Jerry Goldsmith
The Mummy


5.0
classic

Review

by Simon Killip CONTRIBUTOR (140 Reviews)
June 18th, 2017 | 55 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Goldsmith's finest hour.

The 1999 remake to Universal’s classic horror movie, The Mummy, is the very definition of a “Sunday family film”: a fun, action-packed adventure with a few laughs thrown in for good measure. It seamlessly blends a dark horror film with a brush stroke or two of light-hearted comedy; creating a uniquely designed film that’s held up very well in its near 20-year existence. And I can honestly say I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve watched it over the years; it has to be in my all-time, top 10 most watched list, simply because of its accessible, easy-going nature. But with any good movie, lies an equally good soundtrack, and let me tell you, Jerry Goldsmith reached his full potential with this film score; and this sentiment is not to be taken lightly, given the phenomenal scores he’s composed over the years. Yes, this soundtrack meets every criteria a score could wish to meet: excitement, terror, beauty and, most importantly, a vivid image that’s applied to the music at hand. Put on a mere 10 seconds of any track from this score and I can guarantee you’ll suss what this music is from. It’s a memorable masterpiece that is just as important – if not more important – as the film itself.

Few composers attain this level of quality when it comes to crafting music for a film, game – whatever the medium – and it’s because it’s a well thought-out project. Ticking markers that go beyond just making good music. The thing that makes The Mummy stand out from the herd is its ability to pit the listener in the depths of Egypt: utilising several influences, instruments and styles of music from the East brings an authenticity to the table that makes the experience all the more convincing; a great foundation to build on. Amalgamate that with the Hollywood touch and the results are excellent. The main passage of the album is catchy and instantly recognizable, weaving in-between several different moods to set the scene: be it the chilled-out epics of “Giza Port” or “Caravan”; the more adrenaline fuelled “Mumia Attack” and “Rebirth; or the tenser pieces of “The Crypt”, “Discoveries” and “Crowd Control”. The tension building on this album is what Goldsmith excels at, there’s a real sense of danger and mood bottling up on here that really enhances the horror elements to the film; an essential quality that was needed.

The best part about this LP though, is that it’s as enjoyable to hear on its own as it is in the film. All the pieces on this album flow organically together and it never drags. Quite a rare thing to pull off when it comes to scores, but The Mummy manages to do both with ease. If you liked the film, and the soundtrack stood out to you, I can’t recommend this album to you enough. It goes without saying that Jerry’s contributions to this project were essential in delivering a movie that is just as much a fun adventure as it is a serious horror film. His ability to shift between the two worlds is very impressive and extremely satisfying when listened to on its own, which shouldn't be missed by fans of the film or soundtrack lovers alike.

Classic.

EDITIONS: CD//D̶I̶G̶I̶T̶A̶L̶

PACKAGING: Standard jewel case.

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
Prophets of Rage Prophets of RageDeath From Above Outrage! Is Now
Queens of the Stone Age VillainsCrossfaith Freedom
Brian Reitzell Hannibal - Season 2 - Vol 2Alice Cooper Paranormal
user ratings (7)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Since that new piece of shit came out, I thought I'd review this fantastic score.



As always, constructive criticism welcome.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Hiss Spun

Ziguvan
June 18th 2017


567 Comments


Tbh, I found Alien and Chinatown superior to this one, being Alien Goldsmith's best.

Digging: Christian Wolff - Kompositionen 1950 - 1972

GoldenGuy444
June 18th 2017


8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love this soundtrack, definitely Goldsmith's best... that new Mummy soundtrack based on the new movie though... don't know about that.

BallsToTheWall
June 18th 2017


48017 Comments


M/

Digging: The Retrosic - God Of Hell

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2017


10707 Comments


Great review man

Digging: Die Verbannten Kinder Evas - Die Verbannten Kinder Evas

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cheers bud. You seen the film?

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


10707 Comments


Not this one, I've actually only seen The Mummy Returns which is a pretty enjoyable popcorn flick, heard this one is better though.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Uh, I hate the second one haha. Far too family friendly compared to this one; the horror elements were non-existent. If you liked he second one, definitely check this one, it's soooo good. haha

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


10707 Comments


Yeah having not seen the first I guess I had no reason to be disappointed? But either way I find the second enjoyable, it's nothing special but I have fun watching it.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How have you watched the second one but not the first? haha Curiosity would have overcome me to check it out. The CGI Rock from the second one was terrible when it first came out, God only knows how bad it must look now.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


10707 Comments


Not entirely sure, we ended up with the DVD as you do and I've watched it quite a lot over the years. From the subtitle and the relatively few references to the first I knew it was a sequel of sorts but never bothered or cared to check the first, I mean the second works as a standalone. The CGI was always pretty clunky but meh, I have a soft spot for Brendan Fraser movies, don't ask me why, there's something desperate about his acting that always seems like he thinks he's playing his last role ever. And he's usually in otherwise pretty straightforward movies that are made fun by his presence.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I think he's great too. Monkey Bone is awesome.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


10707 Comments


Oh man monkey Bone.

Also Looney Toons back in action, journey to the centre of the earth, Inkheart etc.

All could've easily been near unwatchable, and yet they're actually pretty fun.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Looney Toons haha. Have you seen that movie he did where he's in a band with Steve Buscemi and they hold up a radio station? It has Lemmy in it, it's awesome.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


10707 Comments


I have not but that sounds glorious

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Awh man, you should check that. Can't remember the name of it though...

JWT155
June 20th 2017


13537 Comments


The first Brendan Frasier Mummy is one of the best action adventure movies ever, up there with Indiana Jones.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[2]

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2017


13304 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Seriously, I'd love to know how man times I've watched it; it'd be a scary figure.

JWT155
June 20th 2017


13537 Comments


I've easily seen it between 100-200 times.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy