Captain, We're Sinking
The King of No Man


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe STAFF
June 30th, 2017 | 62 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Prepare for disappointment

Captain, We’re Sinking was never going to be able to adequately follow up The Future is Cancelled. It was never in the cards for a band that had put 100% of their everything into a record as momentous as TFiC to scrap together a follow up that would be even in the same ballpark quality-wise. And “The King of No Man” is most certainly not in the same ballpark. To say it’s in the parking lot of the ballpark would be generous. The previously unknown four-piece from Scranton, PA shocked the punk world in 2013 when they dropped The Future is Cancelled, with its technically impressive but never wanky guitar work, and hauntingly heavy lyrics dealing with alcoholism, Catholic guilt, death, and depression being quickly declared as a modern punk masterpiece because of its ability to somehow be equal parts fun and depressing. The King of No Man on paper has a similar effect, but it operates at a substantially lower quality. The heaviness found in a song like “Lake” is here in the form of “Don’t Show Bill,” but “Don’t Show Bill” has an annoying nails-on-a-chalkboard feel to it, it sounds like a band trying really hard to be heavy, and it's over before it really has a chance to go anywhere. The interwoven dual guitar work Captain, We’re Sinking is known for shows up on “Trying Year,” but the repetitive “really really really hard year” lyrics knock the song down a couple of pegs. The saving grace of the record is the last five tracks, which are all fantastic. “Crow,” “Hunting Trip,” and “King of No Man” are full band arrangements from co-frontman Bobby Barnett’s solo album, and their folksy flavor translates really well into Captain, We’re Sinking’s sound. “The Dance of Joy’s” optimistic lyrics are a nice change of pace, and “Water” is catchy as ***, and has Leo Vergnetti’s best vocal performance to date. The King of No Man is a fairly typical sophomore slump - it’s not as creative, it’s not as passionate, but Captain, We’re Sinking is talented enough that it ends up being well above average, just inversely well below the band’s average. If the first six tracks came even close to matching the quality of the last five this would be a worthy follow-up to The Future is Cancelled, but as it stands, The King of No Man is nothing short of disappointingly passable.



Recent reviews by this author
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreLil Uzi Vert Luv Is Rage 2
The Brave Little Abacus OkumayThe Brave Little Abacus Just Got Back from the Discomfort - It's Alright
The Brave Little Abacus Masked DancersMatt Aspinwall/The Brave Little Abacus Split
user ratings (129)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
CoffeeEyes17 (4.5)
It's been a really trying year...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2017


55227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been trying to post this all damn day

Digging: Counterparts - You're Not You Anymore

grindcorecore
June 30th 2017


607 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review treb. i'm still really disappointed with this tho

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2017


55227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wrote a more clever summary but it was lost when I tried to post this the first time

grindcorecore
June 30th 2017


607 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

that sucks but i think the summary is fitting

SnakeDelilah
June 30th 2017


19751 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

BUT I'LL TAKE IT FOR WHAT IT IS!!!!

Digging: END (NJ) - From the Unforgiving Arms of God

ianblxdsoe
June 30th 2017


1293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

couldn't agree more. some of the best songs of the year on the second half but the intro few just kinda ruin it to an extent. the production also really bogs it down a tad. solid review though

Hendoi
June 30th 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Pretty weak a-side & production.

andrianoc
June 30th 2017


141 Comments


This album sucks lol, let's all be honest with ourselves. A Will Away's "Here Again" is punk album of the year so far.

AsleepInTheBack
June 30th 2017


4726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Change of opinion on this one then Treb? Agreed with the review though, and a good read

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 30th 2017


24604 Comments


Best Me Music and the tagline is "prepare for disappointment"
Gotta love sput

Digging: The National - Sleep Well Beast

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2017


18831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hardly think anything you give a 3.5 warrants "prepare for disappointment" as the summary.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2017


18380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

disappointed but not too much tbh...solid 3.8 record because of the back half. nice lil write up although you should be careful with flow especially when writing a review this short. one thing I noticed was "and it over before it really has a chance to go anywhere" should be "and it's over..."

FreddieDelaney31
June 30th 2017


3265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

objectively this is like a 4-4.2, but this album is helping me so much right now and has already cultivated a tremendous sentimental value



Digging: Prawn - Run

Drubbi
June 30th 2017


185 Comments


Damn, not sure if I'll check this out yet or not, TFiC is one of my favourites of ever, so I might.

Digging: Emarosa - 131 Reimagined

furpa
June 30th 2017


394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TFIC Pt.II is a sick fucking song though.

Minushuman24
June 30th 2017


983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first half is weak yes, but Smash 2 is a jam

AtomicWaste
Moderator
June 30th 2017


2700 Comments


I really love the guitar hooks in "Trying Year" though. Actually, I like the song in general.

But the rating is pretty spot on for the album as a whole.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2017


10125 Comments


not a fan of your opener, strikes me as somewhat a hindsight is 20/20 sorta thing, feels like something no one really thinks up until the album has actually proved to be a disappointment. rest of the review looks good tho imo

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

ashcrash9
June 30th 2017


2687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Smash 2 is the weakest here imo

first half has grown on me a lot, though Don't Show Bill does kinda feel like it's trying too hard to be aggressive. TFIC pt 2 is so good.

tectactoe
June 30th 2017


203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

personal ranking of the songs atm (likely to change):



1. The Future is Cancelled Part II

2. Hunting Trip

3. Cannonless

4. Trying Year

5. Crow (Little Wounds)

6. Smash 2

7. Books

8. Water

9. King of No Man

10. Dance of Joy

11. Don't Show Bill



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy