Yowie
Synchromysticism


4.5
superb

Review

by Dean R CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
July 17th, 2017 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Dali-esque snake eating its own tail.

Synchromysticism the idea, is, as far as I can tell, a highfalutin crockpot of phenomenology, mysticism and psychoanalysis that I am far from qualified to fully pass judgement on. But in regards to Synchromysticism the album, Yowie’s third full length LP, the idea seems to hint at the sheer complex weirdness of Yowie’s aesthetic; they propagate a hypnotic mesh of high-pitched guitar noodling, fluid drumming and wonky bass that defies predictability. The title is obviously somewhat tongue-in-cheek; with song names like “Ineffable Dolphin Communion” and “The Reason Your House is Haunted Can Be Found On This Microfiche” it’s clear Yowie aren’t under the illusion they’re crafting a highbrow ideological masterpiece. But it does hint well at the abstract intricacy they’ve composed.

Their guitar tone and playing is, simply put, unnerving, creating the same sort of offbeat demented feel that Daughters achieved on Hell Songs, albeit more complex, and without a loud drunk Elvis bawling all over the thing. This lack of vocals has the effect of making the already vividly surreal all the more abstract, a confusing spiral of repeating technical spazzery with no clear meaning, which works seeming as the music is so immediate. The transitions are flawlessly abrupt – they just happen, and the immediacy demands acceptance and attention. Synchromysticism is therefore paradoxically subtle in its assault on the senses in the sense that so much can go unnoticed that nevertheless provides an intrinsic part of the experience.

This isn’t surprising seeming as the synchromystic world-view “is that every-Thing in the universe is connected”. In this context it’s more like everything in the music is connected - even if it seems like Yowie are randomly throwing curveballs our way. Interspersed throughout the guitars’ surreal webs are irreverent bursts of staccato rhythms, like sharp geometrical shapes being thrown in and juxtaposed against the incomprehensible Lovecraftian architecture. But eventually these interruptions are assimilated into the whole, with Yowie coming full circle by way of a route you can’t really follow or comprehend, like a Dali-esque snake eating its own tail. In other words, it's going to take a long time for Synchromysticism to fully sink in, or more appropriately, to unravel and display the ludicrous method to its madness.



Recent reviews by this author
Geotic Duchenne SmileDizzee Rascal Raskit
Duster Contemporary MovementEmmure Look at Yourself
Stormzy Gang Signs and PrayerPush Over Demo
user ratings (23)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

back from my hiatus from reviewing, so apologies if this review seems a bit rusty.



https://skingraftrecords.bandcamp.com/album/synchromysticism



album is on spotify

Digging: Palais Schaumburg - Palais Schaumburg

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also according to the bandcamp page and wikipedia the bass may actually just be a very low sounding guitar, not really sure. doesnt change much seeming as it sounds like bass.

AsleepInTheBack
July 17th 2017


4691 Comments


Had to use a dictionary to get my dumb arse through the first sentence, but other than the flaws caused by my flawed grasp of the English language this is a stunner of a review, spiritual pos

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks very much, and yeah, i have no idea what a combination of phenomenology, mysticism and psychoanalysis is supposed to entail, especially when i only have a rudimentary understanding of each of those terms on their own haha

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


10691 Comments


Great review Mort. You've sold me on at least checking this out, not sure whether it'll be my thing or not.

Digging: Saltvind - Saltvind

AsleepInTheBack
July 17th 2017


4691 Comments


Yeah definitely going to try give this a whirl

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers Scuro

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ayy a mort review nice one dude. this reads really well despite how ~extravagant~ the language is. also this album looks great I might check

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


4435 Comments


opening two sentences are fantastic, as is the rest of the review.. this sounds very interesting, will check.. cheers..

Digging: Rip Rig Panic - God

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys and yeah please check it out, currenrly a contender for my aoty (next to The Thin Black Duke)

Shadowmire
July 17th 2017


4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good comment

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


5276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ineffable Dolphin Communion is an absolute monster of a track. Glad to see this getting a review, and a good one too :]

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bless u aaron





Anthracks
July 26th 2017


6035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so sick

FullOfSounds
July 26th 2017


15460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh nice this finally has a review, good job mort

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Danka

owen
July 28th 2017


4885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review

Doomsday Student desperately needs a review too *wink wink*

Digging: Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2017


13087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers and yeah ive been thinking about it

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2017


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

jammin this now boiiiii



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy