Tigers Jaw
spin


4.5
superb

Review

by Wayne H. USER (20 Reviews)
May 19th, 2017 | 115 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What’s your favorite way to dull the pain?

Perhaps one of my biggest grievances with modern society in America is this dogmatic pursuit of happiness. It sounds odd to say a concept that many of us accept unquestioningly is problematic, but there it is. In our never-ending search for joy unending, we undermine the inherent value of the stunning spectrum of human emotion that colors everyday life. Anger, sadness, vulnerability, sincerity, all sacrificed at the altar of happiness.

It is chiefly for this reason among all others that Tigers Jaw holds such a special place in my heart. Their songs have always resonated with me as being stunningly genuine. On Spin, Ben and Brianna face the endless anxieties, weaknesses, and heartbreaks that punctuate life fearlessly. Hearts on their sleeves, harmonized melodies soaring, Spin builds on their already impressive discography, and punches well above its weight class, even as a major label debut.

In a world seemingly obsessed to death with contentment, opulence, and excess, Tigers Jaw’s trademark mid-tempo melodic style of indie rock champions vulnerability without coming off as needlessly self-indulgent. In a flawless wedding of upbeat instrumentals and contemplative vocals, Spin pulls the emotive concept away from its tired trope of dreary, rainy-day soundscapes.

Songs like “Follows,” “Favorite,” and “Oh Time” reminisce on the style that first made old fans fall for Tigers Jaw, while demonstrating clear progression, no doubt carefully fostered by producer Will Yip. Previous albums contained songs with varying degrees of excellence, but Spin feels almost entirely stacked with at-once strikingly memorable earworms that aren’t nearly as reliant on the band’s stellar melodic capabilities.

With lyrics that are easily relatable and digestible, Spin will pull you in and win you over before you know it. Two, three, and four listens will pass without your even noticing. Armed with the catchiness of the most saccharine pop song, the album cements the idea in my mind that Tigers Jaw is the artistic embodiment of that one friend you have who’s going through some tough times, but you wish with all your heart that they succeed. Don’t call it a magnum opus, but don’t be surprised if Spin sits highly on more than a couple best of 2017 lists.



Recent reviews by this author
Jon Benjamin Well I Should Have... (Learned How To Play Piano)Aversions Crown Xenocide
Tycho EpochERRA Drift
Born of Osiris Soul SphereERRA Augment
user ratings (77)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
May 18th 2017


8420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Give it a spin!



..I'll show myself out.

LandDiving
May 18th 2017


459 Comments


hhahahahahaah
great review man!
love these guys

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2017


11617 Comments


not my cup of tea but saw u postin about this. great review

BlushfulHippocrene
May 18th 2017


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Two, three, and four listens will pass without your even noticing."



This, this, and this, but for all the wrong reasons; it feels so unmemorable. I hope it grows on me, I'm not feeling it at all, but I love everything else I've listened to from them. Great review regardless, I'm really glad you're enjoying it. :]

Digging: Billy Woods - Known Unknowns

Winsomniac
May 19th 2017


8420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the kind words!



@Blushful: I can definitely see where you're coming from. Stylistically, this album is really safe, and they didn't really take any risks or make big changes to their sound.



That being said, I already loved this band on so many levels before that more of the same was exactly what I wanted

henryChinaski
May 19th 2017


3769 Comments


Great review man, love that introductory paragraph.

Really enjoyed the singles. Looking forward to listen to this today.

Digging: Hundredth - Rare

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey nice review. listening to this so far and theres so many great melodies and lines but overall this seems pretty bland idk. hopefully itll grow on me!

Digging: Palm (PA) - Shadow Expert

JesperL
May 19th 2017


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review! I'm really loving the harmonies on this, reminds me of a less fuzzy pity sex

Digging: Hundredth - Rare

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for once I think the best tracks are Brianna's...Brass Ring and Same Stone have the strongest melodies and def fit the vibes of this album the best. Guardian and Favorite are great too tho

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

last 5 songs are actually really good hmmmmm....3.5 I guess for now?

Winsomniac
May 19th 2017


8420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Follow gets me good, and Oh Time too. I'm a really big fan of their lyrical style. Absolutely biased, but this is for sure one of my favorite albums in a while..





Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same Stone's melodies gave me legit shivers much like Cool and Hum did off that cat single.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

only songs that I dislike are Bullet, Blurry Vision, and June. this is good for what it is tbh...might have to 4 it.

Winsomniac
May 19th 2017


8420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hum was so good! I can't pick a favorite; not even close, which is why I rated this so high. I'll see if it stays that rating though

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

okay yeah I'm gonna bump it. grew on me much harder than Charmer did even though the production on that album is better

ianblxdsoe
May 19th 2017


487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review wow that was fast, i'm not gonna lie there's about 1 or 2 duds on this thing but the good tracks are soooo goooooooood so 4.5 feels justified. i was gonna review this but you already did a damn good job praising this, pos'd

Digging: Mom Jeans - best buds

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 19th 2017


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3 duds, rest range from solid to chill-inducing. lyrics are great too but typical of tigers jaw

jmh886
May 19th 2017


1737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good to hear. band is great.

jmh886
May 19th 2017


1737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The best vocal harmonies

hal1ax
May 19th 2017


6614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh shit this is out already? Checking after work haard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy