Oneohtrix Point Never
Good Time (Soundtrack)


4.0
excellent

Review

by Chris USER (3 Reviews)
August 14th, 2017 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vivid mysteries.

It’s getting dark as you leave your apartment. The grey clouds that have been drooping over the city for days are now swollen with rain. You glance up at them warily, hoping that the downpour waits until after you return from your errands. A train rattles noisily past as you tighten the straps on your battered backpack and walk down the crumbling sidewalk. The city slowly comes to life as you walk. Lights flicker on in nearby buildings. You hear its sounds, faint and distorted from echoing off so many buildings. Police sirens wail, a woman shouts, nightclubs rave, and buses trundle along, apathetic drivers at the helm. You’re a part of this city now, you realize, as it begins to drizzle. This is home.

Modern-day soundtracks, particularly for action movies or thrillers, are becoming increasingly homogenized. I mean, how many movies nowadays feature massive orchestras building up to an overwhelming crescendo as Our Hero finally does What He Set Out To Do? That’s not to say they’re bad - they certainly do a good job of establishing and maintaining the mood of the scene. Most scores, however, don’t tend to work well outside of the film they’re supporting, or are easily forgotten when it’s all said and done.

Daniel Lopatin’s soundtrack for the film “Good Time”, on the other hand, succeeds as a standalone project because it refuses to stay in one place. From the groove that briefly breaks out on “Bail Bonds” (courtesy of some echoing drums and wailing guitars), to the slow-building walls of synths on “Connie”, Lopatin successfully crafts a densely layered atmosphere of confusion and mystery. The vocal samples that introduce several tracks weave the soundtrack into a series of vignettes, which build off one another to create vivid imagery. Daniel abandons the distorted metal of “Garden of Delete” completely, instead relying on retro synths (a la John Carpenter’s scores) and the occasional rhythm section or drone to fuel his compositions. Perhaps the most surprising aspect is that there is actually someone singing on an Oneohtrix Point Never album, with Iggy Pop delivering a somber performance that wraps up the score on a surprisingly poignant note.

Daniel’s work here is utterly enthralling. While he doesn’t break any new ground sonically, the tension and imagery that he generates in these tracks more than makes up for that. His sampling on this album leaves just enough to the imagination to spark your own stories, your own questions. Most of all, in an era where large orchestral soundtracks have become a hallmark of cinema, it’s refreshing to have a composer turn back the clock and create a score like this one. Lopatin has created an excellent album with this, and it just happens to be in service of a film.


user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frivolous
August 14th 2017


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so yeah this is pretty good

s/o to jack, con, and blush for helping me edit this thing

listen to this with your eyes closed

Digging: Alex Cameron - Forced Witness

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


18278 Comments


LOVE. THAT. INTRO.

easy easy pos bb

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


5266 Comments


Lovely review, take a pos ^ ^

This sounds pretty interesting - Ulver's Svidd Neger OST has enthralled me recently, so if I remember I might have to give this a listen.

Toad
August 14th 2017


1036 Comments


nice
will check for the love of the man

Digging: Franz Schubert - "Great" Symphony No. 9 in C major, D.944

Frivolous
August 14th 2017


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys, i appreciate ya!





sincerelyaural
August 14th 2017


394 Comments


Great work friv, good weaving of description and analysis

Bloon
August 14th 2017


624 Comments


Cool review, your description almost makes me think of Ulver's more atmospheric stuff, maybe.

Digging: Pat the Bunny - Probably Nothing, Possibly Everything

Asdfp277
August 14th 2017


15102 Comments


sounds like fun >:]

plane
Emeritus
August 14th 2017


6732 Comments


There might be a little too much emphasis on the tried-and-true orchestra soundtrack as a new problem? Good Time is part of a recent trend of indies making the leap into visual medium (Mica Levi, Julia Holter, Aesop Rock, SURVIVE). That being said, it's a trend that is worth championing, and this album rules.

LandDiving
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


1590 Comments


nailed it, friv. you're showing so much promise.

also plane, you're digging How Are You? i love that album!

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2017


4400 Comments


this review is a very good review.. a pos to you..

Digging: Rip Rig Panic - God

Neatoo
August 14th 2017


132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Great review, but gotta disagree... This felt formulaic and like walking on a very well known path. Far from lopaatin's engaging and sinister best.

Digging: Eliane Radigue - Feedback Works 1969-1970

Frivolous
August 14th 2017


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's fair neatoo, if he was more adventurous i probably would have given a higher rating, but its still an interesting listen imo



and thanks guys!! means a lot to me

kylemccluskey
August 14th 2017


155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't wait to listen to this thing. solid review -- the beginning was exceptional.

Dewinged
August 14th 2017


5353 Comments


Nice, gotta check this. That first paragraph is gold, Friv, well played. Pos.

Digging: Zola Jesus - Okovi

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2017


8409 Comments


a little too low🔑 for my liking and i hope that a future ONP/Iggy Pop collab goes a bit harder but generally a good listen otherwise

Digging: Zola Jesus - Okovi

Tyler.
August 14th 2017


13177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gotta check this

Relinquished
August 14th 2017


36323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dug it

Neatoo
August 14th 2017


132 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Iggy's track Is dope yea

BlushfulHippocrene
August 14th 2017


1804 Comments


Keep these up, Friv, great stuff. I do agree with plane, there has been a bit of a precedent set, but your analysis itself it quite good regardless. First paragraph is nice, of course. Have you seen the film yet?

Digging: Hundred Waters - Communicating



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy