like it was looped together on pro-tools. Use the technology sure, but you still need to work out song structure, don't just stick the riffs anywhere over and over again.

Lets hop Rick Ruben can help them keep the heavyness and rediscover great song writing not just riff looping.


user ratings (4560)
Chart.
2
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
metallicaman8
June 9th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not A very good review man. I'll take into consideration that it's your first but stil....there were spelling mistakes throughout and your track by track was extremely lacking. Although unlike most peoples first reviews it wasn't fanboy-ish. Kudos on that.

Jim
June 9th 2006


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And you missed a song entirely. Structures something to work on. Keep it neat and consistent! Like your thoughts though. FRESH is the word I use to describe this album too. Probably why I like it so much.
But yeah, edit to the shitter.

jaredrl
June 9th 2006


99 Comments


MEGADETH!!!!!

metallicaman8
June 9th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice input^. This website would be nothing without you *rolls eyes*

benkickass
June 9th 2006


146 Comments


we need more people like jaredl on the site.

Dethtrasher
June 9th 2006


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agree with Metallicaman8, very VERY bad track info. Make sure that you re-write the track part if you want better credits for it.

Confessed2005
June 9th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yes it is a requirement to have people like him - they bring much enjoyment into the sites use. A lot of people make this out to be a product of the turd tunnel but to be honest people only crap on it because it is Metallica. If it were another band doing this, like an up and coming band, they would be hailed for the creative genius of it or something like it. But it is still shite compared to classic Metallica.

SCREAM!
June 9th 2006


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shoot me Again - I also like this song. Only minor complaints - a little repetitive and no solo


None of the songs have solos so that comment was pretty useless. I personally like this album but i hope they change their style for the next one(wich thay said they will)

Sepstrup
June 9th 2006


1563 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You can't write things like

My World - No complaints about this song. Its a good one.
when you do a track-by-track. You have to say why it's a good song. If there's nothing else to say about it, is it because it's just like the rest of the songs? Then you could at least say that.This Message Edited On 06.09.06

Bron-Yr-Aur
June 9th 2006


4405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, this was a poor first review. But, there are worse.

metallicaman8
June 9th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah if you want some examples of finer work check out some of the regulars reviews, like spat out plath, musicofficial101, or my buddy Bron^. Or perhaps if you want an example of slightly above average reviews that you would be capable of writing with out lots of practise check out some of mine This Message Edited On 06.09.06

SCREAM!
June 9th 2006


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

South_Of_Heaven11's are pretty good too.

metallicaman8
June 9th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah there are many more people I could have metioned I just gave af ew examples.

Diabulus in musica
June 9th 2006


485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You forgot the best metal reviewers on the site: Thor and ShadowsFallen

gigi666
June 9th 2006


257 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

or mine of course ;)

metallicaman8
June 9th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"You forgot the best metal reviewers on the site: Thor and ShadowsFallen"

I dind't forget anyone I was merely giving examples.


form
June 10th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

St. Anger actually got me into Metallica when it was released, before that I thought they were meh, but I actually like this album.

MyRamona
June 10th 2006


1088 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not a very good review, at first glance it looks like a shopping list. Check out AV8RS and Eliminators reviews for structure, they're short but uber well written.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

originalthinking
June 12th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow, i wasn't expecting any comments really. Sorry my review didn't impress, i did spell check it so i sure there can't be too many spelling mistakes. the 2 specific comments to my world and Shoot me again i totally agree with however. Not sure what MyRamona means by shopping list. maybe you just don't like track by tracks. If thats the case fair enough.

hopefully my reviews in the future will be more positivly received!

SCREAM!
June 12th 2006


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its ok its just your 1st after all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy