Jakub Zytecki
Feather Bed


4.0
excellent

Review

by Claire Qiu USER (36 Reviews)
July 29th, 2017 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: focus. let go. sink.

Oh Jakub. I don’t want to sink into my chair, nor even my own bed, anymore. Feather Bed is a far more compelling alternative these days. How deep you have made this pool - all these shimmering droplets, flying from your guitar and collecting in a basin of reverberation.

. . .

I’m idly floating on the surface when ripples extend to me an invitation from the centre of the circle. There, something seems to pulsate - it sends out cresting waves that catch the light and toy with it, the resulting motes of colour being scattered away by the wind.

I turn my head on its side and sound rushes into my ear canal. A tall column, snaking its way up from the bottom - fluid lines of notes are easing their way in. I sink my head in further. The notes suddenly wrap themselves around me - I’m getting pulled under, every inch of myself. Some of the music seeps into my skin, mingles with my blood, placates me with a cool touch to the forehead. This is no ordinary liquid that I’m in, not when I can inhale a lungful of sound and see hues flickering before my eyes.

And then the heart of it all - I hear it, I hear the urgent throbs. The ribbons of melody, interlaced with pearlescent filaments, quiver from the vibrations. They give no resistance, they let themselves be pushed and pulled and twisted into undulating shapes.

Eventually I find myself in the deepest end, where very little light has pierced through. Here, movements are not affirmative statements, only suggestions that hope to be picked up by a pair of eyes. I close mine and see everything.

Even as the liquid siphons away, I’m still floating in the last echoes.

. . .

Diving into Feather Bed is an effortless feat. And so I’ll do it over, and over, and over again.



Recent reviews by this author
The Drowned God MoonbearerPardoner Uncontrollable Salvation
Post War Glamour Girls Swan SongsFyrnask Fórn
White Moth Black Butterfly AtoneBeyond the Woods Roots
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Wishful Lotus Proof

Comments:Add a Comment 
clavier
July 29th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

had a bit of writer's block these past few days, so I figured something short might help to get rid of it...

pjorn
July 29th 2017


3879 Comments


really liked this one, good stuff

Bloon
July 29th 2017


770 Comments


God damn, this review brings the 𝕧 𝕚 𝕓 𝕖 𝕤.

Digging: Dead Kennedys - Frankenchrist

clavier
July 29th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks everyone



the EP itself is chock-full of vibes

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


19155 Comments


heyyy didnt know u had a review coming! this one is really gorgeous, love the prose. you think id dig this?

clavier
July 29th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

depends, do you like proggy guitar work with electronic elements?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


19155 Comments


hmm not a big prog guy but the second part intruiges me

verdant
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2017


1794 Comments


pos'd this was so easy to read ! ! !

BlushfulHippocrene
July 29th 2017


1914 Comments


"There’s very little viscosity to Feather Bed." I love this - the review, that is, though that line pulls me out of the daydream.

clavier
July 29th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, I guess that was sort of intentional - there's an isolation of the "daydream" sequence, though I'm not so sure if that works well anymore. Gonna change it

Dewinged
July 29th 2017


5844 Comments


Really sweet review Claire, I think I might dig this.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

clavier
July 29th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks Dewinged, it's a really accessible and succinct EP

BlushfulHippocrene
July 29th 2017


1914 Comments


Just to make sure, I was pointing out that lulling the reader into daydream works (impressively so), and I love that line for making me realise it. In my opinion, it's incredibly effective, but I understand. Your writing is so clear, and I'm jealous.

AtomicWaste
Moderator
July 29th 2017


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I listen to this album on repeat a lot.

ianblxdsoe
July 30th 2017


1319 Comments


phenomenal review as usual claire good shit

Digging: Counterparts - You're Not You Anymore

SitarHero
July 30th 2017


5937 Comments


Dang. This review was NOT what I was expecting. Hard pos. And feature pls!

AsleepInTheBack
July 30th 2017


4934 Comments


Lovely stuff Claire

clavier
July 30th 2017


443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks everyone, much love

OwMySnauze
July 31st 2017


1682 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I couldn't get into this. Maybe this will be a grower for me.

ProjectFreak
August 2nd 2017


2101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First four tracks are fantastic (Opened especially), last two are decent. Amazing how much more textured this feels than Wishful Lotus Proof.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy