Make Them Suffer
Worlds Apart


4.5
superb

Review

by Trevor Schneider USER (22 Reviews)
August 5th, 2017 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Make Them Suffer prove yet again that they can simply do no wrong.

There’s something to be said for bands that evolve with each record. It takes guts to abandon the very sound that attracted an audience in favor of leaping into the great beyond, as a plethora of bands have shown themselves wholly incapable of sticking the landing. And yet, Make Them Suffer have made a habit of doing just that; as an entity, they remain unwilling to stagnate, determined to push the boundaries of their sound with each new release.

Worlds Apart marks perhaps their most substantial evolution to date, almost completely abandoning the band’s deathcore roots for a beefier, more riff-driven affair. It’s easily Make Them Suffer’s most straightforward record to date, yet this isn’t necessarily detrimental; in fact, “Midnight Run,” perhaps the band’s simplest track to date, could also make a compelling case as their best. With this being said, the band’s distinct sense of ambience is by no means lost, and, if anything, is expanded upon. The distant piano and occasional orchestral instrumentation that marked Neverbloom and Old Souls return in a softer, more shoegaze-inspired package, juxtaposing beautifully with the punishing instrumentation that envelops it.

Worlds Apart's varied sounds and influences play off one another impeccably, offering diversity while seldom clashing. This variety often manifests itself within individual tracks themselves, as is the case with the multi-dimensional “Uncharted” and “Fireworks,” ultimately resulting in an album with a sense of identity beyond a simple collection of songs. Granted, this is nothing new for Make Them Suffer, as they’ve always appeared interested in making something of an artistic statement, but it’s nonetheless impressive considering Worlds Apart’s sharp change in direction. From the brief instrumental “Contact” to the three crushing, savage metalcore tracks that follow, every song has a purpose.

Perhaps Worlds Apart’s greatest strength lies in its concision. Clocking in at a tight 40 minutes, it never overstays its welcome or gives in to the chugging monotony that occasionally plagued its predecessors. In fact, the record is almost completely devoid of the down-tuned breakdowns and chugs of the mainstream deathcore scene, occasionally even venturing into progressive death metal territory. “Uncharted,” with its noodly riffing and dynamic songwriting, is essentially a metalcore take on Persefone, while the crushing riffs of “Power Overwheliming” are straight out of the Aspherium playbook.

Is every song perfect? No, not exactly - “Fireworks” doesn’t have much of a hook, and “Save Yourself,” though a reasonably effective closer, is a tad on the melodramatic side. But as a fully-functioning, organic unit, Worlds Apart is damn near flawless, distinguishing itself as the defining moment of the young band’s already-impressive body of work. With this, their third consecutive gem, MTS have jostled themselves to forefront of a crowded extreme metal scene, unquestionably ready to carry the torch for years and albums to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Stray From the Path Only Death Is RealYoung Lions Mr. Spaceman
Silverstein Dead ReflectionMutoid Man War Moans
Alestorm No Grave But the SeaHeyrocco Teenage Movie Soundtrack
user ratings (127)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ebola
August 5th 2017


2815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Phenomenal record. C/C welcomed and appreciated.

Durrzo
August 5th 2017


1463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Nice review, glad someone put one up for this. Love this album. It's a really fun listen and the riffs are just great. And of course Sean continues to prove that he's one of the most interesting vocalists in metal. His delivery changes with every album and it's always awesome.





Ebola
August 5th 2017


2815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Vocals are so good. Dude is a monster

calmrose
August 5th 2017


2213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

really enjoying this and there's a Botch reference in the first song, win/win

Digging: Counterparts - You're Not You Anymore

SteakByrnes
August 5th 2017


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I was waiting for this, I was gonna shoutbox you if you didn't review it soon haha. Pos af, my favorite record of the year

Digging: Sufferer - Sufferer

gschwen
August 6th 2017


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds like a Textures album. They aren't doing anything new.

trilogique21
August 6th 2017


1237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doesn't sound like textures



rules tho

Digging: Der Weg Einer Freiheit - Finisterre

Ebola
August 6th 2017


2815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Textures would kill to write a record this good

Durrzo
August 6th 2017


1463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"They aren't doing anything new."

Nobody is doing anything new. It's about execution. And they fucking nailed it.



Themaxwell23
August 7th 2017


61 Comments


Great review , and I must say this is probably my favorite make them suffer record.

Beardog
August 7th 2017


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yes, my favourite MTS record as well. Dead Plains is awesome. I never really got into their records but I loved this one

suppatime
August 7th 2017


791 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

uhhhhhhhh

AaroN911
August 7th 2017


1804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't know if this will hit Old Souls level for me but it's damn close and a damn good listen... seeing them the 26th! Good review!

SteakByrnes
August 7th 2017


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I honestly don't know which record I like the most of theirs anymore, every single album has been phenomenal and so different from each other

Durrzo
August 7th 2017


1463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think I enjoy them all pretty much the same, for different reasons. Neverbloom might be a little behind the other two.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 9th 2017


10130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

very disappointing album. I wasn't too hot on the stylistic change in the first place but it's the least of my worries at this point, the songs just blend together too much. At least two or three I completely mistook for Fireworks on the first listen, and most of the songs generally follow the exact same format. Some of the lyrics are pretty ass, the spoken word bit in "Save Yourself" is absolutely awful. That said, album is still listenable. Sean's vocals are really impressive at times and I like the new clean singer.

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

trilogique21
August 9th 2017


1237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i found most of the songs to be pretty distinct actually. they all have hooks and i can remember them pretty clearly. can't say that for their first 2 records even though i do enjoy them.



save yourself sucks though yeah

Ebola
August 9th 2017


2815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I kind of like Save Yourself. It grew on me. It's charming

NonApplicable
August 10th 2017


2457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think I'm going to like the new female vocalist. Haven't been impressed by her thus far.

SteakByrnes
August 10th 2017


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

She fits this style very well imo, and I like her voice a lot more



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy