Atalanta
Tainted


4.5
superb

Review

by Connor CONTRIBUTOR (42 Reviews)
May 25th, 2017 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I find your lack...

Tainted is no doubt a letter to someone, a close friend, lover, or to anyone willing to listen to the cries of Christian Mundloch. “What will our friends think of this?” begins the six-song mini album, a sentiment of vulnerability yet also an indicator of an album filled with personal confessions and revealing exclamations. Whoever Christian is writing to, he expresses a range of emotions: from vexation (“wipe that look off your fucking face”), dejection (“why are you so scared when I'm confronting?”), to even extreme remorse (“each scar that you show me just proves I'm insensitive”). Yet, this isn’t your average endeavor into the realm of emo and post-hardcore because in this 2013 release Atalanta showcases about as many genres as they do songs. ‘How Many People Should Be Dissected?’ is the best signal of such a mish-mash of genres as the track transforms from yelled vocals over a simple Indian Summer-esque guitar loop into a back half that wavers between sludge metal, screamo, and even math rock. In addition to the melding of genres, Mundloch employs numerous styles of vocal deliveries, each one matching well with how he is feeling. While there are bitter yells, desperate shouts, and gruffer roars, Christian especially shines when he shrieks at the top of his lungs, exhibiting some of the most impassioned screams I have ever heard.

Other than a live, 2-song sample on their Bandcamp, this is the only effort from the Chicago three-piece. Although they have a couple, hard to find live performances, there is little information and documentation of this band. No matter how badly I want to know who these songs are addressed to and why they were written, the album will probably forever remain a mystery to me. And maybe that’s for the best as this release is already uncomfortably personal, a time capsule of raw emotions and individual contemplations. So, it really is fitting that the album ends with a final letter, one that Christian wrote to himself:

I must learn how to sleep alone at night. I must learn how to be by myself. I must learn to deal with the haunting loneliness that could kill your love. I must conquer and assimilate my biggest enemy; myself.




Recent reviews by this author
Melody's Echo Chamber Melody's Echo ChamberThe Bright Light Social Hour Space Is Still the Place
Danger Incorporated Are You Afraid of the Danger BoysPsychedelic Porn Crumpets High Visceral Pt. 1
Lowercase Kill The LightsPatrick Watson Close To Paradise
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i've been listening to this non-stop honestly. shout out to fearthyevil for the rec. stream the album here: https://atalanta.bandcamp.com/album/tainted

also i apparently love centering lyrics

Digging: Milo - who told you to think?????!?!???!???!???!

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


3368 Comments


Not a fan of this vocal style, but the short songs' lengths keep them interesting for me.. Thrones and Lost the Key are killer.. as is the breakdown on Dissected.,. Class write-up as always, Con.. band name matches your avatar too.. haha

Digging: Erase Errata - Other Animals

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah the short song lengths plus the various styles they attempt on this keeps this really interesting and fresh. the screamed vox arent usually my thing either but holy shit if they arent some of the most desperate, impassioned screams ive ever heard.

and yes Atlanta/Atalanta...great show

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for listening!

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


3368 Comments


I still can't stop laughing at the episode when Vanessa takes him to the white black right activist's party.. and then the jacket! hahaha

Yea, it'd be cool if these guys put out sort of like a Scratch Acid type thing, a full-length of super short, psychotic noise punk tunes..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

if we got any more material from these guys id firstly be surprised and secondly be excited af..especially if they went that route

MarsKid
May 25th 2017


4898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Considering how small of a band they are, they might see the review.



I got this on my list, excited to give it a go.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think they are long broken up at this point but I hope they do...although Alter did see my last review which was kinda cool.

lmk what ya think when ya do bro

MarsKid
May 25th 2017


4898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well the recommended albums and your descriptions make this sound pretty juicy

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not sure I nailed the sound of this album with the recs but you get the idea

FearThyEvil
May 25th 2017


15161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, man! I think Christian's vocals are easily some of the most memorable I've come across in awhile. The first song I heard I was blown away by how emotional they were.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

his range of styles is crazy and those screams give me chills. and thanks hopefully I did it justice!

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


21730 Comments


I've had this in my iTunes since it came out, and I've only listened to it a few times. Just doesn't grab me, but good review.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cryptoriana ? The Seductiveness of Decay

TheSpaceMan
May 25th 2017


8887 Comments


gotta love the novelty of falling for an album by a band with no paper trail

ianblxdsoe
May 25th 2017


1200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn gotta check this out, seems a bit up my alley. awesome review too my man

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah happens too often these days Space

and thank spirit/ian. ian you'd prob dig hard if you don't mind some harsher vox

MarsKid
May 25th 2017


4898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sadly underwhelming

ianblxdsoe
May 25th 2017


1200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn that was actually pretty solid, took me a min to get used to those vocals though hahahah it's always emoviolence that has the funniest sounding shit for vocals

BlushfulHippocrene
May 26th 2017


1718 Comments


Great write-up Connor, the lyrics on this are heartbreaking.

Digging: The Districts - Popular Manipulations

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2017


17628 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha damn mars...

and yeah it takes a bit to get used to for sure ian. and thx blush, lyrics are incredibly sad yes but you know me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy